Access to Archives

Part of the UK archives network

Additional Manuscripts, Catalogue S

The entire contents of this catalogue are shown below. Browse the hierarchical structure instead

Reference AMSS
Covering dates c1200-1985
Held by East Sussex Record Office
Extent 50 Accessions
Conditions of access Open to consultation unless otherwise stated
Creators East Sussex Record Office, Lewes

Since it opened, East Sussex Record Office has maintained a collection of 'Additional Manuscripts' for accessions which are not assigned, or are not accrued to existing collections which have, a distinctive alphabetic reference based on the collection's title. The Additional Manuscripts collection is now known as AMS
Some of these accessions added to AMS have been returned to A2A as free-standing catalogues. The residue are being returned as a series of catalogues, each covering a range of AMS numbers. The summary list below covers all the accessions within that range, with notes against those which are the subject of separate catalogues or which have been transferred to other collections or other repositories. The main body of the catalogue notes only the reference and the fact of the separate catalogue or the transfer
Summary of contents
AMS6051 Photograph of John Gilbert's cricket team, Sheffield Park, Fletching, 1886
AMS6052 Annotated catalogue of stock at Glebe Farm, Framfield; Mrs Eyre; 1926
AMS6053 John F Kennedy Charitable Trust (Forest Row and Chelwood Gate); minutes and accounts, 1964-1984
AMS6054 Sale particulars: Charles Lynn deceased (5 and 13 Brunswick Square, 16 Canon Place, 4 Montpelier Terrace, Castle Street, Atlingworth copyhold in London Road), 1830; letter from William Holloway of Rye re his work on Romney Marsh, 1846; plan of the Rosehill estate, Brightling, from sales particulars, 1877; photograph of Crowhurst Park showing the Rev T H Papillon and family, nd ?1880
AMS6055 Crow, Watkin & Watkin of Dorking, Surrey, estate agents and surveyors, 1907-1985: Lord Eldon's estates: Walsh Manor Crowborough, 1907; Arbuthnot: timber of Plaw Hatch estate, East Grinstead, 1916; Standard Hill Farm, cottages and brick and the works, Ninfield, 1938; Whidborne settled estates: Owletts Farm and Dog Cottages, Hammerwood in East Grinstead, 1946; Akehurst and Stenning Farms in Copthorne, 1957; Howborne (formerly Tregolds) Farm and cottage, Buxted, 1958; MacAndrew: Hadlow Down estate (Huggetts Furnace Mill, Derridge, Hastingford, Little Ease and Coes Farms, Ford Brook and cottages, 1958; Saint Hill in East Grinstead, Home Farm, North Lodge and 6-7 Saint Hill Green, 1958; Watlands estate, Scaynes Hill (Watlands House, Farm, Lodge and cottage, Clearwater cottage, Orchard cottage, Ham Farm, Anworth Croft and Butterbox cottage, Pegden Farm and cottage, 1959; Humphreys: White Coppice and Nordens Green Farms in High Hurstwood, Buxted, 1960; Salehurst Fruit Farm, Knights Shaw Holding, Holly Cottage, Knights Cottage and two other cottages, 1960; Broxmead estate Cuckfield: Broxmead House, Farm, cottages, Barnsnape, Moorfields, Westup, Millfields Farms, Merryfields House and Slough Green House, Fowlers Cottage, 1961; Colebrook: Hadlow Down estate, 1962; Upper Wilting Farm, Hollington, 1963; Fitzgerald: Heathfield Park, Orchard Cottages, Home Farm buildings and North Lodge, 1963; British Railways: 30, 68 and 70 Braybrooke Road Hastings, 134, 142-146 and 152 West Hill Road St Leonards, 16 and 18 High Street Polegate, 2-3 Railway Cottages Heathfield, gatehouse 16 at Plumpton, site of Milton Street gatehouse in Berwick and gatehouse 19 at Hamsey, 1968; Mid-Sussex Water Co: Norton Farm in Bishopstone, Clayton Court and Whitelands Farms and cottage in Keymer, and 117a in Clayton, Ditchling, Hamsey, Cuckfield and Lingfield, 1969; Tollemache: Pell estate in Wadhurst and Ticehurst: Lucks Farm, Lime Trees Cottage and Yew Tree Cottage at Cousleywood, Great Pell, Little Pell, Darbys' Upper Walland Farms, 2 Darbys Cottges, Normanswood Farm, 2 Wood Cottages, Upper Tolhurst Farm, Stonegate and Hammerden Farms and Hammerden Cottages in Ticehurst, with 53a; 1970; St Francis School Little Common Bexhill, 1973; Wadhurst Park in Wadhurst and Mayfield, 1974; Padgham Farm Ewhurst, 1975; Wych Cross Place Farm, Suttons Farm and cottages, Three Chimneys Cottage, Ryse Farm Cottage, Ryse Cottage, School Farmhouse, Divals and 42a in Forest Row, Maresfield and Horsted Keynes, 1975; Storrers Farm Ticehurst, 1975; Brightling Park estate: 1-4 Twelve Oaks Cottages and 1-6 Longhouses Cottages Brightling, 1976; Ashburnham-Clement, Broomham estate Guestling: Broomham, Copshall, Fraysland, Pickham, Halfhouse Farms, Park Cottgae, Kennel Cottage and 398a, 1977; A Beeston: Hoddern Farm Piddinghoe, 1977, Eatons Farm Ashurst Wood, 1979; Worsham Farm estate: Worsham, Glovers, Ingrams, Preston Hall, Holmes Farms in Bexhill, Millers Farm Battle, Castle Farm Winchelsea and 303a in Pevensey, Bexhill, Crowhurst and Battle, 1979; Tye Farm and cottages, Hartfield, 1980; Danny estate: Little Danny, Randolphs, Wanbarrow, Washbrooks, Clayton Court, Coldharbour Farms, 1 Foxhole Cottages, 3 Bedlam Street Cottages, Danny House, The Dell and 290a in Hurstpierpoint, Clayton, Keymer and Pyecombe, 1980; Stone Court Estate in Staplefield, 1981; Normanhurst Estate in Catsfield, 1983; 33a at Sheepfold Farm Newhaven, 1985
AMS6056 Rental of the manor of Framfield with occupiers' names, 1753
AMS6057 Photographs of shop front of William Wisden & Son, Cricket Outfitters, 26 Duke Street, Brighton, c1900, with other group photographs, c1900
AMS6058 Copy of Rye, Playden and Udimore tithe apportionments, annotated to show changes in ownership to c1870; cuttings and details of letting of Rye Borough lands, 1849-1870; notice of sale of 940a in Rye, Iden, Playden, Udimore, East Guldeford and Winchelsea
AMS6059 The George Cafe, formerly the Gainsborough Lady Snack Bar, latterly a greengrocer's shop, 74 George Street, Brighton (Davis freeholder; leasehold title: Mack-Marsh-Eley-Whittick-Downing-Cooke), 1944-1956
AMS6060 Mellifount, Chailey (Blaauw-Foster-de Wolff), 1886-1970, with particulars of Beechlands estate, 1920, and sale off to Turnham of land at Station Road, 1965
AMS6061 Photocopy of deed of Willetts at Muddles Green, Chiddingly (Goring-Evans; Davies-Watts-Stredwick-Richardson, enfranchised freehold of the manor of Chiddingly), 1602-1913
AMS6062 Recollections of Hartfield by George Jenner, carpenter, builder and parish clerk (1817-1896); incumbents of Hartfield (Slade, Jowett and Polehampton), church-music, his rebuilding of church and school, Hartfield Fair, railway, ropemaking, Ashdown Forest, Methodist Chapel, parish gaol; Hartfield houses and their inhabitants; nd, c1890
AMS6063 Booklet 'Bygone Herstmonceux from Old Photographs' pub 1982
AMS6064 Saunders Foundation Secondary School, Uckfield: school magazines, 1925-1930; photograph of pupils and staff, 1928
AMS6065 Candle factory in Spring Gardens, Brighton (Breach-Scutt-Lidbetter-Clack-Bridgman-Creasy-Baker, includes freehold and Atlingworth copyhold sold by Martin to Clack, 1818, and a settlement of 123 Broad Street Brighton, a house on the corner of Burlington St and St Georges Rd Brighton, and brookland in Henfield), 1800-1847
AMS6066 Settlements on the marriages of Sarah Joanna Murray with Charles Ashburnham in 1832 and Godfrey Webster in 1851; details of Latium Plantation in St James, Jamaica, including compensation for slaves, listed in detail; detailed schedule of tenants and rents on the Webster estate in Battle, Catsfield, Sedlescombe, Westfield, Whatlington, Bexhill, Hooe and Ewhurst, 1843; details of furniture at Battle Abbey purchased from Lady Charlotte Webster, 1853; lease of Court Lodge, New House, Church Cottage and land at Mountfield, Nicoll-Webster, with details of rebuilding at Court Lodge to the designs of GT Cloutt of Hawkhurst, and of fixtures at New House and Church Cottage, 1853
AMS6067 A Commentarie Upon the Epistle of Saint Paule to Philemon by William Attersoll, Minister of the word of God at Isfield; printed by William Jaggard, 1612
AMS6068 Album of photographs showing the interior and exterior of Ashburnham Place, Ashburnham Church, members of the family and servants; nd c1900
AMS6069 Wadhurst Fat Stock Show AGM and committee minutes, 1928-1938, 1952-1966; sale catalogue of exhibits, 1929; statement of accounts, 1959
AMS6070 Letter from John Batcheler of Rye from Cowes to his wife, 1831
AMS6071 Photograph of the yard of the Star Forge, Fisher Street, Lewes with staff and customers, nd 1922
AMS6072 House, barn and 3a Bunces Cottage in Warbleton (Levett-Walker- Norden, mortgage to Stace), 1712; plan of Silverlea, Pevensey Bay, by Charles Nicholas, nd pre-1925
AMS6073 Probate of will (10 Feb 1845) of Mary Ann Gilbert of Eastbourne, 1845
AMS6074 Map of Rye Harbour, 1843
AMS6075 High Holmstead in Warbleton: tenant right valuation, 1857; photographs, c1930; apprenticeship, Delves-Streatfield, wheelwright, 1902; executors of Nelson Delves: annotated catalogue for sale at Cophall Farm Polegate, 1928; executors accounts with trading account for Cophall, Sayerland and Rosebank Farms Polegate, 1927-1929; photographs of Cophall Farm, c1930, and of Nelson Delves with farm workers, c1914
AMS6076 Archive of Nehemiah Wimble of Lewes, (1778-1843): 1784 edition of Fox's Book of Martyrs with family details, 1780-1832; sketch of the arms of Edwards of Portslade, 1787; description of the arms of the Rickson, Hollis and Parkins families, c1800; deyails of the marriage and children of NW's brother John Wimble, c1820; print of The Friars, Lewes, published by Baxter, 1826; grant of arms and correspondence with William Berry, 1830-1831; pedigree of Wimble from Berry's Sussex Genealogies, 1834, with further genealogical papers
AMS6077 13 Suffolk Place, Brighton (Smith-Sweetman-Button), 1854
AMS6078 Deeds of Rosebank Cottage, Boreham Street in Wartling (Badcock-Avery-Holland-Dawes-Pilbeam-Prickett-Mercer-Ade-Gilbert-Barnes-Hewitt-Martin), 1752-1982
AMS6079 Extracts of feudal tenures: knights' fees in the rape of Hastings, 1347-1348; tenure of the honor of Hastings by Alice countess of Eu, and fees held by Robert de Hastings, c1200; fees held by William de Hastings, 1361-1362; fees in the rape of Hastings held of Lord Hastings, 1469; list of suitors at the Lathe court of the Rape of Hastings and of common fines, 1469
AMS6080 Heathfield Park estate: maps by Thomas Weller, 1785 and William Figg, 1819
AMS6081 Account and memorandum book of Joseph Marten of Tyes Farm Cuckfield (including a tithe rental for the northern part of Cuckfield), Isfield (including overseers' material) and Wick Street Farm Firle, 1775-1818
AMS6082 Lewes Waterworks Company: printed report and prospectus, 1832; sketches for company seal, 1833; share waste-book, 1832-1858
AMS6083 Appointment of trustees of will of Elizabeth Grace Robinson of Brighton, widow: working papers of F O Martin of Lincolns Inn and the Charity Commission; descriptions of Bristol and Richmond Yorks; 1865-66
AMS6084 Mariner's register ticket 78056 of Friend Paine of Brighton, fisherman, 1844
AMS6085 'Montrose' and Montrose Nursery, Queens Road, Crowborough, copyhold of Rotherfield (Fry-Billings-Rofe-Hoath-Burrows; includes sales off to Brown in 1891, ESCC in 1973 and Bennett and Constable Ltd in 1973); 1831-1984
AMS6086 Stone, Barclay and Bell-Irving families of Mayfield: lease of house in Southover (Stone-Windus), 1814; lease of tolls of the Fletching Street Gate, Mayfield (Mayfield & Wadhurst Turnpike trustees-Verrall), 1823; letterbooks of Donald Barclay, solicitor, 1833, 1838-1839; lease of tolls of the Tunbridge Wells and other gate (Mayfield and Wadhurst Turnpike trustees-Sinnott), 1840; deeds of Pound House, a cottage and Sunnybank in Mayfield (Penkhurst-Maplisden-Rose-Martin-Gallett-Luck-Stone-Barclay; includes Martin property in Rotherfield, a plan of Pound House by Thomas Weller, 1806 and settlement on the marriage of Donald Barclay and Elizabeth Stone, 1831); 1658-1841; Longs Farm Mayfield (Nevill-Cade-Luck; Mate; Barclay), 1591-1725; house and carpenter's shop in Mayfield High Street (Drinker-Baker-Fenner-Barclay), 1721-1844; Flat Field and Pen Field in Mayfield (Houghton-Brewer-Hooper-Wood-Rogers-Carrington-Barclay; includes whole estate of Thomas Houghton), 1668-1848; Stone and Bell Irving family settlements, 1824-1906; farm at Broad Reed, Mayfield (Nevill-Aynescombe-Maynard-Fowle-Moon; James-Moon), 1589-1737; Baker family estate at Tunbridge Wells (Purbeck-Constable-Cox-Baker), 1687-1688; assignment in bankruptcy of Robert Baker of Birchden in Rotherfield, ironmaster (commissioners-Constable, Britton, Christmas and Page), with schedule and details of estate in Rotherfield and Withyham, 1708; Coxhall in Lamberhurst - assignment in bankruptcy of George Baker of St Austell in Cornwall, grocer (assignees-Maynard), 1762; annuity on marriage of Peter F Papillon and Isabella Baker, 1808; award of Gainsford, Bulman, Goodwin and Paine, arbitrators in a dispute Cripps and Humphrey v Plaw, Ellis and Udall, over a lane in East Grinstead, assualt and battery, 1593; house at Canon Street Stepney (Page & Kennet-Wolfe), 1709; recovery, Ifield, Bolney and Cuckfield (Turner-Cranston-Coles), 1754
AMS6087 Map of Stephen Parker's Longs farm, Mayfield, by Anthony Everenden, 1640
AMS6088 Burwash Parish Notes, 1875-1897
AMS6089 Papers of Audrey Marion Collier as commandant of Wadhurst area Voluntary Aid Detachment (VAD), including card-index of members enrolled 1924-1945; 1924-1948
AMS6090 Papers of K F Ascott, choirmaster and organist at Wadhurst, 1955-1975: notes of interviews with inhabitants of Wadhurst concerning family and parish history, taken 1959-1966; newscutting and photograph scrapbook of Wadhurst history, church and choir, 1963
AMS6091 Photograph album, Brighton Training College for Schoolmistresses, 95 Ditchling Road, 1917-20
AMS6092 Photograph of Barcombe Mills with ?a school visit in progress, ?1930s
AMS6093 East Hoathly parish papers with Turner diary at Yale University Library: East Hoathly Overseers' answers to census enquiry, 1811; draft census returns, 1801-1821; churchwardens', overseers' and headborough's vouchers, 1629-1693; overseer's disbursements, 1710-1711; churchwarden's account, 1722
AMS6094 Illustrated guide and souvenir of Pevensey, c1900
AMS6095 250 years of map making in the County of Sussex, 1575-1825 (published copies of county maps, 1575-1825)
AMS6096 Photograph of Brighton Tigers Ice Hockey team, 1937-1938
AMS6097 Buxted tithe map, 1840, annotated to show the parishes of High Hurstwood and Hadlow Down; sales particular plan of Rocks Farm, Buxted, 1877
AMS6098 Insurance plan of Brighton by C E Goad, showing trades carried out on each site; also includes details of water-supply and wells; 1898
AMS6099 1-inch OS sheet 134 overprinted with Cassini Grid for use by Civil Defence; nd, c1938
AMS6100 House, smiths shop and forge at Vinehall, Mountfield (Howard-Selmes-Smith-Allen-Smith-Worge), 1703-1730

FLETCHING  AMS6051  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document deposited by Mr J P Thomas, 10 February 1989 (A5211)

Administrative history:
The closing match of the season in Fletching was played between John Gilbert's team (from Fletching) and the team of the Revd Walter Summers, vicar of Danehill from 1872, at Sheffield Park on 13 September 1886. Gilbert's team scored 106 all out, but Summers' side won with an impressive score of 300 all out. For brief reports of the match - see The Sussex Express 18 September 1886 p 5 col 1 and East Sussex News 17 September 1886 p 6 col 4

Mounted photograph of John Gilbert's cricket team at Sheffield Park in Fletching 13 September 1886
The photograph shows the team of 15 players with the umpire Mr Stubberfield, Mr J Fuller the cricket agent and J W Fuller the scorer. The names of the participants are printed below the photograph
Endorsed: Mr H Stubberfield

FRAMFIELD  AMS6052  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by Buckinghamshire County Museum, 10 February 1989 (A5213)

Catalogue of the whole of the valuable live and dead farming stock at Glebe Farm in Framfield to be sold at auction by the direction of Mrs Eyre 25 February 1926
The catalogue is annotated with the prices the lots fetched. The whole sale realised £305.12s 0d

The John F Kennedy Charitable Trust (Forest Row and Chelwood Gate)  AMS6053  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by the trustees 15 February 1989 (A5214)

Administrative history:
The trust was established in October 1964 as a time charity limited to 20 years. The Honorary Secretary was Mr H T Davy, who was also a partner of Messrs Pearless de Rougement and Co, solicitors of East Grinstead

Trustees minute book  AMS6053/1  Oct 1964 - Jul 1984

Statements of accounts sent to the Charity Commissioners  AMS6053/2 - 14  1972 - 1984


Source of acquisition: Documents given by D White, 10 February 1989 (A5210)

Sale particular for 5 and 13 Brunswick Square  AMS6054/1  1830

Leasehold 16 Canon Place, building land adjoining 4 Montpelier Terrace, and Castle Street, and land held of the manor of Atlingworth at London Road in Brighton and Hove to be sold by Mr Parsons at the Royal York Hotel by the order of the devisees in trust under the will of Charles Lynn 25 Aug 1830
Endorsed with notes and calculations for bills of hand

Letter from William Holloway of Rye discussing his plans for his projected work on Romney Marsh and his forthcoming work on Rye  AMS6054/2  21 Dec 1846

Related information: For a detailed account of his life see - SAC 100 pp24-45

Holloway's book The History and Antiquities of the Ancient Town and Port of Rye appeared in 1847 and The History of the Romney Marsh in 1849. William Holloway was born on 1 August 1785 at Emsworth in Warblington, Hampshire. He married Sarah Meryon of Rye on 21 May 1809 and died 23 May 1870

'Plan of the Rosehill Estate in... Brightling, Burwash, Dallington, Mountfield and Battle for sale by Daniel Smith Son and Oakley'  AMS6054/3  1877

Related information: For a copy of the sale particular 11 Jul 1877 - see XSP 130. For an attested copy of the conveyance of the estate by G E M T G Meyrick Bt to P Tew 1879 - see RAF/F2/17

Second edition 1877
Dissected plan in hard cover showing the estate coloured in green, with plot numbers
55½ in x 40 in 10 chains: 1 5/8 in

Photograph of the west front of Crowhurst Park in Crowhurst  AMS6054/4  nd ?1880

Showing the Revd ? Thomas Henry Papillon with his family on the lawn in front of the house
Thomas Papillon JP (c 1803-1883) owned Crowhurst Park and his son the Revd Thomas Henry was vicar of Crowhurst 1864-1872 and vicar of Stopsley in Bedfordshire 1872-1875

Crow, Watkin and Watkin of Dorking in Surrey, Estate Agents and Surveyors  AMS6055  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given by Crow, Watkin and Watkin 1 March 1989 (A5221), per: Dorking and District Museum

Administrative history:
Crow Watkin and Watkin of South Street in Dorking were taken over by the Horsham based Estate Agents, Messrs King and Chasemore, trading in Dorking as Osenton Lamden of 275 High Street

Inventory and valuation of live and dead stock, and fixtures at Walsh Manor in Crowborough  AMS6055/1  3 Apr 1907

Taken by May, How and Chilver Receivers of Lord Eldon's estates

Sale particular  AMS6055/2  1916

For sale of timber from the Plaw Hatch Estate near East Grinstead, estate of the late W Reierson Arbuthnot

Sale particular  AMS6055/3  13 Jun 1938

For the Standard Hill Farm Estate (234a) in Ninfield consisting of a farmhouse and land (234.255 a), 1-2 Standard Hill Cottages, lands (117a) and the factory of the Ninfield Brick and Tile Co. Ltd with land (116a) sold by order of the mortgagees

Sale particular  AMS6055/4  18 Jul 1946

For Owletts Farm (165a) in Hammerwood, East Grinstead consisting of a farmhouse and land (164a) and Dog Cottages, part of the Whidborne Settled Estates

Sale particular  AMS6055/5  31 Jan 1957

For building land (9a) and agricultural land (17½a) part of Akehurst and Stennings Farms in Copthorne by the trustees of E H & A W Snelling

Sale particular  AMS6055/6  22 Jul 1958

For Howbourne Farm (part of which was formerly known as Tregolds Farm) in Buxted consisting of a farmhouse and land (162a) and a cottage and land (50a)

Sale particular  AMS6055/7  28 Nov 1958

For the Hadlow Down Estate (756a) in Mayfield consisting of Huggett's Furnace Mill Farm (286a 1r 36p), Derridge Farm (13a 1r 22p), Hastingford Farm (207a 2r 23p), two cottages with a garden (3r 18p), Ford Brook (99a 2r 34p), Little Ease Farm (53a 15p) and Coes Farm (94a 3r 22p), sold by the executors' of E G MacAndrew

Sale particular  AMS6055/8  4 Dec 1958

For Saint Hill (364a) in East Grinstead consisting of Saint Hill House and grounds (9a 2r 18p), part of the Saint Hill Gardens (2a 2r 8p), several plots of land (6a 0r 5p), The Home Farm (187a 2r 2p), the stable block (2a 0r 34p), several plots of land (68a 1r 23p), 1-4 and 6-7 Saint Hill Green, The North Lodge (1r 19p) and several plots of land (84a 3r 39p)

Sale particular  AMS6055/9  5 May 1959

For The Watlands Estate (246a) in Scaynes Hill, Haywards Heath consisting of Watlands House (17a 1r 10p), Watlands Farm (72a 2r 17p), Watlands Lodge (1r 5p), Clearwater Cottage (2a 0r 28p), Orchard Cottage (1a 0r 13p), Ham Farm (59a 2r 11p), Anworth Croft and Butterbox Cottage (½a), Pegden Cottage (21p), Pegden Farm (23a 0r 14p), 1 Watlands Cottages (37p) and several plots of land (69a 2r 33p)

Sale particular  AMS6055/10  18 Mar 1960

For White Coppice Farm (10a) and Nordens Green Farm (98a) at High Hurstwood in Buxted, sold by order of Mrs E A Humphreys

Sale particular  AMS6055/11  29 Mar 1960

For Salehurst Fruit Farm (629a) in Salehurst, Ewhurst, Whatlington and Sedlescombe, consisting of Salehurst Fruit Farm (521a 1r 39p), Knight's Shaw Holding (63a 3r 11p), orchard (42a 2r 39p), Holly Cottage and garden (1r 5p), two cottages (33p) and Knight's Cottage (1r 6p)

Sale particular  AMS6055/12  31 Oct 1961

For The Broxmead Estate (570a) in Cuckfield consisting of Broxmead House and grounds (16a), Broxmead Farm (209a) and 1-2 Broxmead Cottages, Barnsnape Farmhouse (1a), Moorfields Farm (174a), Fowlers Cottage (2a), 3 Broxmead Cottages, 1-2 Barnsnape Cottage (1a), Westup Farm (31a), Millfields Farm (15a), Merryfields House (½a), Little Merryfields (½a), Slough Green House (1a) and several plots of land (114a)

Sale particular  AMS6055/13  26 Oct 1962

For the Hadlow Down Estate (593 a) consisting of Huggetts Furnace Mill Farm (286a 1r 36p), Hastingford Farm (207a 2r 23p) and Ford Brook Farm (99a 2r 34p), sold by the executors' of H J Colebrook

Sale particular  AMS6055/14  11 Sep 1963

For Upper Wilting Farm (277a) in Hollington

Sale particular  AMS6055/15  23 Oct 1963

For Heathfield Park (114a) in Heathfield consisting of Heathfield Park (100a), Orchard Cottages (½a), Home Farm buildings (¼a), The North Lodge (4½a) and several plots of land (8¾a), sold by Captain and Mrs D Fitzgerald

Sale particular  AMS6055/16  7 Feb 1968

For sale of British Railway lands in Sussex and Surrey including 30, 68 and 70 Braybrooke Road in Hastings, 134, 142, 144, 146 and 152 West Hill Road in St Leonards, 16 and 18 High Street in Polegate, 2-3 Railway Cottages in Heathfield, gatehouse 16 Plumpton, site of Milton Street crossing gatehouse in Berwick and gatehouse 19 Hamsey

Sale particular  AMS6055/17  16 Oct 1969

For sale of lands (1421a) of the Mid Sussex Water Company consisting of Norton Farm (1057a) in Bishopstone and South Heighton, part of Clayton Court Farm (209a), Whitelands Farm (37a) in Keymer, Whitelands Cottages (¼a) in Keymer and several plots of land (117a) in Clayton, Ditchling, Hamsey, Cuckfield and Lingfield

Sale particular  AMS6055/18  1 Jul 1970

For The Pell Estate (1156a) in Wadhurst and Ticehurst consisting of Luck's Farm at Cousleywood (34½a), The Lime Trees Cottage at Cousleywood (¼a), Yew Tree Cottage at Cousleywood, Great Pell Farm (173½a), Little Pell Farm (125a), Darby's Farm (188¼a), Upper Walland Farm at Shrover's Green (92¾a), 2 Darby's Cottages, Normanswood Farm (25¼a), 2 Wood Cottages in Ticehurst, Upper Tolhurst Farm (94¾a) in Ticehurst, Stonegate Farm (92a) at Stonegate in Ticehurst, Hammerden Farm (274a) at Stonegate, Hammerden Cottages (1a) and several plots of land (53½a) in Wadhurst and Ticehurst, sold by the executors' of Lyonel Tollemache Bt

Sale particular  AMS6055/19  19 Jan 1973

For sale of site of St Francis School (2½a) at Little Common in Bexhill

Sale particular  AMS6055/20  3 Apr 1974

For Wadhurst Park (461a) in Wadhurst and Mayfield, sold by order of the mortgagees

Sale particular  AMS6055/21  29 Apr 1975

For Padgham Farm (190a) in Ewhurst

Sale particular  AMS6055/22  18 Jun 1975

For Wych Cross Place Farm (246a) in Forest Row, Maresfield and Horsted Keynes consisting of Wych Cross Place Farm (103¾a), Suttons Farm (65a), 1-4 New Cottages Suttons Farm (½a), Three Chimneys Cottage (2a), Ryse Farm Cottage (1¼a), Ryse Cottage, School Farmhouse (17½a), Divals (10a) and several plots of land (42¾a)

Sale particular  AMS6055/23  1975

For Storrers Farm (90a) in Ticehurst

Sale particular  AMS6055/24  24 Sep 1976

For 1-4 Twelve Oaks Cottages and 1-6 Longhouses Cottages in Brightling, sold by the trustees of The Brightling Park Estate

Sale particular  AMS6055/25  14 Oct 1977

For the major part of The Broomham Estate (962a) in Guestling consisting of Broomham (23½a), Copshall Farm (246½a), Fraysland Farm (136a), Pickham Farm (138¼a), Halfhouse Farmhouse (16a), Park Cottage (¼a), Kennel Cottage (½a) and several plots of land (398½a), sold by the trustees of the will of Lady Ashburnham-Clement

Sale particular  AMS6055/26  17 Oct 1977

For Hoddern Farm (240a) in Piddinghoe, sold by Mrs A Beeson

Sale particular  AMS6055/27  21 Nov 1979

For Eatons Farm (186a) in Ashurst

Sale particular  AMS6055/28  1979

For The Worsham Farms Estate (1800a) consisting of Worsham Farm (331a) in Bexhill, Glovers and Ingrams Farm (309a) in Bexhill, Preston Hall Farm (105a) in Bexhill, Holmes Farm (220a) in Bexhill, Millers Farm (121a) in Battle, Castle Farm (398a) in Winchelsea and several parcels of land (303a) in Pevensey, Bexhill, Crowhurst and Battle

Sale particular  AMS6055/29  24 Jun 1980

For Tye Farm (143a) in Hartfield including 1-2 Tye Farm Cottages

Sale particular  AMS6055/30  30 Jul 1980

For sale of the major portions of The Danny Estate (1486a) in Hurstpierpoint, Clayton, Keymer and Pyecombe consisting of Little Danny Farm (493a), Randolphs Farm (257½a), Wanbarrow and Washbrooks Farm (235a), Clayton Court and Coldharbour Farm (200½a), 1 Foxhole Cottage, 3 Bedlam Street Cottages, Danny House (8a), The Dell (¾a) and several plots of land (290½a)

Sale particular  AMS6055/31  1981

For The Stone Court Estate (589a) in Staplefield consisting of Stone Court, Stone Court Farm (33a), Tyes Place Farm and Upper Sparks Farm with cottages (437a) and Slough Place Farm (118½a)

Sale particular  AMS6055/32  1983

For The Normanhurst Estate (586a) in Catsfield

Sale particular  AMS6055/33  19 Sep 1985

For land (33¼a) at Sheepfold Farm in Newhaven, sold by direction of the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food


Source of acquisition: Photocopy of document owned by Mr & Mrs G Searle, Framfield, 7 March 1989 (A5223)

Rental of the manor of Framfield, 29 Sep 1753. The rental, which is arranged in alphabetical order of tenant, also lists the tenements held, the quitrent payable and the name of the occupier. In about 1800 it was annotated in pencil, mostly to indicate the partition of tenements

Photographs of Wisden's cricket outfitters shop in Brighton and unidentified family groups  AMS6057  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given 1 Mar 1989 (ACC 5222)

Administrative history:
The photographs were the property of the donor's father, George Albert Norris Reed, the son of Caleb Reed and Miss Wisden, who was born in May 1882. George obtained a scholarship to the Royal College of Art and was later headmaster of Blackburn College of Art. He was a noted local painter (British Book of Painters)

Copy photograph showing the shop front of William Wisden and Son, Cricket Outfitters, 26 Duke Street, Brighton, with ?George Wisden and his son at the shop door  AMS6057/1  nd (c1900)

The 1867 directory lists William Wisden as a cricket bat manufacturer at 3 Duke Street; by 1887 he was in partnership with his son as cricket outfitters at 39 Duke Street

Mounted photograph showing a group in woodland  AMS6057/2  nd (?1900)

Mounted photograph showing a group in a park against woodland  AMS6057/3  nd (?1900)

Mounted photograph of members of staff outside a ?hospital or workhouse  AMS6057/4  nd (?1900)

Rye, Playden and Udimore  AMS6058  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Volume transferred from Brighton Reference Library 9 March 1989 (A5225)

The volume contains a copy of the Rye tithe apportionment (1841) made in 1851 and annotated to show changes in landownership to 1870; copy of Playden tithe apportionment 1843 and annotated to show changes in landownership to 1868; statement of the rents on land, ground and water due to Rye Corporation 1866; copy of Udimore tithe apportionment (1838) made in 1870 and annotated to show changes in landownership to 1877; details of Rye Borough lands let by auction 8 August 1849, 8 August 1856 and June 1863; at back of volume newspaper cuttings with details of the letting of the Borough lands 1863 and 1870, and notice of sale of lands (940a) in Rye, Iden, Playden, Udimore, East Guldeford and Winchelsea
A pencil note inside the front flyleaf indicates that the volume was purchased from Mr Edwards on 25 May 1921. The volume was probably compiled by Edwin Nathaniel Dawes, an attorney and town clerk of Rye, since several entries in the volume are signed 'END'. The book was previously listed by the library as R48,280. S9 Rye Su7

HOVE  AMS6059  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by Betteridges, solicitors, Brighton, 17 March 1989 (A5230)

Deeds of the George Cafe, 74 George Street  [no ref.]  1944-1956

On 19 Dec 1944 Napthali Ernest Davis of 27 North Street, Brighton, gent leased the property to Emil Mack of 73 George Street from 25 Dec 1944 until the end of the war, and thence for 10 years, paying annually £78 during the war, £100 for the first and £110 for the second five-year period of the term. The tenancy was assigned to Sidney Harold Marsh of 195 Kingsland Road, Shoreditch for £1500 on 13 Jan 1947, to Ethel May Eley of 35 Cookham Road Maidenhead for £1450 on 22 July 1947 and to William Osbert Whittick MBE of 32 Chesterfield House, Mayfair esq for £1650 on 22 Oct 1948; a covenant which had been included in the assignment to Marsh for the protection of Emil Mack's business at 73 George Street was released by Margaret Mack of 20 Marine Parade, Brighton on 21 July 1949 (1-11)
The lease was assigned to Joyce Evelyn Downing, wife of Harry Bowles Downing of 6 Balmoral Road Bristol, and Lilian Mabel Arthur, wife of Ernest Arthur of 8 Hunters Way Filton Bristol for £2500 on 12 Jan 1950; the shop, formerly known as the Gainsborough Lady Snack Bar, was now called the George Cafe. Mrs Arthur, the tenant, released her interest to Mrs Downing, then of 43 Brunswick Square Hove, on 26 July 1950 and on 22 July 1955 N E Davis, described as a jeweller, granted a new 14-year term to Mrs Downing at £300. On 2 Nov 1956 licence to assign the lease to Margaret Grace Cooke of 3 Hangleton Gardens Hove, and to convert the cafe into a greengrocer's shop, was granted by N E Davis; a site plan and plan of the proposed new shopfront is included with the licence (12-16)

CHAILEY  AMS6060  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by Hallam & Co, solicitors, Burgess Hill, 31 March 1989 (A5231)

Deeds of Mellifount, Chailey  [no ref.]  1886-1970

Mellifount and Mellifount Cottage were built by baroness Gwendolin May de Wolff on land purchased as lots 19 and 20 at the sale of the Beechland estate on 16 Mar 1920. The land formed part of Oxbottom Farm, which had been held on a yearly tenancy by John Newnham of Newick since 29 Sep 1905 at £35 and had formerly been leased to John Grover; notice to quit was served on 30 July 1920 (4)
A settlement on the marriage of Gwendolin May Foster (born 24 May 1889, daughter of Frederick William Foster and Emily Jane Denman), of The Old Farm House, Glynde, spinster, who was entitled to the Raydale Estate in the North Riding of Yorkshire, to land near Keighley and to the proceeds of the sale of the Glanbeuno estate in Carnarvonshire, with baron Vladimir de Wolff (born St Petersburg, 20 Apr 1887 old style, son of baron Arist von Wolff, Russian minister resident in Dresden), was executed on 1 June 1910 and a London marriage licence, naming the groom as of Ringmer, obtained the same day. On 21 July 1911 baroness de Wolff, then of The Elms, Ringmer, appointed a new trustee of her settlement (1-3)
The Beechland estate in Newick and Chailey was bequeathed by the will of Thomas St Leger Blaauw of Beechland esq, who died 11 Sep 1893, to his wife Fanny Alice Blaauw for life, with remainder to his eldest son Henry Thomas Gillman Blaauw. Mrs Blaauw died at Bournemouth on 20 Nov 1912 and on 16 Mar 1920 the estate was sold in 29 lots, a detailed description of each appears in the particulars. Included in the sale were Mitchelswood Farm, Oast House Cottage, a butcher's shop, Ketches Farm and House, Ridgeland Farm, Tilehouse Farm and cottages at Cornwell's Bank, Newick, and Tutts Farm, Oxbottom and Cronk's or Cinder Hill Farm, Chailey; lots 19 and 20, consisting of 28a 2r 16p, were sold to baroness de Wolff's mother for £1188 and conveyed to the trustees by H T G Blaauw of Townings Place Wivelsfield on 24 June 1920 (4-8)
Baroness de Wolff died 22 Nov 1943 and the property descended to her son baron Francis de Wolff, who on 19 Jan 1965 contracted to sell a plot of land on Station Road for the erection of "two high-class dwellings" to Mr & Mrs Frederick Charles Turnham. On 10 Aug 1965 the estate, a plan of which appears on the deed, was vested in the beneficial owner, baron Francis de Wolff, by his trustees (9-16)


Source of acquisition: Photocopy of document presented by Messrs Lewis Holman & Lawrence, Lewes, on behalf of clients, 17 June 1985 (A5234)

Deed of land at Muddles Green  [no ref. or date]

This conveyance relates to a triangular piece of land at Muddles Green, a plan of which appears on its first page. A house and two pieces of land (3a 0r 28p) formed part of a freehold tenement of the manor of Chiddingly - see AMS5910/2 called Willetts and two cottages and 28p, part of Little Willetts, was leasehold
On 13 Oct 1640 Avice Goring of Chiddingly, in whom a 1000-year lease of land at Muddles Green was vested, granted an underlease for 950 years at a peppercorn to Denise Evans of Chiddingly widow. The original lease, which ran from 25 Mar 1602 at 1d rent, is not further recorded. On 23 Sep 1913 the term was assigned by William Augustus Raper, Henry Ernest Habershon and Charles James Percy Watts to Samuel Stredwick of Hellingly farmer
The freehold house and land was mortgaged by Thomas Davies and his mortgagees to Robert Watts on 12 May 1818 and on 7 Oct 1856 William Watkins Davies and his wife Elizabeth released their equity of redemption; statutory declarations were made by Davies and by George Ellman. On 14 Dec 1904 Lionel Sackville Sackville-West and his trustees, as lord of the manor of Chiddingly, enfranchised the property to the Rev Cranbourne Arthur Watts, who, with W A Raper and H E Habershon, sold to Samuel Stredwick of Hellingly farmer
On 29 Sep 1913 Stredwick sold both the freehold and leasehold parts of the land occupied 'for many years past' by George Martin, to Alan Richardson of Malling Deanery, Lewes, esq for £230

Documents given by the Hartfield and District History Group  AMS6062  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given 24 March 1988 (ACC 5005), 10 February 1997 (ACC 6978), 24 June 1998 (ACC 7706), 17 December 1999 (ACC 8030)

These documents have been given to the group at various dates, usually anonymously. Such details of provenance as can be established have been added at the head of each section

Recollections of George Jenner (b1817)  AMS6062/1  c1890

Administrative history:
George Jenner was buried at Hartfield on 7 March 1896 at the age of 79, and these notes, which are written in pencil on six sheets of lined paper folded to produce 23 pages, must date from the late 1880s or 1890s
Jenner was the grandson of Fortunatus Slater, who died at the age of 87 on 9 Mar 1849 and had served 60 years as parish clerk and sexton, to which office Jenner was appointed on 26 March; he was therefore a distant cousin of Peggy Slater, the first wife of Thomas Turner. For Slater's notes and accounts as parish clerk, see AMS6062/2

Notes and Recollections of Alterations and Changes in Hartfield since my Childhood: by George Jenner born at the Church Gates Cottage June 23rd 1817'  AMS6062/1/1  1829-1866

Jenner was a carpenter and builder by trade, and undertook the restoration of Hartfield church in 1864
The first half of the narrative concentrates on the characters of three incumbents of Hartfield - Samuel Slade DD, of Chichester (d1829), John Jowett (d1859) and Edward Polehampton - and of events and changes at the parish church during their cures. Jenner gives an affectionate description of Slade, whose particular favourite he seems to have been, and describes his bachelor life at the rectory with his two eccentric sisters. He also describes the advent of a barrel-organ, the erection of Holtye Chapel in 1834, the rebuilding of the school and the restoration of the church by Jenner, to the design of Charles Parsons of Lewes, in 1864-1865
The second part of the narrative consists of a description of houses and cottages in the village, and in almost every case the previous history of the house, its site or occupying family are given, with details of the business carried out on the premises. Jenner also describes the custom of the locality with regard to turf cut from Ashdown Forest for fuel for cottagers, and the use of its ash by farmers in return for cartage, the use by the parish of a building to house paupers who had been removed to Hartfield, a ropemaking industry, a brick-built 'cage' for the custody of prisoners, the former internal layout of the inn, the removal of the old Wesleyan chapel by ox-team when a new building was erected in 1865, the site of the former charity school, the demise of Hartfield Fair and the coming of the railway in 1866

Pulpit notices, accounts, notes and vouchers of Fortunatus Slater as parish clerk of Hartfield  AMS6062/2  1822-1830

Archival history:
These documents were formerly listed as AMS6429, and in 1999 were augmented by a group of pulpit notices AMS6062/2/1-6, 8 from the same source

Fortunatus Slater (1762-1849) served 60 years as parish clerk and sexton of Hartfield. He was succeeded by his grandson George Jenner, whose reminiscences as in AMS6062/1, include a description of Slater

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/1  18 Mar 1821

Of a poor-rate of 1s 6d allowed by two JPs; vestry meeting to nominate officers and settle accounts on 26 Mar

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/2  1823

Of a vestry meeting to nominate assessors and collectors of taxes; distribution of the residue of gift-money after the service; poor-rates must be paid by 25 Mar; 16 Mar 1823
Endorsed: request for details of a sow, stolen or strayed from Stephen Card's pound at Quabrook Common in Hartfield; nd, 1823

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/3  1823

Of a meeting at the Dorset Arms on 2 Apr to place poor children out to service; their parents to attend; 28 Mar 1823
Endorsed: Mr Fortunatus Slater

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/4  15 Feb 1824

Of a meeting at the Dorset Arms to set a poor-rate; distribution of the gift of William Godly deceased in bread at the poor-house after the service next Sunday 22 Feb to those attending in person, 'each poor person to receive their own loaf but not their neighbour's'

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/5  7 Mar 1824

Of a vestry meeting to nominate assessors and collectors of land and assessed taxes on 10 Mar

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/6  1 May 1825

Of the distribution of the annual gift-money after the service to poor persons not receiving weekly relief who attend in person

Notice of a vestry meeting by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/7  30 Oct 1825

Notice by William Morphew, vestry clerk  AMS6062/2/8  12 Feb 1826

Of a meeting in the Governors' Room after the service to be informed of the state of the parish accounts and to set rates

Account of clerk's fees for burials, naming the deceased  AMS6062/2/9  Dec 1827 - Jun 1828

List of clerk's and parson's fees for burials  AMS6062/2/10  1830

Account of the repayments of a loan to T Town, Dec 1822 - Dec 1824; accounts for the purchase of a pig and cereals, Jul 1827

List of burial-fees as AMS6062/2/10  AMS6062/2/11  nd, c1830

Copy receipt to the parish officers for the fee for the burial of Richard Penticost on 29 Mar 1830  AMS6062/2/12  7 Apr 1830

Draft notice for the tithe-feast at the Dorset Arms on 'Tuesday the 27 day of this instant'  AMS6062/2/13  nd, c1830

Register of Hartfield Parish apprenticeships  AMS6062/3  1801-1897

Register on a printed form in accordance with the Parish Apprentices Act of 1802  AMS6062/3/1  1802-1897

The bottom margin of the book has been affected by damp and subsequently cut off, with the loss of up to three entries per page

Related information: For apprenticeship indentures in the parish archive, see PAR 360 14/1/1 (churchwardens and overseers, 1699-1823) and PAR 360 14/1/2 (charity trustees, 1727-1861). Indentures in both series are numbered chronologically with the numbers in AMS6062/3/1 until 1839; all parish apprenticeships seem to have been funded by the parish charities from 1823

(42 Geo 3 c46) listing number, date, name, sex, parent's name and residence, name, trade and residence of master, term of indentures, fee names of overseers and magistrates assenting; Jan 1806, Feb - May 1812, Jul 1815 - Apr 1897
The last column was used from the outset to record amounts owing, and from 1827 the penultimate column was used to record the date that the last payment was due

Index of names and trades in AMS6062/3/1  AMS6062/3/2  1806-1897

Schedule of residents of Colemans Hatch with available resources  AMS6062/4  nd, c1915

Schedule  AMS6062/4/1  nd, c1915

On form to be submitted by Petty Sessional division, listing name of resident, address, number of motor vehicles, horses, bicycles, amount of petrol or spirit, tools and barbed wire, labourers, cattle and sheep

Hartfield School Canteen committee  AMS6062/5  [n.d.]

Minute-book with accounts  AMS6062/5/1  Apr 1944-May 1947

Source of acquisition: The volume was donated to the Group by Mrs Elcock, a member of the committee

The minutes of the first meeting record that the canteen started in April 1943, probably to cope with an influx of evacuee children. The committee consisted of the rector in the chair, the head teacher, two representatives of mothers, two of WVS helpers and the cook. The committee ceased to function when the LEA prohibited the use of voluntary workers in school kitchens

Hartfield returns from the National Farm Survey  AMS6062/6  1941-1943

Analysis by members of the Group of returns relating to Hartfield, extracted from PRO MAP 32 by Dr Brian Short of the University of Sussex  AMS6062/6/1  May 1997

The returns list the name of the farm, its owner, tenant, acreage, the condition of the farm, buildings, cottages and land, details of cropping, labour, livestock, motive power and rent and general comments, often containing a candid analysis of the farming practice of the tenant


Source of acquisition: Document given by D Calvert, 4 April 1989 (A5236)

Bygone Herstmonceux from Old Photographs  [no ref. or date]

Related information: For photographs of Wartling and Herstmonceux taken in 1889, see AMS6027

The booklet was compiled by David Calvert and published in May 1982. The photographs reproduced in this booklet show various aspects of the parish of Herstmonceux from about 1882 to 1925, including views of the village, the castle before and after restoration, and many of the former inhabitants of the village

Records of Saunders' Educational Foundation, Uckfield and Buxted  AMS6064  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given, 5 Apr 1989 (ACC 5240)

Related information: For a history of the school see J Caffyn 'Sussex Schools in the 18th century' Sussex Record Society 81 pages 77-78, 252-253 and for a history of Grimmett's Charity see Reports of the Commissioners inquire concerning charities and education of the poor in England and Wales (1815-1839) pages 139, 170-171, 352-353

Administrative history:
Anthony Saunders, DD, rector of Buxted, by his will dated 31 October 1718, devised a copyhold tenement and land called The Red-tyled House in Buxted, to the Minister and Churchwardens of Buxted in trust to apply the rents and profits towards the education of a competent number of poor girls of Buxted to be taught to read and in learning the Church of England catechism. He also devised a customary messuage, schoolhouse and lands in Uckfield and Buxted to trustees to apply the rents and profits towards the education of six poor boys from Uckfield and six from Buxted in reading and writing, and learning the Church of England catechism. In addition the will provided a fund for the maintenance of Church of England schools in the parishes of Uckfield and Buxted, and for the provision of grants to enable local children to proceed to higher education. The latter included the endowment of apprenticeships
A school was provided in Uckfield, known in the 18th century and later as Uckfield Grammar School, but in the 20th century, as Saunders Foundation Secondary School. This closed in 1930, though the fund still exists and meets other obligations, including the aiding of Church Schools and the provision of scholarships. After 1876 the recognised aided elementary schools were Buxted National School, High Hurstwood Endowed School, Hadlow Down National School and Uckfield National School
At the time of the closure of the Foundation's school at Uckfield in 1930 the last headmaster, Dr McGregor Williams, made a list of the extensive early records of the charity from the 17th century, and in c1954 a copy of this list was supplied to the Historical Manuscripts Commission. These records cannot now be traced

Saunders Foundation Secondary School magazines numbers 4-5, 10-12, 15  AMS6064/1-6  Jan 1925 - Jul 1930

Photograph of staff and pupils  AMS6064/7  Jun 1928

BRIGHTON  AMS6065  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by Darley, Cumberland & Co, solicitors, on behalf of J C L Penney, per BRA 1372, 4 August 1964 (A 628)

Deeds of a candle factory in Spring Gardens, settled on the marriage of Charlotte Caroline Creasy with John Baker in 1840  [no ref. or date]

On 18 June 1800 four pauls (½a) of ground in the Home Furlong of the North Laine, late Henry Breach once Thomas Breach, was mortgaged by Benjamin Scutt to Henry Brooker and William Ede for £250; on 31 July 1805 the northern part of the property was leased for 99 years to William Miles. On 31 Dec 1805 Ede executed a deed with the intent of vesting the mortgage term in Scutt, which was later deemed to be insufficient by virtue of the creation of the 99-year term. A commission of bankruptcy was awarded against Scutt, described as a builder and coal merchant, on 18 July 1810 and on 20 Aug a majority of the commissioners - Charles Runnington esq, Thomas Hill and Thomas Crosweller gents - assigned Scutt's assets to Thomas West, John Mills and James Vallance of Brighton bankers, William Blaber of Brighton merchant and John Monkhouse of New Shoreham merchant, who on 2 & 3 Feb 1813 conveyed the reversion of the land subject to the 1805 lease to Thomas Lidbetter of Southwick yeoman; the outstanding 99-year term was assigned by Miles's assignee in bankruptcy John Alexander Snow to Isaac Sharp of Brighton pastry-cook in trust for Lidbetter the following day (10)
On 29 Sep 1813 Lidbetter mortgaged the land, which consisted of free-hold and copyhold, to Thomas Lidbetter of Bramber gent for £550. On 15 & 16 July 1818 the mortgagee's executors, Samuel Lidbetter of Uckfield gent, Charles Marshall of Steyning gent and Hugh Ingram of Steyning surgeon, discharged the land from the mortgage on the occasion of Lidbetter's sale to Thomas Clack of Brighton tallow-chandler for £52. The freehold, which measured 25' x 11'6", lay E of a new road, W of the copyhold, N of Clack's other land and S of land sold to Clack by Edward Martin; the copyhold, held of Atlingworth manor, measured 25' x 25' and lay W of Wigney's stables, N of land about to be sold by Clack to Isaac Bass, S of land bought by Clack from Edward Martin and E of the freehold (1,2)
On 21 July 1818 Edward Martin of Brighton draper surrendered two copyhold tenements, also held of Atlingworth, and sold adjacent freehold land to Clack for £75; the copyhold measured 50' x 25' and lay E of the freehold, W of Wigney's stables, N of the land sold to Clack by Lidbetter and S of a way between the first and second furlongs (3)
On 23 June 1820 Clack granted a lease of the land, now described as in Spring Gardens, upon which he had recently built a melting house and factory, to Richard Tamplin of Brighton tallow-chandler for 21 years from 24 June at £35. Tamplin was to insure the buildings for at least £300 with the Salamander Insurance Office and was granted an option to purchase the property for £350 within the first 7 years of the term (4,5)
The property was sold by Clack, then of High Street Marylebone tallow-chandler, and his trustee William Diplock of Brighton linen-draper, to William Charles Bridgman of Cannon Street Road Mx tallow-chandler and his trustee Jesse Bridgman gent of the same address for £350 on 19 & 20 Feb 1821; the conveyance contains a detailed description of the freehold land purchased by Clack from Martin in 1818 (6,7)
In 1825 Tamplin, described as a brewer, agreed to sell his interest to Almira Creasy of Brighton spinster, who on 26 & 27 Dec 1825 also purchased the freehold from Bridgman for £350. Despite the sale of 1821, Clack had failed to surrender the copyhold portion of the property to Bridgman almost certainly to save fees, and agreed to surrender to Miss Creasy. The surviving assignees in bankruptcy of Benjamin Scutt (West, Mills, Vallance and Blaber) assigned the term created by the mortgage of 1800 to Edward Hill Creasy of Brighton gent in trust for Almira Creasy on 27 Dec (8-10)
On 22 Oct 1827, having obtained a licence from the steward of Atlingworth manor the same day, Miss Creasy leased the factory and stables to Isaac Bass of Brighton, grocer and tallow-chandler, for 21 years from 29 Sep 1827 at £40 (11, 12)
On 3 & 4 Apr 1840 a settlement was made on the marriage of Charlotte Caroline Creasy of Brighton spinster with John Baker of Brighton esq. Miss Creasy's fortune, other than securities, consisted of the candle factory near Kensington Street occupied by Isaac Bass, a house at 13 Broad Street Brighton occupied by Alexander McCraig, and a piece of brookland at Henfield occupied by Tugwell; Baker's estate consisted of two houses on the corner of Burlington Street and St George's Road Brighton, occupied by John Evershed and John Ireland. Both parties conveyed to William Steward Owens of Croydon esq and John Drummond of Croydon gent. On 10 June 1847 the deed was endorsed with a memorandum of the sale of 13 Broad Street and a piece of leasehold ground behind it to James Gayford for £300 (13)
According to the valuation book (IRV/1/21), the owners in 1910 were Penny's executors

Settlements on the marriages of Sarah Joanna Murray with Charles Ashburnham in 1832 and Godfrey Webster in 1851 with other papers  AMS6066  1832-1853

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by Darley, Cumberland & Co, solicitors, per BRA 1374, 4 August 1964 (A 627)

Administrative history:
Sarah Joanna Murray was the younger daughter of William Murray of Latium Plantation in Jamaica, late of Bryanstone Square and in 1832 of Albemarie Street Mx esq and his wife Elizabeth, daughter of Samuel Virgin of Weymouth Street esq; the settlement on their marriage had been executed on 30 July 1800
By his will of 10 May 1809, Sarah Joanna's grandfather Samuel Virgin bequeathed the Hope Plantation in the parish of Clarendon, Jamaica, with its negroes and slaves, to James Chisholme of Portland Place esq, Robert Hibbert the younger of Mincing Lane London esq, Joseph Timperon of Upper Harley Street and John West of Lower Gower Street Mx esq in trust for his wife Sarah for life, remainder to his daughter Elizabeth Murray for life, with ultimate remainder in trust for sale, with the residuary estate, for the benefit of his heirs; the bequest to Sarah was revoked by a codicil of 20 Feb 1815. Samuel Virgin died in Mar 1815, the will was proved in PCC and the cause Timperon v Virgin commenced in chancery as a means of administering the estate; an account was called for by an order of 21 July 1821. On 29 Aug 1821 a settlement was executed on the marriage of Samuel Virgin's co-heir, Sarah Joanna's elder sister Mary Murray, with Henry Floyd bt, and on 25 Jan 1822 the trustees of that settlement (Walter Murray, Richard Lee, Robert Peel and Joseph Fuller) covenanted with William and Elizabeth Murray that the Virgin estate would be held in trust for the two sisters equally according to the will, despite doubts that the bequest for their benefit was void. On 25 May 1825 Master Harvey reported that Virgin's personal estate amounting to £26,884 16s 9d has passed into Timperon's hands, of which £251 4s 8d remained after the costs of administering the estate, together with a considerable sum in stocks and £1300, the purchase price of the leasehold house in Weymouth Street, which had been sold to Andrew King. The trustees were permitted to retain the plantation, the sale of which was deemed disadvantageous. A further order of 12 July 1824 settled the sums which should be paid as an annuity to Elizabeth Murray for life

By a settlement of 4 Feb 1832, Sarah Joanna's share of her grandfather's estate, and her entitlement under the settlement of her parents, was conveyed to Bertram Ashburnham Earl of Ashburnham, Robert Vyner of Gortley, Lincs, esq, Robert Cooper Lee Bevan of Lombard Street London esq and Duncan Davidson 'Alves of Lime Street Square London esq, in trust for her marriage with Charles Ashburnham, a younger son of George Ashburnham, late earl of Ashburnham; he vested £6000 of the £9000 legacy which he had received from his father, in the same settlement trustees. By an endorsement of 11 Mar 1842 the income produced by that sum was assigned to Tomkyns Hilgrove Turner kt of Argyle Street Mx, a general in the army, for £2000, to maintain a policy of insurance on the life of Charles Ashburnham and to pay interest at 5% (1)
By a further settlement on the marriage, the income on £21,000 and an annuity of £1000 was charged on William Murray's Jamaica estate (Latium Plantation 646a, Garland Grove 68a and Purling Stream, all in the parish of St James), which had been settled on Mary Murray's marriage on 29 Aug 1821. The deeds contain detailed schedules naming the slaves and stating their colour, age, parentage and whether African or Creole, all taken from returns made in 1817, 1820, 1823, 1826 and 1829. An affidavit under the 1732 Act for recovery of debts in the American Plantations (5 Geo 2 c7) was made before the Lord mayor of London by Isaac Clementson Sanderson, clerk to LeBlanc, Oliver and Cook of New Bridge Street, on 27 Feb 1832 (2)
Charles Ashburnham married Sarah Joanna Murray on 6 Feb 1832 but there was no issue of the marriage. He died on 22 Dec 1848 and his will of 28 May 1847, leaving his entire residuary estate to his wife absolutely, was proved in PCC on 4 July 1849; the probate describes him as 'late of Eaton Place Mx and of the city of Constantinople' (3). By virtue of his death, his widow became entitled to the moiety, in reversion after the death of her mother Elizabeth Murray, of the entire estate settled in 1832 as well as to a sum of £3491 6s 8d compensation money for the value of slaves, awarded by order of 4 Nov 1835
On 27 Sep 1849 Sarah Joanna mortgaged her reversionary interest to the Eagle Insurance Company for £1500, increased to £2000 by endorsement on 30 July 1850 (4)
A settlement in contemplation of Sarah Joanna's marriage with Godfrey Webster of Battle Abbey bt was executed on 9 July 1851. Her fortune, of which £33,473 8s 4d stood to the credit of Timperon v Virgin and which included her leasehold house at 54 Eaton Place, was conveyed to Robert Cooper Lee Bevan, George Hall Lawrence of Liverpool esq, James Alfred Hallett and Hartwell John Maude of Great George Street Westminster esqs in trust. Elizabeth Murray of Brunswick Terrace Brighton widow, Sarah Joanna's mother, covenanted to pay annuities of £2600 to the trustees for her daughter's benefit, £800 of which she had been advancing for several years to provide her with an income (5,6)
By a deed of the same date, Sir Godfrey charged his Sussex estates with a jointure rent charge of £500 in favour of his wife, and appointed Lawrence & Bevan trustees. The estates were those settled on the marriage of his father Sir Godfrey Webster with Charlotte daughter of Robert Adamson of Hill Street, Berkeley Square on 19 & 20 Aug 1814. On 15 July 1885 the deed was referred to in the affidavit of Augustus Frederick George Douglas Webster bt (7)
By a deed of 23 Aug 1843, Sir Godfrey Webster had raised £2000 by a mortgage of parts of his estate in Battle, Catsfield, Sedlescombe, Westfield, Whatlington, Bexhill, Hooe and Ewhurst (detailed schedule naming tenants and acreages), and an insurance policy on his own life, to William Offley of Tunbridge Wells esq; half the loan went to pay off a previous mortgagee. Thomas Gamlen of Furnivals Inn Mx gent was appointed receiver of the whole estate, with authority to apply the profits to discharge the several liabilities to which the estate was subject, listed in a schedule, totalling £48,700 (8,9)
After Sir Godfrey's marriage with Sarah Joanna Ashburnham, her mother began to pay off many of his debts, using Simon Adams Beck of Ironmongers Hall London esq as agent. On 6 Dec 1852 he paid £1017 8s 7d to Edward Digby, earl Digby and John Poulett, earl Poulett to discharge the interest on a mortgage of 28 Jan 1825; on 23 Nov 1852 he paid £2000 to the executors of William Offley and a reconveyance was endorsed on the mortgage deed of 1843 (8); and at several dates, by private sale and public auction, he purchased large amounts of furniture at Battle Abbey from Sir Godfrey's mother Lady Charlotte Webster for £827 2s. By a deed of 9 Feb 1853, which lists the furniture in detail, room by room, Beck declared that he held the furniture to the use of, and had discharged the mortgages for the sole benefit of Lady Sarah Joanna Webster (10)
Sir Godfrey died 4 May 1853 and on 21 Oct Lady Webster obtained a 21-year lease of Court Lodge and New House Mountfield, with 2½a land, 'all occupied by Rothwell Pounsett esq, Church Cottage and 7a occupied by George Cooper, 12a land part of Mountfield glebe, The Garden Meadow and The Park (115a) occupied by Tilden Smith and shooting rights over the manor of Mountfield (2100a in Mountfield and Battle) leased with Court Lodge and the keeper's cottage, from Samuel John Luke Nicoll of Mountfield esq; the lease, which was to run from 25 Mar 1854 at £390 a year, was subject to the right of Tilden Smith to use the roads in the Park, and to a penalty of £20 per acre for ploughing land. The landlord reserved the right to enter and destroy hares and rabbits if Lady Webster failed to perform her own covenant to do so. Lady Webster covenanted to put plans for substantial repairs to Court Lodge into immediate effect, and to build a lodge at the Johns Cross entrance to the park, all according to the specifications already prepared by George Taylor Cloutt of Hawkhurst surveyor. The lease contains separate schedule of fixtures at New House and Church Cottage. By an endorsement of 3 Dec 1853, which does not seem to have been executed, Lady Webster covenanted to rebuild the long room projecting from the east end of court Lodge, which had been found so dilapidated in the course of repairs as to require demolition; Nicoll allowed £150 for the work (11)

ISFIELD  AMS6067  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Volume given by W D Richards, 14 April 1989 (A5246)

A Commentarie Upon The Epistle of Saint Paule to Philemon by William Attersoll, Minister of the word of God, at Isfield  [no ref. or date]

Administrative history:
William Attersoll, puritan divine and author, gained his AB in 1582 at Clare Hall in Cambridge and his AM at Peterhouse in 1586. He succeeded William Bishoppe as rector of Isfield in 1600. He was buried at Isfield on 30 May 1640. Attersoll was the author of many biblical commentaries and religious treatises, in particular his New Covenant published in 1614. See DNB

Printed at London by William Iaggard 1612

ASHBURNHAM  AMS6068  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Volume given by W R Jones 20 April 1989 (A 5252)

Photograph album of Ashburnham Place  [no ref.]  nd ?1900

Related information: For the archive of the Ashburnham family - see ASH

Containing photographs of the interior and exterior of Ashburnham Place, Ashburnham church, members of the family and servants, and some photographs and postcards of Egypt and Italy

Records of Wadhurst Fat Stock Show  AMS6069  [n.d.]

Archival history:
The records probably originated from the offices of Messrs E Watson & Sons, High Street, Wadhurst, auctioneers and valuers, who were responsible for much of the organisation of the show. Charles H Bocking, the Hon secretary of the Fat Stock Show, was an employee and produced some of the record listed here. The first Christmas Fat Stock Show in Wadhurst may have taken place in 1888. The firm also held livestock sales at Mayfield and Rotherfield Fairs, which seem to have been held respectively in Fair Field, and Court Meadow; in addition, it may have held fairs at Burwash and Heathfield

Source of acquisition: Purchased 20 Apr 1989 (ACC 5254) and 10 Apr 2000 (ACC 8114)

Related information: For farm valuation books of Messrs E Watson & Sons, see BRX; ACC 2629

Fat Stock Show minutes  AMS6069/1  [n.d.]

Contain AGM and committee minutes

Minutes  AMS6069/1/1  Jan 1928 - Oct 1938

Archival history:
Formerly AMS6069/1

Minutes  AMS6069/1/2  May 1952 - Nov 1966

Archival history:
Formerly AMS6069/2

Finance Committee minutes  AMS6069/2  [n.d.]

Minutes; Jun 1920-Oct 1921; Apr 1930 - Jun 1930  AMS6069/2/1  1920-1930

Catalogues of exhibits  AMS6069/3  [n.d.]

Related information: For catalogues of exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs, 1955-1962, see AMS6069/4/18-25

Catalogue  AMS6069/3/1  Dec 1929

Archival history:
Formerly AMS6069/3

Prize schedules and rules  AMS6069/4  [n.d.]

Archival history:
AMS6069/4/14-25 belonged to Charles H Bocking

Schedule  AMS6069/4/1  1927

Schedule  AMS6069/4/2-13  1928-1950

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Schedule  AMS6069/4/14  1951

Schedule  AMS6069/4/15  1952

Includes statement of accounts, 1951

Schedule  AMS6069/4/16  1953

Includes statement of accounts, 1952

Schedule  AMS6069/4/17  1954

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Schedule  AMS6069/4/18  1955

Includes statement of accounts, 1955; catalogue of the exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs

Schedule  AMS6069/4/19  1956

Includes catalogue of exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs

Schedule  AMS6069/4/20  1955

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Schedule  AMS6069/4/21  1958

Includes statement of accounts, 1957; catalogue of exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs

Schedule  AMS6069/4/22  1959

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Schedule  AMS6069/4/23  1960

Includes statement of accounts, 1960; catalogue of exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs

Schedule  AMS6069/4/24  1961

Includes statement of accounts, 1961; catalogue of exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs

Schedule  AMS6069/4/25  1962

Includes statement of accounts, 1962; catalogue of exhibits of fat cattle, sheep and pigs

Annual statements of accounts  AMS6069/5  [n.d.]

Related information: For statements of accounts, 1951-1957; 1960-1962, see AMS6069/4/15-25

Statement  AMS6069/5/1  1937

Statement  AMS6069/5/2  1959

Archival history:
Formerly AMS6069/4

Statement  AMS6069/5/3  1966

Statement  AMS6069/5/4  1971

Other papers relating to Wadhurst Fat Stock Show  AMS6069/6  [n.d.]

Record book ? of Charles H Bocking  AMS6069/6/1  1912-1966

Hon. Secretary of Wadhurst Fat Stock Show; includes notes relating to other aspects of Watson & Son's business; 1912-1966
Monthly statistics of client accounts; Jan 1920 - 1924
Wadhurst Fat Stock Show, and Wadhurst Market: totals of store stock sales, 1918-1928; Fat Stock Show statistics, 1912-1938; show champions, 1920-1931; market stock statistics, 1918-1965; market totals of eggs, produce, butter and dead rabbits, 1929-1939
Rotherfield Fairs stock totals; 1918-1928
Crop reports for Wadhurst, Ticehurst and Frant; Jan 1921 - Mar 1921
Index to Ordnance Survey sheets, listing the farms shown on each sheet; 1897-1939
Lists of bill-posting stations; 1920, 1923, 1928
Lists of sale and letting property boards, with names of owners; Dec 1920 - Aug 1966
Dates of local Christmas shows; 1921-1922
Statistics of employees' wages; Oct 1920 - Oct 1966
Mayfield Fairs stock totals and special sales; 1918-1958
Memorandum that the field for Mayfield Fair was closed and sold in 1959, and the sale moved to Heathfield Market

Extracts of returns made to the Livestock (Emergency) Committee, London, in respect of Wadhurst Market and Mayfield Fair  AMS6069/6/2  1938

List of recipients of schedules ? relating to Wadhurst Fat Stock Show  AMS6069/6/3  Oct 1956

Valuation for insurance of silver two-handled bowl on plinth, owned by Wadhurst Fat Stock Show  AMS6069/6/4  Dec 1957

Notes concerning the Challenge Cup offered by Mrs Varley in memory of her husband, E F Varley  AMS6069/6/5  Feb 1967

Cup for the best Sussex beast in the show, presented by Stephen Comber, Mar 1967

Records relating to Mayfield and Rotherfield Fairs  AMS6069/7  [n.d.]

Related information: For stock totals of the fairs, see AMS6069/6/1

Ministry of Agriculture orders of exemptions for auctioneers under Markets and Fairs (Weighing of Cattle) Acts, 1887-1926, section 4  AMS6069/7/1  May 1925 - Oct 1955

ISLE OF WIGHT  AMS6070  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by F R Ashdown, 5 May 1989 (A5259)

Letter from John Batcheler Stage Office, Cowes Isle of Wight to his wife Betsy Batcheler  [no ref.]  4 Oct 1831

Announces his safe arrival on the island after a month's 'transportation' from his wife and family. Poem about his wish to see her and family. Has not been home or seen Rye or any of his friends there in the last month

Photograph of the Star Forge, Fisher Street, Lewes  AMS6071  nd 10 Oct 1922

Source of acquisition: Document given 12 May 1989 (ACC 5261)

Copies information: A copy of the photograph appears on page 19 of Strike while the iron's hot: Frank Dean's life as a blacksmith & farrier in Rodmell edited by Susan Rowland (1994)

Photograph of the yard of the farriery at the Star Forge showing Christopher Charles Anthony Dean (the father of Frank Dean) on the day that he sat his examination in horse-shoeing by the Worshipful Company of Farriers standing to the left of the pony, the owner of the forge, Jack Green, to the right of the pony and the examiner, Mr A Kember of Tunbridge Wells on the far right; also shown are Alf Smith from the Offham Forge (third from right at back), William Beckingham (third from right at front) and behind him his father Walter Beckingham of the Ripe Forge - information taken from the Lewes edition of the Sussex Express, 22 Oct 1999. In the background is an East Sussex County Agricultural Committee poster advertising a lecture on farriery by A Kember on 22 May 1922
Christopher Charles Anthony Dean was born at Reading in April 1878 and in 1890 he married Minnie Myra Taylor. He served his blacksmith's and farrier's apprenticeship in Reading before moving to London and subsequently to Hastings. In 1906 he moved to Redhill where he worked in the brickfields. From 1910 he rented the forge at Rodmell from Mrs Verrall which he purchased on her death in 1919. He was followed in the business by his son Frank

Deed of Little Bunces, Warbleton  AMS6072  1712

Archival history:
These documents were bought at Heathfield Market; AMS6072/2 formed the backing to the frame in which AMS6072/1 was originally displayed. The deed, together with three deeds of the same property purchased at an antique shop in Alfriston in about 1978, derive from the archive of the Roberts and Dunn families of Stonehouse in Warbleton, who bought Little Bunces between 1840 and 1850; all four documents are endorsed in pencil with a note of their dimenions, prior to framing. Other deeds of the same estate, formerly in the custody of Andrews & Bennett of Burwash, solicitors, have also been retrieved from antique shops. For a list of the deed-bundles in the firm's custody in 1889, see ACC 4919/1

Source of acquisition: Document given 12 May 1989 (ACC 5266)

Related information: For more detailed maps of Bunces Farm and Little Bunces in relation to the Stonehouse estate, see AMS6471

Administrative history:
As well as the cited references, the following history is based on the ROHAS Tenement Analysis for Warbleton (available in the searchroom library), specifically P45/140 (Little Bunces) and P45/17 (Stonehouse)
Little Bunces was owned by William Levett of Seaford, who probably inherited it, with the Stonehouse estate, from his father John Levett, who died in 1607. Levett sold Stonehouse to William Roberts in 1628, and possibly sold Little Bunces to John Walker at the same time; the recital of the sale (in AMS6072/1) describes him as of Seaford rather than of Hastings, where he made his will (which does not mention Warbleton property) in 1635 (W/A 20.56). John Walker also owned land on the opposite side of the road, copyhold of Warbleton manor, in 1641 (DUN 44/2). That property is now known as Bunces Farm (ROHAS P45/80)
Little Bunces descended in the Walker family, clothworkers of Warbleton, for whom see M Beswick Leather and Cloth - Two Rural Trades (Warbleton and District History Group, 1985), 33. On John Walker's death in 1692 it passed to his daughter Mary, later the wife of Amos Norden, by whom it was mortgaged in 1712 (AMS6072/1) and sold the following year to John Watkins (AMS3019). The occupier in 1712 was Thomas Read, perhaps one of the weavers of that name (Beswick, 28-29)
In his will of 1743, William Coney described the property as late Watkins (W/A 57.570). The means of its descent from Henry Freeland (who purchased in 1770) to Joseph Oliver, the next definite owner, remains unclear. It was owned by Joseph Oliver when the Stonehouse estate was mapped in 1810 (DUN 44/5), and in 1840 by Jesse Oliver. The map of 1810 is annotated J R Dunn, the owner of the Stonehouse estate, who had purchased it by 1850 (LT)

Mortgage for £30 at 5%  AMS6072/1  15 Feb 1712

Amos Norden of Heathfield, yeoman, and his wife Mary, to James Stace of Heathfield, miller
Messuage, barn and 3a in Warbleton, occupied by Thomas Read (N: road from Rushlake Green to Dallington; S,E,W: land formerly William Roberts, gent)
Formerly purchased from William Levett of Seaford, gent
W: Richard Goldsmith, John Dimond, Christopher Smith

Architectural plan of Silverlea, Pevensey Bay  AMS6072/2  nd, c1920

By Charles Nicholas ARIBA of 19 Hanover Square, London, architect; 14" x 20½"

EASTBOURNE  AMS6073  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document deposited by Mrs Marlar, 16 May 1989 (A5269)

Probate (PCC) of will (10 Feb 1845) of Mary Ann Gilbert of Eastbourne widow and relict of Davies Gilbert late of Tredrea in St Erth in Cornwall esq  [no ref.]  7 Aug 1845

Related information: For attested copy of this will - see GIL BOX 7/17. For the archive of the Gilbert family - see GIL

To the trustees (son John Davies Gilbert and Davis Howell esq) of the pre-nuptial settlement of daughter Catherine and John Samuel Enys esq. £3000 in 3% consolidated bank stock (part of the stock standing in the names of Frederick North esq., Francis Harding Gell esq. and MAG) for CE and her children
To the trustees of the pre-nuptial settlement of daughter Hester Elizabeth and William Sandcroft Holmes esq., £3000 in 3% consols stock (the other part of the stock above) upon such trusts as are in the settlement for the benefit of HEH and her children
Executors to retain within 6 months of MAG's decease, £3000 out of the 3% consols standing in the names of MAG, FN and FHG to pay the interest to daughter Ann Gilbert for life, reversion to her children in equal shares on reaching 21 years. If she has no issue then £1500 in 3% consols to the trustees of the marriage settlement of CG and JSE and £1500 in 3% consolidated bank annuities to the trustees of the marriage settlement of HEG and WSH, in trust for the daughters for life, reversion to their children
MAG's tenant John Pennington Gorringe of Eastbourne to sell all the live and dead farming stock, implements on MAG's farm and lands, proceeds to executors. To JPG £19 19s as a gratuity
Executors to stand possessed of all the printed books which belonged to her late husband, upon trust for those of her children as shall become entitled under the will of her late uncle Charles Gilbert esq. to Eastbourne, as in the nature of heirlooms
Each of MAG's domestic servants living with her at her decease and who then shall have lived with her for more than 2 years are to have one year's wages
Each of MAG's farming servants living with her at her decease, to have 20s in clothing
James Thorncroft carpenter to have 10s per week for life, and if his wife survives him, 5s per week for life
Miss Carvell and Mrs Bishop, late governesses of her daughters, and to Mrs Bishop's daughters (Caroline and Harriet) to have £5 each
CAG's friend Mrs Catherine Gibbon, wife of A Gibbon esq., and her daughter Emily, to have £19 19s each
William Highlands for his care of her late daughter Mary, to have 2s 6d per week for life
Eldest daughter living with CAG at her decease or the first to arrive after her decease, is to distribute her common wearing apparel amongst such servants as shall have been most useful at the last
Each of MAG's children (John Davies Gilbert, Catherine Enys, Ann Gilbert and Hester Holmes) to have 'a copy of everything printed by me, to be bound in purple leather and gilt lettered with their names, mine and the date of my decease on it'
The worked cabinet, 'which Davies seems to value', he is to have with the prize medals for MAG's painting St Marks Place, Venice by Camriletti, the medal for bringing the shingle into cultivation and the medal found near Gildridge house to Archbishop Sancroft's memory
CE to have the miniature of Dame Roots and the medal for the same, and the old man intended as her companion. Also the topaz necklace and chain given to MAG by Lady Dunganon
The grand piano forte to AG
HH to have her album and manuscripts, and to burn such as are useless. For her pains she is to have MAG's, her mother's and grandmother's miniatures and MAG's writing boxes
MAG's son to have all her paintings and the bust of his father, household furniture, plated articles, plate, linen, wine and liqueurs, carriage, horses and pleasure carriages, and curious old clothes both Cornish and Sussex
MAG's daughters to have all her satins, velvets, furs, lace trinkets, jewels, watch, unframed drawings and prints not previously bequeathed, and all the books with MAG's name in them. Each daughter in order of seniority to choose one item in turn until all are appropriated
Executors to stand seized of residue of personal estate upon trust to pay the interest, as directed for the three sums of £3000, to CE, HH and AG until their several sums of £17500 with interest have been fully paid by JDG under the will of her late husband and as agreed in the deed of family arrangement 10 Feb 1840. The residue then to be paid to JDG
If John Butcher chooses to leave the service of JDG then he is to receive £10 per annum for life, and the same to his wife after his decease for so long as she remains his widow
Appoints as joint exexutors, sons-in-law John Samuel Enys esq., William Sandcroft Holmes, Francis Harding Gell esq. senior of Lewes, and cousins George Hoper esq. and John Hoper junior, and Robert Hoffman Faulconer esq. Each to have £19 19s as a gratuity
Messuages, farms, lands and real estate to executors in trust to pay the rents and profits in the same manner as the residue of her personal estate until satisfaction of the several sums of £17500, then to the use of JDG. All the tenants and occupiers of my allotments in the Hockington laine and Shawbrook marsh in Willingdon and the house, garden and lodge at Pevensey are to be allowed to occupy the same for 21 years from MAG's decease
W: Henry Bentley of Eastbourne cordwainer, John Stretton of Eastbourne carpenter

RYE  AMS6074  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by A E Piper, 17 May 1989 (A5270)

'A Map on a Reduced Scale of the Plan of Rye Harbour' by J E Davie  [no ref. or date]

Land surveyor of Rye 1843
Pen and ink on paper with linen backing; 30" x 54½", scale 12in: 1 mile, surmounted by dividers with pen and quill. Shows course of the Rother from Scots Float Sluice to the mouth of the harbour at Camber with high and low water marks, location of navigation buoys. Street plan of Rye with inset view of Rye church in elevation. Annotated in pencil to show the line of the proposed railway from Brighton


Source of acquisition: Documents given by G W Delves, 12 May 1989 (A5265)

Administrative history:
William Delves (born 19 Apr 1857 at Waldron) the son of Trayton Delves and Mary Porter, rented High Holmstead Farm in Warbleton from the Ashburnham estate. In 1914 the family left Warbleton and farmed Cophall Farm in Polegate from the Allfrey estate. His son Nelson then ran the farm. The depositor is his son. William Delves' nephew, Stanley Delves, was the pastor at Forest Fold in Crowborough, see - Preaching the Peace, A Biography of Stanley Delves by Peter M Rowell 1981

Inventory and valuation of tenants rights on High Homestead Farm in... Warbleton ...  AMS6075/1  1857

Related information: The farm was part of the demesne of the manor of Burwash. From 1820 it was part of the Ashburnham estate. For a conveyance of part of the farm to R H Fox in 1914 see A1994

Made 15 Jan 1857 from Stephen Pilbeam to the Right Honourable the Earl of Ashburnham (Mr Edwin Ellis the incoming tenant)

Copy, photograph of the back of High Homestead farm house  AMS6075/2  nd ?1930s

Copy, photograph of the barn at High Homestead farm  AMS6075/3  nd ?1930s

Apprenticeship indenture  AMS6075/4  26 Apr 1902

Nelson Delves to Ezra Richard Streatfield as a wheelwright

Sale catalogue for farm stock and implements at Cophall Farm in Polegate  AMS6075/5  2 Oct 1928

On the orders of the executors of Nelson Delves annotated with the prices realised at the sale

Executors' accounts for the estate of Nelson Delves  AMS6075/6  1927-1930

Containing a statement of the receipts and payments on the trading account for Cophall, Sayerland and Rosebank Farms 1927-1928, general account 1930 and a statement of the receipts and payments in connection with the realization of the estate 1927-1929. 4 Sep 1930

Copy, photograph of Cophall Farm in Polegate  AMS6075/7  nd ?1930s

Copy, photograph, close-up of AMS6075/7  AMS6075/8  nd ?1930s

Copy, photograph of Nelson Delves with labourers collecting coppiced wood  AMS6075/9  nd ?1914

Archive of Nehemiah Wimble of Lewes  AMS6076  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given by J R Homfray, 18 May 1989 (A5272)

Administrative history:
Nehemiah Wimble (1778-1843) was the third son of John Wimble of Southover (1730-1814) and Elizabeth Pullen (1741-1825). He was born on 20 Jan 1778 at St Johns in Lewes, and married Audrey Marchant (1781-1846) daughter of Thomas Lashmar of Steyning at Tandridge in Surrey on 6 Aug 1804. Nehemiah died on 12 Dec 1843 and was buried at Southover. For his will, see - W/A81/462
NW was an ironmonger and had traded in partnership with William Attwood of Lewes from a shop on the High Street from 1 Oct 1820 until his death in 1843 (see HIL/2/3). In 1825 he had purchased the Friars (part of the site now occupied by the Fitzroy Library) from George Verrall. By his death he had sold it to the London and Brighton Railway Co; for the deeds from 1691, see - BLE/C2/5/1 - 9
Wimble served as Constable for Lewes Borough in 1835 and 1840, and as Headborough in 1821. On the visit of King William IV and Queen Adelaide to the Borough on 22 Oct 1830 they dined at the Friars, and on the basis of his having been presented to the King NW was granted a coat of arms in December 1830

The New and Complete Book of Martyrs...Being Fox's Book of Martyrs, Revised and Corrected...By Paul Wright, D.D., FSA  AMS6076/1  1784-1832

Printed for Alexander Hogg, at the King's Arms, 16 Paternoster Row in London 1784
Annotated at the front with details of the marriage of John Wimble brother of Nehemiah and Ann Hammond at Lewes in 1786 and the births of their children, the marriage of their son John Wimble and Ann Fisher Skelton at Scarborough in Yorkshire in 1820 and the births of their children. 1786-1832

The arms of Edwards of Portslade by James Lambert junior of Lewes  AMS6076/2  1787

Pen and ink on paper 1787
The Wimbles were related to the Edwards' through the marriage of John Wimble to Ann Hammond

Description of the arms granted to the Rickson, Hollis and Parkins families  AMS6076/3  nd ?1800

Details of the marriage of James Wimble brother of Nehemiah and Jane Wardele in 1797, and the births of their children  AMS6076/4  nd Wm 1820

Print, 'The Friar's Lewes, The Property of Mr Nehemiah Wimble'  AMS6076/5  1826

Engraved by C J Smith, published by J Baxter of Lewes 1826

Letter, William Berry, Doddington Place, Kennington in Surrey to Nehemiah Wimble, Lewes  AMS6076/6  1830

Encloses memorial to the Earl Marshal Bernard Edward Duke of Norfolk for the grant of arms see AMS6076/7. Anxious to have the arms settled as soon as possible, 'as the concluding part of the Sussex Pedigrees is waiting solely for their being introduced'. At foot of letter a sketch of the proposed arms. 6 Nov 1830

Draft memorial to Bernard Edward Howard, Duke of Norfolk, Earl Marshall and Hereditary Marshall of England  AMS6076/7  1830

From Nehemiah Wimble of the Friars of Lewes and of Brighton merchant, son of John Wimble late of Southover, reciting that NW was presented to King William IV and Queen Adelaide at the Friars on their visit to Lewes 20 Oct 1830 recte 22 Oct nd 1830

Grant of arms by Sir George Nayler Garter Principal King of Arms and Ralph Bigland esq  AMS6076/8  1830

Clarenceux King of Arms to Nehemiah Wimble of the Friars in the Borough of Lewes and of Brighton merchant, son of John Wimble late of Southover. 16 Dec 1830
The seals have been cut off

Letter, William Berry, Doddington Place, Kennington in Surrey to Nehemiah Wimble  AMS6076/9  1831

Encloses patent see AMS6076/8. Pedigree will be recorded in the office book at the College of Arms which NW should sign when in London. 5 Jan 1831

Letter, Edmund Lodge, Norroy Herald, Bloomsbury Square in Middlesex to Mr Nehemiah Wimble  AMS6076/10  1831

Has received from WB £38 15 the balance of the fees and sends his apologies for the long delay in sending the grant of arms. 5 Jan 1831

Proof page for County Genealogies...of the families in the County of Sussex by William Berry, showing the arms of Wimble  AMS6076/11  nd Wm 1833

Book plate of Nehemiah Wimble, Friars incorporating his arms  AMS6076/12  nd

Pedigree of the Wimble family  AMS6076/13  1834-1878

Drawn for or copied from Berry's County Genealogies 1834. Annotated with additional details of marriages and burials to 1878. On the back a draft pedigree of Edwards of Portslade and Hammond of Lewes

Genealogical notes concerning births, deaths and marriages of members of the Wimble family  AMS6076/14-16  nd ?1872

Photograph of loyal address presented to Alderman Edmund Crawshay esq. JP  AMS6076/17  1881

By the Committee of Management ?of CS' ironworks, Gateshead 9 Nov 1881
Arthur Skelton Wimble (great-grandson of Nehemiah's brother John) in 1896 married Emma the daughter of Edmond Crawshay

Proof for the entry of Wimble in Armorial Families by Arthur Charles Fox-Davies  AMS6076/18  nd post 1905

BRIGHTON  AMS6077  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by West Sussex Record Office, 24 May 1989 (A5273)

Conveyance for £195  [no ref.]  24 Jan 1854

Thomas Sweetman of 4 Cheapside in Brighton gent to John Button of Fore Street in Edmonton, Mx gent
Recites conveyance 10 Oct 1853 by Lawrence Smith to TS
Piece of ground (part of the land conveyed 1853) with messuage 13 Suffolk Place
W: John Whinnie, John Brighton

WARTLING  AMS6078  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by G Martin, 23 May 1989 (A5274)

Deeds of Rosebank Cottage, Boreham Street in Wartling  [no ref.]  1752-1982

On 20 Jul 1752 Edward Badcock of Wartling cordwainer mortgaged the above property to John Philcox of Battle leathercutter for £25 at 5% with a term of 1000 years. Ann Holland of Boreham Street widow (late Ann Avery spinster) sold the property, then described as a messuage and garden (15r), to Edmund Dawes of Boreham Street plumber and glazier for £110 on 9 & 10 Oct 1800 (1,3). The mortgage above, now held by Thomas Jarrett of Wartling yeoman, was paid off by Ann Holland, and the property re-mortgaged by Edmund Dawes to Ann Holland for £80 at 5% on 10 Oct 1800 (2)
On 29 Sep 1802 Ann Holland, then of Hellingly, assigned the mortgage to William Kenward of Westham yeoman (4). The property was sold for £130 on 9 Nov 1804, and the mortgage redeemed, by Edmund Dawes, of Bexhill, to Joseph Dawes of Boreham Street painter and glazier (5). In his will of 28 Oct 1834 Joseph Dawes left the cottage to his eldest son Alfred Dawes with provision for maintenance of his widow Judith. Dawes died in Nov 1834 and his will was proved 6 Apr 1835 see W/A78/746. On 3 Apr 1837 Judith Dawes of Crown Court, Broad Street in London released her claims upon the cottage to Alfred Dawes in return for £7 and an annuity of £10 (7). William Kenward in his will of 7 Feb 1832, proved on 15 Dec 1843 see W/A81/445 appointed his wife and son-in-law William Eldridge Crisford of Hastings miller his executors. Alfred Dawes had re-paid the mortgage see 5 above but the property had not been re-assigned. Therefore when Dawes mortgaged the cottage for £50 at 5% on 19 Dec 1843 to Charles Sinnock of Hailsham esquire William Crisford of Ore farmer was party to the transaction (6). Charles Sinnock in his will 13 Oct 1857 appointed his wife Jane Sinnock sole executrix. Sinnock died 9 Sep 1867 and his will was proved at Lewes 25 Oct 1867; the mortgage (£52 11s 3d) was re-paid on 6 Jan 1869. Dawes in his will and codicil of 5 Dec 1873 and 24 Sep 1874 appointed his sons Edgar and Albert as joint executors and bequeathed the cottage to Albert Dawes. Alfred Dawes died 26 Nov 1874 and his will was proved at Lewes 7 Jan 1876. Jane Sinnock of Hailsham widow surrendered the mortgage term to Albert Dawes of Farnham in Surrey Professor of Music on 8 Nov 1877 (6)
On 18 Feb 1879 AD mortgaged the cottage for £250 at 5% to George Pilbeam of Bodle Street in Dallington husbandman with power of sale (8). The property was offered for sale by Pilbeam at auction at the Bull Inn in Boreham Street on 12 Aug 1896 where it was purchased by himself for £80. George Pilbeam of Hellingly husbandman sold the cottage for £100 on 18 Sep 1896 to Theophulus Prickett of Boreham Street butcher (9). In his will of 14 Mar 1917 Prickett appointed Frederick Prickett of Boreham Street butcher and Albert King Burtenshaw of Hailsham auctioneer as joint executors. Prickett died 21 Mar 1917 and his will was proved 2 Jun 1917. Frederick Prickett and Albert King Burtenshaw sold the cottage on 29 Sep 1917 for £140 to George Mercer of Boreham Street farmer (10)
George Mercer conveyed the property to Mrs Naomi Elsie Ade of Grove Hill Farm in Hellingly widow for £300 on 22 Dec 1925 (12). Mrs Ade sold the cottage on 25 Mar 1926 for £475 to Charlotte Isabel Gilbert of 22 Upper Avenue in Eastbourne spinster (14). Miss Gilbert of 56 Milton Road in Eastbourne spinster sold Rosebank Cottage to Mabel Lilian Barnes of Marlborough Court, 109 Lancaster Gate in London on 11 May 1963 for £1500 (16). Mabel Lilian Barnes sold the cottage to Mr and Mrs Hewitt c1980. Architectural plans showing proposed alterations and additions to the cottage were drawn in 1982 by A J Burgess of 58 High Street in Hailsham (17,18). Mr and Mrs Hewitt subsequently sold the property to the depositor
John Holland of Boreham Street mercer in his will of 16 Jul 1765 left to his son William, 'all that my new built messuage or tenement which I now dwell in, with garden, orchard and ground at the back door and the trees there growing'. The will was proved at Lewes on 15 Nov 1765 see W/A61/240. In the will of William Holland the elder of Boreham Street gent., made on 22 Mar 1792 and proved on 2 Mar 1795, the house (then in the occupation of Joseph Dawes) was left to his wife Ann (née Avery) for life with remainder to William's daughter Ann Bellingham see W/A67/35. Without the presence of a quitclaim in the above deeds from Ann Bellingham it is puzzling how Ann Holland, who only had a life interest in the cottage, could sell the property in fee simple to Edmund Dawes in 1800
Thomas Jarrett was the brother-in-law of William Holland

Feudal Tenures  AMS6079  [n.d.]

Archival history:

Source of acquisition: Photocopies purchased 31 May 1989, (A 5279)

The Jakes manuscript  AMS6079/1  1347-1469

Archival history:
Sheffield City Library JC 901

Related information: For a calendar of the deeds of the manor of Snailham and Wards (formerly Lidham Hill and Giles) Farm in Guestling, 1673-1773, see list of East Sussex documents in other repositories

This volume, written c1480, contains extracts, largely from exchequer documents, relating to feudal tenures in several counties
ff61v-62v Notes from the account of the collectors of an aid of a fifteenth charged on knights' fees within Sussex of 66¼ fees within the rape of Hastings, 21E3 1347-1348
f63 Extract from the Book of Fees relating to the tenure of the honor of Hastings by Alice Countess of Eu and of fees held by Robert de Hastings
Extract of an inquisition before commissioners to levy an aid of fees held by William de Hastings, 35E3 1361-1362
ff64-68 List of the fees within the rape of Hastings held of William Hastings Lord Hastings, compiled 24 Mar 1469
Each of the rape's tenants in chief is listed, followed by the manors held of them, followed in some instances, by notes of the personal performance of homage to Lord Hastings at Westminster in 1467
f68v List of suitors at Lathe courts of the rape of Hastings, and of the common fines paid by the manors of Bivelham, Burwash, Crowhurst, Hammerden, Morley, Filsham, Cortesley, and Herstmonceux; nd, 1469


Source of acquisition: Documents purchased at Sotheby's, Billingshurst 26 Apr 1989 (A 5280)

The nucleus of the estate was purchased in 1766 by Sir George Augustus Eliott (1717-1790) with prize-money received after his capture of Havana in 1763; he was created Baron Heathfield on 6 Jul 1787 and the title became extinct on the death of his son in 1813
The estate was sold in 1791 by Eliott's executors to Francis Newbury of St Paul's Churchyard, publisher and patent medicine maker. A comparison of the survey of the estate compiled in 1803 (AMS6080/2 below) with the plan drawn in 1785 (AMS6080/1 below) shows that Newbury had added to the estate considerably. Newbury's executors sold the estate in 1819 to Charles Richard Blunt Bt
For abstracts of title to the farms on the estate, schedules of deeds, books of reference and correspondence, see A5281/962. For the crop book of John Fuller 1781-1790, which covers part of the estate, see SAS/RF15/21
For a detailed account of the history of the estate, see Heathfield Memorials by Percival Lucas (London 1910)

'Map and Survey of 12 Farms or different Parcels of land, all adjoining each other, Belonging to Sir George Augustus Eliott of Bayley Park, Heathfield' by Thomas Weller  AMS6080/1  1785

Archival history:
Endorsed with sale tag number 152 Sotheby's lot 2797

Pen and ink on parchment with colour wash; 55¼" x 46½"; 10 chains: 2½". Two cartouches, an achievement of arms of Fuller impaling Eliott, compass rose decorated with globe showing eastern hemisphere. Views of the house and church, and the fortress of Gibralter surrounded by canon. Attempted erasure of the owner's name in the title. Tables of contents for the farms, listing field names and acreages; individual farms distinguished by the use of letters and coloured washes
Thomas Weller was the schoolmaster at Heathfield by September 1775 and continued there until December 1783, when he was appointed master of Mayfield school. He remained there until his death in 1807. Eliott was away from Heathfield from 1774 until 1787, but his daughter Anne remained at Bayley Park after her marriage to John Trayton Fuller in 1776. The impaled arms on the map together with the erasure noted above, suggest that Weller initially erroneously believed that the map was to show Fuller as the owner of Bayley Park. Fuller's name then being erased in favour of Eliott's in the title cartouche

Photocopy of 'summary tables of Heathfield Park Estate, and its Appendages, the Property of Francis Newbury Esq. Aug 1803'  AMS6080/2  1803

Copies information: For original, see A5281/962

Lists the farms appearing on AMS6080/3 with field names and acreages

Map of the 'Heathfield Estate in the County of Sussex' by William Figg  AMS6080/3  1819

Archival history:
Sotheby's lot 2796

Related information: For the book of reference and draft plans, see Figg 312

Pen and ink on parchment with colour wash. 40" x 32"; 40 chains:7½". Each field distinguished by a reference number see AMS6080/4 below and the differing states of cultivation shown. Boundary fences not belonging to the estate are distinguished. Satanstown Farm, purchased after 1819, is shown in outline only. Bulls Lye in Heathfield shown outlined in red and marked 'not entailed'

Photocopy of the book of reference to the Heathfield Estate  AMS6080/4  nd Wm 1818

Archival history:
The maps were offered for sale by M H S Deacon, who had found them when clearing Billingham Farm in Udimore, the home of his wife's family. Mrs Deacon's grandfather, Luther Morris (d1960) was a regular attender at country sales and auctions

Copies information: For original, see A5281/962

Lists the farms, field names and acreages appearing on the map in AMS6080/3, except Satanstown Farm

Account and memorandum book of Joseph Marten of Cuckfield, Isfield and Firle  AMS6081  1775-1818

Source of acquisition: Document given 20 January 1989 (ACC 5193)

Administrative history:
Joseph Marten (1750-1819), the son of Joseph and Elizabeth Marten of the Swan Inn in Ringmer, was baptised in 1750. His father farmed Wick Street Farm in Firle from c1780 until his death in 1810; for his will see W/A70.934. His son Joseph married Sarah Clark (c1756-1806) at Cuckfield in 1775; they had 15 children and their names are recorded at the end of the volume

The ledger opens shortly after Joseph's marriage and chronicles all his subsequent working life until his death, aged 69, in 1819 at Firle. He was a tenant farmer of the Shelley family at Tyes Farm (140a) in Cuckfield until c1796, and this marks the fullest period of record keeping. With the farm was leased a portion of the tithes for the northern part of the parish, for which rentals appear in the book. The accounts generally deal with farming expenses and sales, but also record such items as the hiring of servants and miscellaneous family memoranda. From c1798 until 1806 Joseph farmed at Isfield as the tenant of the Delmé Radcliff family. He was Overseer of the Poor for Isfield and some accounts are included in the volume. In 1806 he moved to Wick Street in Firle to farm with his father and remained there until his death in 1819; for his will see W/A73.551
The inheritor of the ledger, and of the farm at Firle, was Joseph's eldest son Henry Marten (c1775-1840), who himself was the farmer of Pest House Farm (200a), later called Upper Broyle Lodge, in Ringmer. His partners were his brother, Peter Marten (1791-1840), and his brother-in-law, Thomas Pocock Anderson. Henry wrote various notes in the volume during the period 1823-1824, and also practised his signature extensively. The volume was eventually found under the floorboards at Upper Lodge Farm, now called the Raystede Centre for Animal Welfare

Lewes Waterwork Company  AMS6082  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Records of Lewes Waterworks Company deposited by Messrs Davey & Co., plumbers, Lewes with the Sussex Archaeological Society in 1949 and transferred to the Record Office on 21 June 1982 (A3607)

Administrative history:
The Waterworks Company was incorporated in June 1833 under a private (Local) Act of 3 & 4 William IV cap 104. In 1929 it was purchased by Lewes Corporation which managed it until Oct 1958 when it was transferred to the Brighton Corporation Waterworks under Statutory Order of the 1945 Water Act. For water undertaking ledgers 1832-1958, wages accounts 1911-58, shares register 1834, water sample reports 1897-1933, etc. see DL/C70-73. For reports of the borough surveyor to the Water Committee 1929-31 and miscellaneous see BLE/S1-4 and for minutes of Water Committee 1929-39 BLE/A3/58d. Minutes for 1833-1929 are held by Southern Water. The records of Messrs Davey & Co., plumbers (William Davey was manager of the waterworks until 1858), are listed as AMS5743

Report, prospectus and estimate of a proposed Water Works Company  AMS6082/1  23 Oct 1832

For the purpose of supplying the town of Lewes with pure spring water at a moderate rate per annum. Printed by William Lee, Lewes

Sketches for the seal of the company  AMS6082/2-3  1833

Waste book no. 1 for shares, showing dividends paid out and transfers  AMS6082/4  Nov 1832-Oct 1858

Papers relating to the appointment of new trustees of the will of Elizabeth Grace Robinson of Brighton widow (d 3 Jan 1830)  AMS6083  1865-1866

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by the Misses N M and C M Smith, 4 February 1965 (D652)

These documents are the working papers of Francis Offley Martin of Lincoln's Inn, the Charity Commission and of Rose Hill, Hampton, who in 1830 had been nominated as a trustee of Mrs Robinson's will by her daughter Laura Robinson
By her will of 13 Aug 1828, Mrs Robinson bequeathed several sums of bank stock to Thomas Raikes Newbery of Lindfield gent and Faithful Croft (of Croft & Johnson, 43 Bedford Row Mx) gent, to be held in trust for five of her six children - Clare Georgiana, Charlotte Elizabeth wife of James Basevi, Emma Julia Wilkins (later known as de Winton and resident in Paris), Charles Frederick and Laura Robinson - for life, with remainder to their own children or next of kin. Each beneficiary was empowered to appoint a third trustee, and on 13 May 1830 a declaration of trust was executed by Laura Robinson's nominee, Francis Offley Martin of Lincoln's Inn esq (1)
T R Newbery died in July 1848 and F Croft in January 1862; his will was proved on 10 Feb by his niece and executrix Martha Amelia Webber of 28 Harrington Square Mx spinster, who on 21 June 1866 joined Laura Robinson, of 11 Gloucester Row, Clifton, Bristol, spinster and F O Martin to appoint Miss Robinson's nephew Lionel George Robinson of the Audit Office, Somerset House, esq and William Stuart Fraser (of Jardine Stewart & Fraser, Writers to the Signet, 31 Princes Street Edinburgh) as new trustees (2)
The remainder of this group of documents (3/1-22) consists of the highly entertaining letters of Miss Robinson, a self-styled 'unprotected female', and Octavius Leefe of 61 Lincoln's Inn Fields acting for Lionel Robinson, addressed to F O Martin at the Charity Commission, whose notes and drafts are also present. Miss Robinson suggests that Martin might visit Bristol, 'and I am sure you would be revived by a walk over the suspension bridge, and a luncheon with me, in an interval of repose between inspection of the sins of commission and omission of the magnates of Bristol - the old city has numerous charitable institutions, and I doubt not, the funds as well as the original intentions of their founders, have been abused, and widely departed from.' She provides details of her nephews and nieces, many of whom lived abroad, and expresses a conviction that solicitors are 'a class of licenced thieves, who pray on the public generally, and on "unprotected females" especially'. In responding to Martin's apprehension of annoyance from a projected railway, Miss Robinson describes her refuge from 'excursionists and cheap trips' at Richmond Yorks, 'which town has not the attractions of sea air and bathing, or, those of inland watering places, viz German bands, promenades, fashionable ladies and gentlemen in fancy dresses playing croquet and indulging in archery performances.'

Friend Paine of BRIGHTON  AMS6084  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by Brighton Reference Library 18 Jul 1989 (A5300)

Mariner's register ticket number 78056 issued pursuant to the Act of 7 & 8 Victoria c112 by the Collector and Comptroller of Customs of the Port of Brighton to Friend Paine of Brighton, fisherman 18 Dec 1844

Deeds of 'Montrose', Queens Road, Crowborough  AMS6085  1831-1984

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by Mr and Mrs G Burrows, 10 August 1989 (ACC 5313)

ESX 78639
On 27 September 1819 the lord of the manor of Rotherfield granted several parcels of waste (42a 1r 3p) on Crowborough Common to Thomas Fry of Rotherfield, esquire, to be held as a copyhold tenement by a quitrent of £1 10s. The grant included the parcel of wasteland (2a 1r 17p) on which a messuage had lately been built; see ABE 34A f174. The house had been demolished by 1868 and 'Montrose' was built upon the site soon after. The site was purchased by a florist in 1887, and mortgages of 1889 and 1890 may represent the development of the site as a nursery
Part of the site was purchased for school playing fields by East Sussex County Council in 1973 and the frontage onto Queens Road was developed in 1974
On 19 September 1831 Robert Burges Fry, the only son of Thomas Fry deceased, was admitted to a tenement consisting of 22a 1r 32p including a parcel of waste land (2a 1r 17p) at Crowborough in Rotherfield, upon which a messuage had lately been erected, then occupied by William Stevenson (SE: the road from Coldharbour to Blackness; SW: the road from Coldharbour to Crowborough Chapel; NE: lands of John Hoadly). The quitrent payable to the manor of Rotherfield had been reduced by apportionment to 13s 0d (8)
By his will of 30 May 1843 R B Fry, then of Walshes in Rotherfield, gentleman, appointed his wife Jemima (for as long as she remained his widow), his uncle John Fry of Skippers Hill in Mayfield, and his friends the Rev John Jarvis William Turner of Crowborough and his son John Richard Turner as executors. He bequeathed his plate, household furniture and a legacy of £50 to his wife and the residue of his real and personal property upon trust for sale, the profits to be invested as set out in the will (8)
By a codicil of 11 May 1866 R B Fry revoked the appointment of the Rev J J W Turner and J R Turner and appointed his son Lewis John Fry and Walter Sprott of Mayfield, gentleman, in their places. The codicil was signed by Charles Trustram of Tunbridge Wells in Kent, surgeon in the presence of R B Fry and two witnesses (8)
Robert Burges Fry died on 11 May 1866 and the will and codicil was proved at Lewes by Jemima Fry, Lewis John Fry and Walter Sprott on 9 November 1866 (8)
On 5 May 1868 Lewis John Fry of 17 Lupus Street, South Belgravia in Middlesex, gentleman and Walter Sprott were admitted to the larger property and on 8 May 1868 sold the smaller plot to the occupier, George Billings of Crowborough in Rotherfield, labourer, for £125. It was then described as a parcel of late waste land (2a 1r 17p), then or late divided into three pieces, upon which a messuage had been erected but since pulled down, formerly in the occupation of William Stevenson but now George Billings (1). Billings was admitted to the property on 19 May 1868 and the quitrent apportioned to 2s 0d (2, 7)
On 19 May 1868 Billings mortgaged the land to John Barrow of Burwash, gentleman for £125 at 5% and entered a bond (with David Peerless of Crowborough, huckster and Charles Hallett of Blackness in Crowborough, shoemaker as sureties) in the penal sum of £100 on the condition that if Billings was to erect upon some part of the mortgaged land a dwelling house to the value of at least £75 before 19 November 1868, then the principal of the mortgage would be reduced to £50 at 5% (3, 4). The mortgage was paid off on 30 April 1869 (5)
On 10 May 1869 Billings mortgaged the property for £225 at 5% to Isabella Jessie Armstrong of 10 Windsor Terrace, Southsea in Hampshire, spinster (6). George Billings died intestate on 28 April 1871 and was buried at Rotherfield. He left an only son, George Billings (born 22 June 1864) (8)
On 18 August 1875 George Billings (then a minor of 11 years) was admitted to the property, then described as a parcel of late waste land... occupied by John Hoadley (NE: land of William Menday, formerly John Hoadley). Custody of the property with the rents and profits was given to his mother Philadelphia, then the wife of John Hoadley (7)
On 17 November 1885 George Billings, then of Cliffe, near Rochester in Kent, labourer, paid the succession-duty on the property which he had inherited on his father's death in 1871. This element was described as a messuage divided into two tenements, and said to be in a bad state of repair. It was occupied (with the garden) by Henry Taylor and George Harding; the remainder of the land was occupied by Mrs H Hoadley, and the land to the NE was owned by Henry Nicholson (8)
On 31 August 1887 Billings sold the property, then occupied by Walter Wigmore, George Harding and Henry Taylor, to Alfred Rofe of Fermor Road in Rotherfield, florist, for £48. Rofe also paid off £75 of the mortgage, and covenanted to repay £150 at 5% to Isabella Jessie Armstrong, then of Nelson Villa, Nelson Road, Southsea in Hampshire, spinster (9-11)
On 29 October 1889 Rofe mortgaged the property for £200 at 5% to Frederick Allcorn of Crowborough, gentleman, with a further charge of £200 on 7 October 1890 (12, 13). The mortgage was paid off on 24 March 1891 ACC 364 10/4 f382
On 24 March 1891 Rofe sold the northernmost part of the property, consisting of a parcel of land (¼a) with messuage, to Jonathan Brown of Crowborough, labourer for £150 (15)
On 6 August 1912 Rofe, then a retired florist, mortgaged the property for £400 at 5% reducible to 4½% to Charles Swift Weston of Croft Road in Crowborough, fly proprietor. The site included glass-houses and buildings, and had the land of Samson Shewbridge NE and that of the trustees of Thomas Wickins S. The mortgage was redeemed on 7 June 1919 (15, 16)
In his will of 2 October 1911, Alfred Rofe appointed as his executors and trustees his sons-in-law Jesse Hoath of 178 Springfield Road in Brighton, retired nurseryman and Nelson Hoath of Summersales Farm in Withyham, farmer. Rofe died on 18 September 1921 and his will was proved on 14 October 1921 (17)
On 12 May 1922 Jesse Hoath and Nelson Hoath were admitted to the property and surrendered it to Jesse's wife Emma Amelia Hoath, Alfred Rofe's daughter (17)
On 4 April 1924 the tithe rent charge of £5 17s 8d was redeemed on the property, then described as Montrose Nursery (18)
On 14 September 1931 Mrs Hoath paid £34 11s 0d to Henry Gilbert Ralph Nevill Marquis of Abergavenny, as Lord of the Manor of Rotherfield to enfranchise the copyhold tenure of the property (19)
The property was conveyed by Emma Amelia Hoath of 178 Springfield Road in Brighton to her husband Jesse Hoath for £900 on 8 June 1938 (20)
In his will of 15 June 1954 Jesse Hoath appointed as executors his daughter Winifred Jessie Hoath and his friend Frederick Yull of Norwood, Eridge Road in Crowborough, carpenter. He died on 21 June 1955 and they proved the will on 28 September 1955 (21)
On 9 January 1956 the executors vested the property in the occupiers, Reginald Stanley Hoath, journeyman house painter and his wife Annie (22)
Reginald Stanley Hoath died on 16 June 1958 (23) and on 21 October 1958 his widow leased the nursery for 14 years from 25 March 1959 to Joseph Dennis Martin of Nevill Road in Crowborough, market gardener, at £125 a year (24)
On 8 December 1969 Annie Hoath sold a strip of land (0.037a) the eastern side of Queens Road to East Sussex County Council for £100 (22); for the conveyance see County Council deeds T8181
On 4 September 1970 Eric John Bennett of 'Anderida', Fielden Road in Crowborough and Stanley John Constable of Brookfield, Dodds Bottom in Nutley, builder, paid Mrs Hoath £200 for an option to purchase the Montrose Nursery for £50000, exercisable within 36 months from the date on which vacant possession was obtained from the present tenant or within five years of 4 September 1970, whichever was the sooner. The sum of £50000 was to remain outstanding and secured by a first mortgage at 15% and the principal to be repaid by the payment of £1725 on the sale of each house. A plan of the proposed housing development is attached to the deed (25)
A new option for a smaller area was granted to Bennett and Constable on 16 November 1973 and on 22 November 1973 Mrs Hoath sold the part of Montrose Nursery (1.48a) lying on the west side of Cemetery Road to East Sussex County Council (22); for the conveyance see County Council deeds T8981
On 26 September 1974 Mrs Hoath sold two parcels of land lying to the north and south of 'Montrose' (plan on 22) to Bennett and Constable Ltd of Mulberry Cottage, Queens Road in Crowborough £13,800 in exercise of the agreement of 16 November 1973 (26). By 1980 houses called Amberly, Kimberly, Shangri-la, Marigolds, Russets and Laureldene had been built on the land (31)
In her will Annie Hoath appointed Nelson Eric Stiller of Old Orchard, Whitehill Road in Crowborough, Eric Bennett of 'Dalama' Fielden Road in Crowborough and Ronald Charles Carman of 8 Culverden Avenue in Tunbridge Wells as her executors. She died on 17 April 1982 and her will was proved on 14 June 1982 (27)
'Montrose' was purchased by Gordon and Wendy Mary Burrows of 'Pippins', Tanners Way in Crowborough for £48,000 on 15 September 1982 (28-32)
Mr Burrows, a retired railway manager, died at 'Montrose' on 29 August 1999 and a copy of the register showing Mrs Burrows's title was obtained on 21 July 2000 (33, 34)


Archival history:
These documents were found by the depositor at Pound Hill House Mayfield, the former home of Miss Elizabeth Margaretta Bell-Irving. As well as being an active local historian and author of Mayfield, the Story of an Old Wealden Village, which was published in 1903, Miss Bell-Irving was closely related to the Stone and Barclay families (see pedigree), who practiced as solicitors in Mayfield throughout the 19th century
The documents fall into two main groups: those which relate to the estates and business of three families themselves, and those which Miss Bell-Irving acquired in the course of her antiquarian investigations
Not all the documents to which reference is made in Mayfield are present in the archive, and one (AMS6087) has been recovered through the antiquarian market

Source of acquisition: Documents deposited by D E B Besant esq, Mayfield, 11 February 1988 (A 5002)

Table of contents
Introduction with pedigree and maps
Stone family
AMS6086/1 Lease of house in Southover, 1814
AMS6086/2 Lease of turnpike tolls, 1823
Barclay family
AMS6086/3,4 Letterbooks of Donald Barclay, solicitor, 1833, 1838-1839
AMS6086/5 Lease of turnpike tolls, 1840
AMS6086/6-32 Deeds of Pound House Mayfield, purchased by Donald Barclay in 1831
AMS6086/33-35 Deeds of Longs Farm Mayfield, owned by Donald Barclay in 1843
AMS6086/36-47 Deeds of house and carpenter's shop west of Pound House, purchased by Donald Barclay in 1844
AMS6086/48-52 Deeds of Flatfield and Penfield in Mayfield, purchased by Donald Barclay in 1848
Bell-Irving family
AMS6086/53-59 Settlement and testamentary papers
Antiquarian collection of Miss E M Bell-Irving
AMS6086/60-68 Deeds of a farm at Broad Reed in Mayfield, 1629-1736
AMS6086/69-73 Documents relating to the Baker family of Mayfield, 1688-1818
AMS6086/74-77 Miscellaneous documents, 1593-1754

Stone Family  [no ref. or date]

Lease for 7 years from 25 Mar 1814 at £24  AMS6086/1  12 May 1814

Richard Owen Stone of Mayfield gent and wife Anna Maria to Ann Windus of Southover widow
House, brewhouse, outbuildings and garden in Southover (N: road; E: house and garden occupied by blank Swaysland; S: land called cut away; W: house occupied by John Davey), occupied by AW
W: C Whitehead, Henry Le Johnson (clerks to ROS); Maria Windus, Susan Fairall
The document has been trimmed and endorsed For size; for a recital of the sale of this property by the trustees of AMS's will, c1840, see AMS6086/53

Lease of tolls for 2 years from noon on 29 Sep 1823 at £43  AMS6086/2  26 Sep 1823

Richard Wetherell clerk, Richard Crawley clerk, John By esq, Thomas William Glanville esq, John Kirby clerk, Thomas Delves gent, Samuel Baker gent, Daniel Rowland esq and Robert Barlow Gardiner clerk (nine of the trustees of the Mayfield and Wadhurst Turnpike) to John Traiton Verrall of Mayfield blacksmith and his surety Thomas Foord of Mayfield labourer
The tolls of and the right to occupy the tollhouse at the Fletching Street Gate, Mayfield, auctioned at the house of John Collens at Wadhurst, 21 Aug 1823
Detailed covenants
W: William Owen Stone
The document is endorsed For size

Barclay family - practice  [no ref. or date]

Letterbook of Donald Barclay, solicitor  AMS6086/3  4 Sep 1833 - 3 Dec 1833

Indexed by client, 'number 13'

Letterbook of Donald Barclay, solicitor  AMS6086/4  5 Dec 1838 - 16 Apr 1839

Indexed by client

Counterpart Lease of tolls for 1 year from noon on 29 Sep 1840 at £974  AMS6086/5  26 Sep 1840

The trustees of the Mayfield and Wadhurst Turnpike (not named) to William Sinnott of Bowling Green Lane Clerkenwell Mx and his sureties Thomas Rooke of cut away Green Mx carman and William Webb the rest cut away
The tolls of the Tunbridge Wells Gate, the bars at Frant Bottom, Rumber Hill and the road leading to Halls Hole (£312), the Sleeches Cross Gates and tollhouse (£350) and the Wadhurst Upper and Lower Gates and tollhouses (£312), let to WS by private treaty at a meeting of the trustees at the Queens Head Inn, Wadhurst
Detailed covenants
W: Thomas E Palmer and James McMillin, 24 Bedford Row Holborn, Mx
Endorsed: Barclay
The document has been trimmed

Barclay family - title  [no ref. or date]

The deeds listed as AMS6086/6-52 derive from the accumulation by Donald Barclay of a small estate at the east end of Mayfield centred upon Sunnybank, built in 1831. The extent of each title may be seen from the map

Deeds of Pound House and cottage and of Sunnybank (built 1831) Mayfield purchased by Donald Barclay in 1831  [no ref. or date]

Related information: For a mortgage of the property by Edward Maplisden in 1658, see AMS6086/7

Counterpart lease for 11 years from 25 Mar 1676 at £12 10s  AMS6086/6  1 May 1676

Thomas Peryman of Maidstone gent and Ann Maplisden of Maidstone spinster to Thomas Martin of Mayfield carrier
1 House, malthouse, barn, stable, garden and land (5a) lately occupied by John Courtupp, in Mayfield
2 Little house and garden occupied by Nicholas Tyhurst, in Mayfield
Rent, of which £20 to be allowed for repairs, payable at the house of John Collett in Maidstone; detailed covenants including mention of glass and lead of windows
W: Thomas Collett, John Saunders

Assignment of mortgage  AMS6086/7  25 May 1678

Ambrose Rose of Chislet Kent gent and Edward Rose of Maidstone gent to John Martin of Penny bridge in Mayfield yeoman and Thomas Martin of Mayfield carrier
1 House, barn, malthouse, outhouses and orchards occupied (in 1658) by John Courthopp
2 A hopgarden and land used with 1 above, occupied by JC
Recites: mortgage of the above and other land by Edward Maplisden of Gravesend gent to Thomas Perryman of Maidstone gent and Edward Maplisden the younger of Maidstone gent by lease for 40 years or the life of EM the elder, 10 Oct 1658, assigned by TP and EM to AR in trust for ER, 20 Mar 1677; vesting of the reversion in ER by virtue of his marriage with his wife Ann Maplisden
W: John Bayly, Thomas Hooper, John Hooper

Conveyance (lease and release) for £240  AMS6086/8,9  27 & 28 May 1678

Edward Rose of Maidstone gent and wife Ann, (only daughter of Dinah wife of Edward Maplesden of Maidstone gent, the only daughter of Stephen Penkherst the younger of Mayfield gent) to Thomas Martin of Mayfield carrier
1 House lately occupied by Humphrey Thickbroome gent and others now TM, with the barns, buildings and land (2a), once Wright's
2 A little cottage lately built where John Stephens lately lived, now Nicholas Tyhurst, with a little backside all at the E part of Mayfield Town; N,E,S: road through the town and road under the town; W: Little's heirs
3 Land once a hopgarden (3a) once occupied by Sir Thomas Dyke and John Courthopp, now TM
S,SE: the road under the town
W: John Bayly, John Martin, Thomas Hooper, John Hooper

Covenant to levy fine  AMS6086/10  28 May 1678

Edward and Ann Rose as AMS6086/8,9, Nicholas Hilles of Rotherfield glover and wife Mary to TM in AMS6086/8,9 and William Holman of Rotherfield narrow weaver and wife Mary; TM and WH to hold in trust
1 House in Rotherfield Town occupied by Simon Hilles the elder with barns and buildings
2 Six small pieces of land (36a) called Coos Mead, Row Croft, The Mill Hole, Inhams and Millhope, occupied by NH, in Rotherfield
3 Piece of land called The Marlinges (5½a) occupied by NH in Rotherfield
4 Houses and land as AMS6086/8,9
5 House in Rotherfield Town lately rebuilt near Gausons Pond, occupied by WH; N; Rotherfield Church - Brown Gate Road, lately bought by WH and MH from NH and MH
1-3 to secure an annuity of £8 to Mary Hilles for life after her husband's death; 4 to TM and 5 to WH and MH for life with remainder to his heirs in tail
W: Richard Streatfield, John Crowhurst, Thomas Hooper, John Bayly, John Martin, John Hooper

Bond  AMS6086/11  28 May 1678

By ER to keep covenants in AMS6086/10

Quitclaim  AMS6086/12  1678

By Edward Maplisden of Gravesend gent see recital in AMS6086/7 to Thomas Martin as AMS6086/7 of houses and land as above; W: Michael Hemsley, Henry Legr...; 29 May 1678

Mortgage  AMS6086/13,14  1678

By Thomas Martin of Mayfield carrier to John Brett of Mayfield gent of houses and land as AMS6086/8,9 for £150 with receipt
W: James Fagge, George Hooper, Thomas Hooper; 10 June 1678

Paper addressed to Mr Thomas Hooper  AMS6086/15  1686

Containing a receipt from Elizabeth Brett to George Weekes by the order of Thomas Martin for £150 principal with promise to assign on payment of interest; 11 Mar 1686

Assignment of AMS6086/13 with bond  AMS6086/16,17  1686

Elizabeth Brett of Mayfield, widow and executrix of John Brett, and Thomas Martin of Bidborough in Kent carrier to George Weekes of Speldhurst in Kent yeoman; W: Thomas Porter, Thomas Hooper, John Allen; Ann Uridge, Mary Ellis, John Allen; 20 Mar 1686

Conveyance (covenant to levy a fine) and fine  AMS6086/18,19  29 Mar 1720

Related information: For the descent of the property from Henry Gallett to George Luck, see recital in AMS6086/23

Thomas Martin the elder of East Grinstead yeoman and wife Dorothy with their son Thomas Martin, James Fry of Rotherfield yeoman and wife Elizabeth, Henry Gallett of Mayfield mercer and Sarah Day, youngest daughter of Thomas Day of Mayfield yeoman
1 House called The Poundhouse occupied by Stephen Igglesden gent with barns, oasthouse, outhouses, buildings, land and foreland (2½a)
2 Little cottage occupied by Abraham Clifton with a little backside
3 Land once a hopgarden (3a now divided by a post and rail fence) occupied by Stephen Igglesden
4 House called Highland, barn, buildings and five (formerly four) pieces of land (12a) with land called Highfield otherwise the Argus Hillfields (10a) occupied by JF, in Rotherfield
1-3 to be held to the use of HG, 4 to the use of SD
W: William Dunmoll, Robert Taylor, Thomas Hooper, Edward Sawyer

'A Survey and Plan of The House and Land in Mayfield, belonging to Mr George Luck'  AMS6086/20  1806

Plan by Thomas Weller showing Pound House and land (6a 1r 16p) and indicating the site of the pound and of the turnpike gate in Fletching Street
Ink and colour on paper, 8¾" x 7¼" no scale; compass pointer

Contract to convey for valuation  AMS6086/21  1806-1807

George Luck of High Street, St Giles, Mx gent with Richard Owen Stone of Mayfield gent; Pound House formerly occupied by Mr John Wood now in several occupations, the cottage occupied by Edward Hammond as undertenant
W: Thomas Hollinshed, High Street St Giles; 18 Nov 1806; receipt for £300 part payment before completion attached, 10 Feb 1807

Letters of administration (PCC) of the estate of George Luck of St Giles Mx gent granted to his widow Mary Luck  AMS6086/22  27 June 1807

Conveyance (assignment of outstanding mortgage term) for £370  AMS6086/23  29 Sep 1807

Mary Luck of Grays Inn Lane widow and administratrix of George Luck, the brother and executor of John Luck of Wadhurst gent deceased, the grandson and legatee of John Wells Luck of Penshurst Kent then of Wadhurst gent deceased with Henry Playsted of Wadhurst gent (surviving executor of John Wells Luck) to Richard Owen Stone of Mayfield gent
House, cottages and land as AMS6086/21 occupied by John Paine, mortgaged to John Wells Luck by Henry Gallett, 6 Oct 1729
Recites: mortgage by lease for 1000 years for £120, Henry Gallett mercer to John Wells Luck, 6 Oct 1729; further charges of £80 and £60, 7 Oct 1730 and 7 Oct 1737; death of Henry Gallett, Mar 1747; will of John Wells Luck bequeathing the property (occupied by John Wood, the cottage by Reuben Ashby) to his wife Ann for life, remainder to his grandson George (eldest son of his son John Luck) for life, remainder to George's younger brother John Luck, 19 Sep 1767; death of John Wells Luck surviving his wife, Mar 1771; probate (PCC), 5 June 1771; death of Richard Dungate an executor, 1780; will of John Luck the grandson bequeathing his estate to his brother George Luck, 11 June 1804; death of John Luck, Jan 1805, probate of will in PCC; contract and receipt AMS6086/21 death of George Luck intestate, 30 May 1807 and grant of administration AMS6086/22 to Mary Luck, 27 June 1807; valuation of property at £670
W: Henry Playsted the younger, George Palmer, Mary Luck; Harriet Playsted, Gideon Wisdom

Conveyance (feoffment) for £750  AMS6086/24  25 Mar 1831

William Owen Stone of Mayfield gent to Donald Barclay of Mayfield gent
The Pound House (in four tenements) with two cottages built on its E; Pound Field (2a 11p) at the upper end of Mayfield Town; N: upper end of Mayfield Street and the Mayfield - Wadhurst turnpike; E: premises occupied by Thomas Dann and James Turner; S: Back Lane; W: Thomas Fenner's house, Thomas Foord's garden
W: William Olive, George Olive

Marriage Settlement (lease and release)  AMS6086/25,26  3 & 4 Aug 1831

Donald Barclay of Mayfield gent with Eleanor Stone of Mayfield spinster to John Fry of Skippers Hill in Mayfield gent and George Kinnear of London merchant in trust. DB to marry ES
As AMS6086/24 with the newly-built house, stable and outbuildings Sunnybank
W: William Olive
Endorsed: appointment of James George Langham of Uckfield gent and Hugh Donald Barclay of Regent Street Westminster, dealer in lamps, as trustees of the settlement in place of John Fry deceased and George Kinnear of Catherine Road Surbiton, there having been no issue of the marriage; W: Edward O Langham, Uckfield, Florence Barclay of Surbiton spinster, Janet Kinnear 14 Catherine Street; 29 June 1878

Land tax redemption papers  AMS6086/27-32  1841

Related information: For a lease of Sunnybank to George Bell Irving in 1888, see AMS6086/56

Including letters to Donald Barclay from John Lewis, Lewes (clerk to the commissioners) suggesting Mr Verral's son Albert Verral as agent, 12 May 1841, W H Keyne, Brighton (the receiving agent), 5 June 1841, with contract and certificate, 21 June 1841

Deeds of Longs Farm Mayfield owned by Donald Barclay in 1843  [no ref. or date]

It is not clear, in the absence of later deeds, when this property was acquired by Donald Barclay; it was owned by him when the Mayfield Tithe Apportionment (TD 133) was made in 1843

Enfranchisement for £51  AMS6086/33  20 Sep 1591

Related information: For the counterparts of this and many similar documents, see A 1244
For a settlement by Richard Cade of a barn and six pieces of land, nd, seen by Miss Bell-Irving, see her Mayfield, pp 52-53

Henry Nevill esq, Lord of Mayfield manor, to Richard Cade of Mayfield yeoman
1 House, two barns, garden, two orchards and land and wood (80a) of the virgate of Wadyshorne, occupied by RC N: lane under the town; E: John Penkherst; E,N: William Sawyer; S: John Langredge, John Burges, Robert Stephen; S,W: John Modell; W: John Penkherst's The Hamme; N: Thomas Marten, John Edwardes's orchard; E,N: RC's other land
2 All new assart land in RC's hands near the premises of the virgate of Wadyshorne and near the cottage and garden of RC's free land
3 Garden (2 dayworks) under the town; N: John Aynscombe's croft; E,S,W: road
All held by copy of court roll; to be held as a freehold, paying 7s 6d (7s 2d for 1, 3d for 2 and 1d for 3 above) in addition to the old rent, relief and twice-yearly suit. Warranty against dower of HN's wife Ann; grants common pasture and such customs as are anciently enjoyed with land in the forests in Mayfield and Wadhurst for the accustomed annual payment for pigs
W: John Aynscombe, Edward Luck, Abraham Edwardes, John Langrege, William Sawyer
Endorsed: No 1

Grant of annuity of £5  AMS6086/34  6 Oct 1623

Related information: For a mortgage by Richard Cade to Hugh Luck, 1623, a release by Mary Cade to Hugh Luck, 1626, and a conveyance by Richard Cade to Hugh Luck of the estate of his late grandfather Richard Cade, 1626, all seen by Miss Bell-Irving, see her Mayfield, pp 50-53; for a map of Longs Farm, the property of Mr Stephen Parker, by Anthony Everenden, 1640, also seen by Miss Bell-Irving, see AMS6087

Richard Cade of Marden Kent clothier to his mother Mary Cade of Mayfield widow
Stonefeild, Hitherhode & Versyns (20a) in Mayfield; E: Thomas Sawyer; S: watercourse; W: Barnefeild and Longfeild sold by RC to Hugh Lucke, land of Thomas Porter's; N: John Penckeherst's heirs
W: Thomas Houghton, Stephen Parker, Nathaniel Powell
Endorsed: No 4

Mortgage for £300 at 5%  AMS6086/35  20 July 1725

William Mate of Ewhurst sadler (one of the sons of George Mate of Wadhurst victualler deceased) to Thomas Hooper of Beckley clerk
Barn, garden, close, orchard, forestall and nine pieces of land (35a) called Loetherhood, Versins, Stonefeild, Barnfeild, Longfeild, Froghole, Marlpitt Field, Sandhole Field and Hopgarden Field occupied by James Long, under the town in Mayfield; S,W,N: heirs of Thomas Porter gent; N: Thomas Hooper; E: Edward Sawyer gent; S: late John Stevens purchased by George Mate from Richard Maynard and bequeathed to WM
Endorsed: receipt for principal and interest, 20 Jan 1727
W: Jane Odiarne, Stephen Odiarne

Deeds of a house and carpenter's shop in Mayfield, purchased by Donald Barclay in 1844  [no ref. or date]

Deeds  AMS6086/36-47  1721-1844

On 4 & 5 Apr 1721 Mary Drinker of Mayfield spinster and her sister Ann Drinker of Chipstead in Chevening spinster sold the property, which they had inherited from their father John Drinker, to Peter Baker of Mayfield clerk for £160. Peter Baker died intestate on 20 Jan 1730 and the property descended to his only son Michael Baker, who left it, as part of his residuary estate, to his uncle George Baker for life with remainder to Richard and Thomas Porter in trust for his godson Michael Baker; the will was proved in PCC on 17 Sep 1750. George Baker died at Mayfield in July 1759. By his will of 2 Mar 1771 Michael Baker the godson bequeathed the property, as part of his residuary estate, to his sisters Philadelphia Elsley and Ann Ruth Baker as tenants in common. The will was proved in PCC on 10 Apr 1771 and on 11 Dec 1773 the eastern part of the building, occupied by George Barton, with the liberty of using a well on land forming part of the residue, was conveyed to Thomas Fenner of Mayfield carpenter as part of a transaction in which other parts of Michael Baker's estate were sold to Thomas Richardson bricklayer and John Bridger yeoman
By his will of 23 Nov 1775, Thomas Fenner left the property, in which he lived, to his wife Sarah Fennner for life with remainder to his sons John and William Fenner and to Mary, Hannah, Martha and Philadelphia, the children of his wife Sarah. The will was proved at South Malling on 19 Dec 1776 and on 9 & 10 May 1777 John Fenner paid his brothers and sisters £62 10s each for their shares of the property, which he occupied; the house on the eastern boundary (for the deeds of which see AMS6086/6-32) was then the property of George Luck gent. The share of Martha Fenner, the wife of William Hutson, was conveyed by fine to bar her dower rights
By his will of 19 Oct 1820, John Fenner left his house, carpenter's shop, saw-house, yard and garden, which he occupied with William Rose, butcher, to his friend William Bryant of Mayfield tallow-chandler as trustee for sale; Fenner died in Feb 1821 and the will was proved at South Malling on 16 July 1821 (36)
On 26 & 27 Feb 1822 Bryant sold the carpenter's shop and a piece of land, upon which Fenner had built a house, to Thomas Fenner of Mayfield carpenter and his trustee John Paine of Mayfield cooper for £30; the property lay S of the street, N of John Bridger's garden, W of Richard Owen Stone's house Pound House, see AMS6086/6-32 and E of the rest of the property from which it was divided by a six-foot fence. The other part of the property was to be sold to William Rose of Mayfield butcher, who covenanted to produce the deeds abstracted by AMS6086/36 to Fenner. The same day, Fenner and Paine mortgaged the new house and carpenter's shop to Thomas Piper of Mayfield, plumber and glazier, for £140 (37-39)
A further £60 was charged by agreement on 21 Jan 1824 and on 29 Dec 1824 the mortgage was assigned to James Martin of Battle gent and a further charge of £50 added. On 27 Aug 1830 the mortgage was assigned to Jane Simmons of Tonbridge spinster, a further charge of £50 added and the property insured for the mortgagee's benefit with the Alliance, British & Foreign Fire Assurance Office (40-43)
Thomas Fenner died 21 Jan 1835 intestate and on 18 & 19 May 1837 his son Thomas Fenner of Mayfield carpenter, to prevent Miss Simmons from taking proceedings for foreclosure, conveyed the equity of redemption to William Jewhurst and William Gorham of Tonbridge gents in trust for sale; the house had been occupied by Thomas's widow Elizabeth but was then empty, Thomas Foard owned the garden to the S and William Rose, the owner of the property on the W, had died (44-46)
On 29 Mar 1844 Jewhurst and Gorham were joined by Fenner and Miss Simmonds in a conveyance of the house (W: Raymond Rose) to Donald Barclay of Mayfield gent and his trustees James Pringle Barclay of Wickham Market Suffolk gent and Hugh Barclay of Regent Street MX wax bleacher for £225 (47)

Deeds of Flat Field and Pen Field (with a cattle shed) in Mayfield, purchased by Donald Barclay in 1848  [no ref. or date]

Abstract of Thomas Hooper clerk's title to two lodges and two pieces of meadow called Hilly Field and Courthopes (5a 2r 5p) in Mayfield, drawn by Curteis Woollett & Dawes of Rye  AMS6086/48  Water-marked 1799

Related information: For a similar though not identical abstract of lot 1, sold to Michael Baker in 1799, see KIR 23/60

By his will of 15 Feb 1668 Thomas Houghton of Mayfield gent left the house in which he lived with a granary, barn, croft south across the lane and The Well Plot (½a where he laid wood), houses and gardens occupied by Thomas Heasman, Thomas Batchellor and widow Stephens, a barn and land (40a) bought from his cousin Jane Inwood and her son Henry and Crouch Mead (7a) to his wife for life, remainder to his sons-in-law Thomas Brewer of Gray's Inn and William Westbrooke of the Inner Temple esqs as trustees to raise £800 for TH's daughter Burrish and children, £200 for grandchild Mary Palmer and after these payments had been made in trust for his daughters Jane Brewer, Elizabeth Westbrooke and Judith wife of John Layfield of Chiddingfold, Surrey, clerk
In Trinity term 1670 the sisters, their husbands and their brother William Houghton conveyed by fine to Peregrine Palmer of Fairfield in Stogursey, Somerset esq and John Houghton of Chancery Lane gent preparatory to a partition of the estate by lots. The Mayfield portion (which also included the farm under the town (50a), the houses and gardens under the town occupied by Thomas Heasman, Thomas Batchellor and Widow Stephens, and land (56a) either side of the Mayfield - Five Ashes highway at Wellbrook lately occupied by TH and Robert Harris), fell to Thomas and Jane Brewer, upon whom it was settled on 1 July 1670
On 18 and 19 Oct 1683 John Brewer of West Peckham, Kent esq (eldest son of Thomas of West Farley, Kent esq and Jane Brewer deceased) conveyed part of the estate (a barn under the town with a cattle-stall, with land formerly called Upper Meadow and Orchard Meadow, then Hilly Field and Old Orchard otherwise Pettfield (5a), occupied by Frances Saxpes), to Thomas Hooper of Mayfield gent for £709 7s 6d. A fine was levied and a recovery suffered in which Robert Spiller of Burwash gent was vouchee
On 18 June 1692 Jane Brewer's sons, John Brewer of West Farley Kent esq and James Brewer of Reading MD released the premises to Thomas Hooper
The will of Thomas Hooper of Beckley clerk, son of Thomas Hooper (9 Mar 1742), bequeathing his estate to his wife Mary and son Odiarne, was proved in PCC on 9 Oct 1753; Odiarne's will of 24 Jun 1757 leaving the property to his eldest son Thomas Hooper was proved there on 27 Feb 1770
On 25 Dec 1778 Hooper, also of Beckley, clerk, mortgaged the property to John and Thomas Bexhill of Tenterden gents for £1,000; it formed part of a farm of 43a occupied by John Wood, which also included Well Mead otherwise Cardswell Field, Nether Mead, Cransden Field otherwise Misse Field, Ten Acres otherwise East Field, Long Field otherwise Less Long Field, Stumblett otherwise Ridded Field and Galletts otherwise Lower Field. A further charge of £100 was made to Thomas Bexhill (after John's death) on 25 Dec 1785 and on 15 Oct 1789 the mortgage was assigned and a further charge of £100 made to John Stanford of Lingfield, Surrey gent; this was assigned in shares to William Samson of Wittersham, Kent gent (£800) and Thomas Tress of Tenterden gent (£400) on 15 Oct 1794
Endorsed: Lot 2

Assignment of mortgage in trust to attend  AMS6086/49  10 Oct 1799

William Samson of Wittersham gent and Thomas Tress of Tenterden gent with Thomas Hooper of Beckley clerk to John Wood of Mayfield gent and John Paine of Mayfield timbermerchant his trustee
Recites sale by TH to JW for £360, and conveyance, 9 & 10 Oct 1799 of
A toft where a barn or part of a barn once stood, a stall and bullock lodge with the yards and two pieces of land, once called Hilly Field and The Old Orchard otherwise Pettfield, but now Hilly Field and Courthopes (5a 2r 5p). N,W: lane from under the town into the premises, into TH's other land and into Longs Farm; S,E: Longs Farm and George Luck's land
Part of an estate (described) mortgaged to John and Thomas Bexhill in 1778 and assigned to WS and TT in 1794 see AMS6086/48
Covenant to produce deeds abstracted in AMS6086/48
W: John Woollett, John Neve, Richard Owen Stone; Mary Samson, Wittersham, John Cooke the younger, clerk to Messrs Curteis, Woollett & Dawes; John Samson, Tenterden

Conveyance (lease and release) for £500  AMS6086/50,51  11 & 12 Dec 1806

Thomas Anthony George Rogers of Mayfield gent and William Gilbert of Mayfield mercer and draper his trustee to Thomas Thompson of Kingston upon Hull esq and John Beadnell of Grays Inn gent his trustee
Property as AMS6086/49 conveyed to TAGR by John Wood of Kentish Town gent, 30 & 31 Oct 1806
W: Richard Owen Stone, attorney, Mayfield, Thomas Fisher of Mayfield innholder
Endorsed: conveyance to Robert Smith, Lord Carrington of Upton Notts by TT, who bought on his behalf; 11 & 12 Mar 1808

Conveyance for £500  AMS6086/52  4 Nov 1848

Robert John Carrington Lord Carrington of Wycombe Abbey Bucks and trustees (named) to Donald Barclay of Mayfield gent and Henry King of Mayfield gent his trustee
Flatfield (2a 3r 15p) and Pen Field (2a 2r 26p) with the cattle shed on the latter
Recites will of John Lord Carrington, 22 July 1836 and his death, 18 Sep 1838

Bell-Irving family - settlement and testamentary papers  [no ref. or date]

Assignment  AMS6086/53  1824-1853

By George Fry late of Hastings surgeon now of 63 Champs Elysees Paris to George Bell Irving of Lamberhurst Sussex surgeon of shares in trust funds under the wills of their wives' grandparents Richard Owen Stone (PCC 19 Oct 1824) and Anna Maria Stone (PCC 31 July 1838) and their brother-in-law William Owen Stone (will 17 Dec 1838), and in the sum realized by the sale of a house in Southover, (for a lease of which see AMS6086/1 part of the estate of Anna Maria Stone, for £350, 30 Sep 1852
Endorsed: assignment as above of reversionary sums mortgaged by GF to Donald Barclay for £553, 15 Nov 1850; 3 Oct 1853

Copy account of the executors of Benjamin Tompsett to Miss Elizabeth Margaretta Bell Irving a legatee  AMS6086/54  1861-1869

Copy will of Eleanor (nee Stone)  AMS6086/55  3 Mar 1883

Wife of Donald Barclay of Mayfield esq, naming (inter alios) her great-nieces Elizabeth Margaretta and Anna Maria Bell Irving as legatees

Counterpart contract for a lease from year to year  AMS6086/56  1888

Of Sunnybank, Langs Farm (occupied by Jarvis Butcher) and Pettitts Cottage in Mayfield at £206 10s, subject to allowances for repairs in the first two years according to Mr Eldridge's estimate; Hugh Donald Barclay of 138 Regent Street Mx gent and Thomas George Langham of Eastbourne solicitor (executors of Donald Barclay) to George Bell Irving, 28 Feb 1888

Letter from Frank W Sprott of Sprott & Sons, Mayfield  AMS6086/57  20 Oct 1906

To Miss Anna Bell Irving, Sunnybank, formerly enclosing counsel's opinion concerning the estate of Mrs J A Cumming for which see AMS6086/58 and AMS6086/59

Account of Sprott & Sons to the executors of Mrs J A Cumming for probate  AMS6086/58  7 Mar - 2 Jun 1906

Account of Sprott & Sons as above for general costs  AMS6086/59  2 Jun - 31 Dec 1906

Bell-Irving family - antiquarian collection of Miss E M Bell-Irving  [no ref. or date]

Deeds of a farm at Broad Reed in Mayfield  [no ref.]  1629-1736

Sale of enclosed common for £7 6s 8d and release of common rights  AMS6086/60  14 Dec 1629

Anthony Fowle of Rotherfield esq to William Moone, son of John Moone the elder of Rotherfield yeoman
1 piece of wasteland (7a) in West Broad Rede otherwise Gilhope; W: Mayfield - Broad Rede road; N: wasteland (2½a) appointed to be sold to Thomas Reames; E: road out of Mayfield - Broad Rede road leading to Hadlow Down; S: rest of common
2 piece of wasteland (½a) in Middle Broad Reede; N,E: WM's house and close called Broadreede; S,W: lane from Sprattes Brook to Impingtons Lane
3 Piece of wasteland (2a) in Middle Broad Reede; N,E: lane from Sprattes Brook to Impington Lane W: Impington s Lane; S: Sprattes Brook - Buxted road
All in Mayfield, staked out to be enclosed from the common pertaining to the manor of Mayfield,, purchased by AF from Frances Maynard widow, to whom it was bequeathed by her husband William Maynard, to whom it was conveyed by his father Richard Maynard, to whom it was conveyed by Thomas Aynscombe gent, to whom it was conveyed by Henry Nevill esq, 14 Aug 1597 by virtue of a patent to him of 19 Aug 1589; to be held of Mayfield manor, rent 9½d, relief and suit of court, in lieu of the rights of common of WM, JM and John Maye of Mayfield husbandman; WM covenants to procure releases by them to AF, and to discharge rent
W: John Moone, John May, Edward Peirce, Edward Hylder

Conveyance (bargain and sale, feoffment, covenant to levy fine and fine) for £207  AMS6086/61-65  12-16 Apr 1630

John James of Litlington yeoman and wife Elizabeth with their son James James of Litlington and wife Alice, to John Moone the elder of Rotherfield yeoman and his son William Moone
1 two houses, two barns and three pieces of land and wood (11a) called Stodes, an orchard (1r) called Beldames Hawe, a garden and piece of land (1a) called The Purchase; W: late James Kerrye; N: road near Sprattes Brook; S, E: wasteland called Broadreed
2 piece of land (3½a) called Coggers; S: Sprattes Brook - Hadlow Down road; W: wasteland called Broadreed; NW: William Moone; E: Thomas Wickersham
3 piece of land (3a 1r) called Castlyns; W: Thomas Kenward; E: late John Woodman; S: wasteland called Broadreed; N: Thomas Wickersham
All in Mayfield, subject to a £4 annuity granted by John James to his daughter-in-law Elizabeth, wife of his son Nicholas James, from her husband's death for life
W: Thomas Houghton, John Baker, John Gaynsford
W to livery: Thomas Wickersham, John Moone the younger, John Gaynsforde

Pre-nuptial settlement (release)  AMS6086/66  15 Apr 1667

William Moone the elder of Mayfield yeoman to his son John Moone of Mayfield yeoman; JM to marry Lettice Balcombe of Little Horsted
1 Land at Broadreed Common, occupied by WM, where a house once stood, devised to WM by his uncle William Moone of Mayfield
2 Property 1-3 in AMS6086/61-65 (bounds of 3 now W: blank Pecombe yeoman; E: John Dap; N: Richard Stapley)
3 Croft (1a) with a house built upon it called The Half Acre. (E,S: WM late his father John Moone; W: Broadreed Common; N: Buxted - Pratts Brook road), purchased by WM of John Page
4 Common (3a at Gilhope, 2½a at Broadreed), purchased by WM from Anthony Fowle of Newick esq deceased
All in Mayfield, subject to an annuity of £9 granted by WM to Thomas Moone of Frant yeoman in trust for TM's son William Moone the younger of Mayfield miller, 12 Apr 1667, and an annuity of £12 granted by WM to Thomas Balcombe of Newhaven yeoman and Richard Stapley of Little Horsted yeoman in trust for Lettice Balcombe for life in lieu of dower, 13 Apr 1667 WM's wife Mary excluded from warranty
W: John Jarvis, John Richardson

Counterpart lease for 7 years from 25 Mar 1737 at £7  AMS6086/67  11 Nov 1736

William Moon of Lamberhurst Sussex yeoman to Jeremiah Bennett of Mayfield husbandman
House called Spratts Reed with a barn, buildings, land and hopgarden (14a) occupied by JB, in Mayfield
Detailed covenants including provision for hopgrowing and penalties for ploughing; JB not to leave the house uninhabited
W: John Moon, Thomas Hunt

Label relating to AMS6086/60-67  AMS6086/68  nd, c1880

Documents relating to the Baker family of Mayfield  [no ref.]  1688-1818

Related information: For the archive of the Baker family, see ESRO KIR

Assignment of underlease for £400  AMS6086/69  8 June 1688

Related information: Thomas Baker's will was proved in PCC on 22 May 1691; this is perhaps the leasehold house in Tunbridge Wells bequeathed by his brother Robert Baker to his son Richard in 1706: see KIR 28/65, 17/2

Thomas Cox of Rotherfield butcher to Thomas Baker of Mayfield gent
1 Heathground in Tonbridge, part of land called Inhams; N(7 rods): the new way; S(6 rods); E(10 rods): a new bowling green
2 Heathground, formerly wood (3a 2r 15p), part of Inhams
3 Right of way along a ditch and bank dividing the leased premises from the new road to be made on the N and W of the heath, across land leased to Henry Knight, into the wood occupied by Richard Constable and Henry Adams
4 New house built by TC on 1 and 2 above
All part of land leased by Margaret Villiers otherwise Danvers, Viscountess Purbeck and Thomas Meres kt, to Richard Constable of Groombridge in Speldhurst mercer, and by him leased to TC for 47 years 11 months at £3, 11 Mar 1687
W: Solomon Foster, Thomas Hooper, John Allen
Endorsed: '... the house at Tunbridge Wells ...'

Assignment in bankruptcy  AMS6086/70  5 July 1708

Francis Atterbury of Grays Inn Mx esq, Thomas Clendon gent and Thomas Jenkin gent (commissioners of bankruptcy, with William Nelson esq and Samuel Bickley gent, against Robert Baker of Birchden in Rotherfield, 8 May 1708) to John Constable of Etchingham gent, John Britton of Burwash gent, John Christmasse of Maresfield founder and Richard Page of Fletching gent
Personal estate of Robert Baker at Woolwich, Southwark and Tonbridge and at Birchden, the ironhouse, forge and Hamsell Furnace in Rotherfield, listed in a schedule and valued at £974 15s
In trust for John Christmasse and the other principal creditors
W: Thomas Nuthall of the Inner Temple, Edward Brown

Bibliography: The schedule was partially published by Miss Bell-Irving: see Mayfield, p 177

Assignment in bankruptcy  AMS6086/71  2 Sep 1708

Related information: For dealings in the estate up to its sale to Richard Baker, Robert Bicknell and George Hooper in 1711, see KIR 15/1,2

Thomas Grantham of Sunbury, Mx, kt, Ferdinando Penkherst of Buxted Place esq, John Hooker of West Peckham, Kent, gent and George Baker of London merchant (assignees of a superseded commission of bankruptcy awarded against Robert Baker, 7 Jun 1705) with the new commissioners (FA, TC and TJ in AMS6086/70 to the assignees of the new commission (JC, JB, JC and RP in AMS6086/70
1 House, barns and 7 pieces of land (60a) formerly called Heytons, then Birchden Place, occupied by RB, in Rotherfield and Withyham
2 Birchden Forge, Hamsell Furnace, houses, workhouses, ironhouses, vaults, barns, stables, stalls and watercourses occupied by RB, Francis Pullen and John Christmas; in Rotherfield and Withyham
3 New house near Birchden occupied by Henry Adams
4 Downwood, Pinstrawes Wood, Birchden Wood coppices, woodland against Thomas Maynard's land, Leauges Wood, Pocoks Wood, Sandswood, Poken Groves, Stockard Wood, Callis Wood, Kitchin Field coppice, Lower Wood coppice Upper Migrells, Holdenwood, Little Coppice, Key Wood, Tilehurst Row, Croft Coppices, Ridgewood or coppice, Waltham Wood, Claylands, Long Coppices, Fern Grove, Cage Coppices, Copyhold Coppice, Two Broad Reed coppices, Itchin Coppice, Itchin Wood, Rowebreame Coppice, Long Croft and Cheesmans (620a) occupied by RB in Rotherfield and Withyham
5 Copp Barn otherwise Cob Barn, forestall, land and water (64a) lately occupied by Thomas Maynard then RB, in Rotherfield
6 House, barn and land (10a) called Dennitts occupied by RB and John Cheesman, in Rotherfield and Withyham
7 Copyhold house occupied by Robert Bignall recte Bicknell gent in Sunbury, Mx
W: Alexander Whitfeld, Philip Constable, Benjamin Hodgson; Henry Weller, Walter Doble; John Jones, Thomas Worlidge

Conveyance (lease and release) for £160  AMS6086/72  28 & 29 Sep 1762

John Bloome of Bristol sugarbaker, Samuel Peach of Bristol linnendraper and Thomas Keene of Bristol grocer (assignees in bankruptcy of George Baker of St Austel, Cornwall, grocer), to Thomas Maynard of Mayfield gent
House and 4 pieces of land (18a) called Coxhall, occupied by David Pearson, in Lamberhurst
Recites commission of bankruptcy of GB awarded to Thomas Vernon esq, Rowles Scudamore esq, George Adderly gent, Robert Hale gent and Nathan Windy gent, 8 Dec 1761; creditors' meeting at Nags Head, Wine Street, Bristol, 2 Mar 1763; assignment of estate to JB, SP and TK, three of the creditors, 6 Apr 1763; sale at Mayfield at which no bids were received, 1 Sep 1762; subsequent contract for sale to TM
W: John Reeve, William Murry; Charles Porter

Grant of annuity of £72 for £468 (cancelled)  AMS6086/73  1818

Related information: For the settlement on Papillon's marriage to Isabella Baker in 1808 with resettlements and other papers to 1825, see KIR 24/1-10

Peter Francis Papillon of Spa House, Bermondsey, merchant and wife Isabella (nee Baker) to Thomas Bell of Adderbury, Oxfordshire, gent, 3 Feb 1812, with endorsed assignment to William Bircham of Great Marlborough Street gent, 13 July 1818

Miscellaneous documents  [no ref. or date]

EAST GRINSTEAD  [no ref. or date]

Arbitrators' award  AMS6086/74  10 July 1593

Award of William Gainsford esq, John Bulman gent, John Goodwyn and Edward Paine the younger, arbitrators between Thomas Crips, his son John Crips and Michael Humfrey, all of East Grinstead, and Thomas Plawe, William Ellis and Thomas Udall of East Grinstead, concerning
1 the title of a lane or way between the land of John Allyn of East Grinstead and the land of TC and TP
2 an assault and battery by MH on TU on the occasion of the felling of a tree on the soil of the lane, upon which TU has sued an action of trespass against MH, which has come to issue
3 other suits and discords between the parties
WG, JB, JG and EP award that TC and TP shall both continue to enjoy the easement of the lane, and that TC, JC and MH withdraw the pending indictment, the charges and fees for process at the queen's suit to be borne equally by all the parties; MH to pay TU 10s for the battery, and £2 10s for the costs of TU's suit, which TU is to withdraw, at The Chequer in East Grinstead

STEPNEY, MIDDLESEX  [no ref. or date]

Assignment of lease of a house and land near Cannon Street in Stepney (bounds)  AMS6086/75  10 Jan 1709

Sarah Page of London widow and her son-in-law Roger Kennet of London gent and wife Sarah to Bartholomew Wolfe, citizen and mason of London

IFIELD, BOLNEY, CUCKFIELD  [no ref. or date]

Exemplification of common recovery of two houses and land in Ifield, Bolney and Cuckfield  AMS6086/76  28 Nov 1754

John Coles v William Cranston; Richard Turner and wife Mary first vouchees, Edmund Wilson second vouchee

Note in hand as AMS6086/68 formerly attached to AMS6086/76  AMS6086/77  nd, c1880

Map of Longs Farm, Mayfield, by Anthony Everenden  AMS6087  1640

Archival history:
The map is endorsed in pencil No 9; for deeds of Longs Farm endorsed 1 and 4, see AMS6086/33, 34. These and other deeds were used by Miss Bell-Irving in Mayfield, the Story of an Old Wealden Village (1903) pp50-53; the map, including the inscription on the mount, was illustrated on p51. An enquiry of the vendor revealed that the map had been purchased among a group of books 'at a London Market'
The map formed lot 1 in a sale of books and manuscripts at Phillips, London, on 8 December 1988

Source of acquisition: Document purchased from K Fawkes esq, Hampstead, per Phillips, 8 December 1988 (A5250)

'A Survay and ground plot of Cartaine Landes lying and being in the Parish of Mayfield and Lying in to Cevrall tennementes neere unto the towne and being Parcell of the Possessions of Mr Stephen Parker.'
Shows a house, barn and about 40a of land and wood in ten fields south of Fletching Street in Mayfield; ink, colour and gold on parchment, 13" x 7¾" (irregular); title in plain frame supporting a scale of 16 chains: 1 inch, all surmounted by dividers; compass pointer
About a quarter of the parchment has been cut away from the upper right corner of the piece, possibly to remove the plot of the second of the two tenements described in the title
The map has been mounted on board, which is enscribed 'Plan of Long's Farm Mayfield dated 1640 - The fields bear the same names at the present day' c1900

Burwash Parish Notes  AMS6088  1875-1897

Source of acquisition: Photocopies of documents owned by A Hallett esq, Burwash, 24 Aug 1989 (ACC 5318), and document given by F W Wright, Heathfield, 2 Oct 1991 (ACC 5757)

Related information: For copies of the notes for 1887-1911 (with gaps), see ACC 6392

The magazine appeared monthly as a supplement to Home Words, which began publication in January 1871. An advertizement in its May issue stated that the publication was 'especially designed for localization'; a localized edition for Burwash began in June 1871 as Burwash Parish Notes, and from February 1878 the Notes include a separate section for Burwash Weald, which had been formed as a new ecclesiastical district in the December of the previous year
The Notes, which expand in both length and scope during the period for which these copies survive, contain a very detailed chronicle of parish life. Brief obituaries of parishioners, accounts of parish meetings, educational news, parish music, emigrations, circus visits, agricultural developments and the weather all feature prominently in the Notes
Until his death on 10 March 1888, the Burwash section of the Notes was written by the rector, John Coker Egerton, author of Sussex Folk and Sussex Ways; for his contemporary diaries, see AMS5637; for an extensive obituary, see the issue for April 1888, 14
The volumes from which these copies were made are all inscribed 'Mrs William Cramp' on the outside cover, possibly the Mrs Cramp of Daws Farm referred to in the issue for August 1875, AMS6088/1

Parish Notes  AMS6088/1  1875

Parish Notes  AMS6088/2  1876

Parish Notes  AMS6088/3  1877

Parish Notes  AMS6088/4  1878

Parish Notes  AMS6088/5  1879

Parish Notes  AMS6088/6  1880

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/7  1881

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/8  1882

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/9  1883

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/10  1884

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/11  1885

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/12  1886

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/13  1887

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/14  1888

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/15  1889

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/24

Parish Notes  AMS6088/16  1890

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Parish Notes  AMS6088/17  1891

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Parish Notes  AMS6088/18  1892

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Parish Notes  AMS6088/19  1893

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Parish Notes  AMS6088/20  1894

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Parish Notes  AMS6088/21  1895

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Parish Notes  AMS6088/22  1896

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Parish Notes  AMS6088/23  1897

Related information: For partial index, see AMS6088/25

Index  AMS6088/24  1880-1889

Related information: (AMS6088/6-15)

Partial index covering

Index  AMS6088/25  1890-1897

Related information: (AMS6088/16-23)

Partial index covering

Papers of Audrey Marian Collier as commandant, Wadhurst area Voluntary Aid Detachment  AMS6089  1924-1948

Source of acquisition: Documents given by Hastings Library, 30 August 1989 (A5321)

Administrative history:
Miss Collier, who lived at Windmill Cottage, Wadhurst, was born in London on 16 Oct 1898 and enrolled in VAD on 14 May 1925. She ceased VAD work on her move to Marlpit Gardens, Ticehurst, in about 1948 and died in about 1970

Card index of members enrolled between 1924 and 1945  AMS6089/1  1924-1948

Lists name, address, telephone number, date of birth, creed, qualifications and national registration number; the index is divided into sections for serving and resigned members; The cards are endorsed with the dates of examinations passed

Letters to Miss Collier from former members  AMS6089/2-5  Jun 1944 - Jan 1948

With British Red Cross Society Hygiene and Sanitation examination papers, nd, c1945

WADHURST  AMS6090  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Records given by K F Ascott 12 Sep 1989 (A5323)

Administrative history:
Mr Ascott was a Choirmaster and organist of Wadhurst from 1955 to 1975

Interviews conducted by K F Ascott with inhabitants of Wadhurst, covering their family history and that of the parish  AMS6090/1  [n.d.]

Written-up notes of interviews  AMS6090/1/1  1959

With Maurice Watts, Mr Mallion, Mrs Ansell, Mrs Gadd, Miss E Shepherd-Walwyn, Mr Mabbett, Mr Jones, Mr Bocking, Miss Watson and Henry Watts

Written-up notes of interviews  AMS6090/1/2  1959-1966

With Mabel Wallis, Charles Tompsett, Mrs Fisher-Barham, Noel Gallup, Pat Robinson, Horace Newington, Mrs Doggett, Mr and Mrs Bond, Mr Thunder

Written-up notes of interviews  AMS6090/1/3  1966

With Mrs Pilbeam, Mrs Bassett, Mr Willet, Mr Boyes

Newscuttings book with photographs and notes concerning the history of Wadhurst, the church and the choir  AMS6090/2  1963

Scrapbook  AMS6090/2/1  1963

Photograph album of the staff and pupils of the Chichester Diocesan Training College for Schoolmistresses, Brighton  AMS6091  1917-1920

Source of acquisition: Document given 18 Sep 1989 (ACC 5332)

Related information: For title deeds of 95 Ditchling Road, Hill Lodge and 30-31 Park Crescent, 1855-1937 see HOW 74/1; for plans of the site of the College, the basement, ground and first floors, roof and rafters, south, north, west and east elevations, and sections, 1853 see BGP 13/1; for annual reports of the Chichester Diocesan Association (including sections on the College), 1856 and 1872 see HOW 74/2 and for 1864-1865, 1868, 1870-1889 see PAR 277/7/2/3, 5, 8-12, 14-18; for annual reports of the College, 1918 and 1930 see HOW 74/2; for the memorandum and articles of incorporation of the College, 1930 see HOW 74/3
For a file on the proposed acquisition of The Rookery, London Road as a hostel for the female students at the College, 1906-1911 see C/C 82/27; for minutes of the Joint Committee of Management of the hostel, 1907-1932 see EMA 27/1

Administrative history:
The site of the Chichester Diocesan Training College for Schoolmistresses, 95 Ditchling Road, Preston was purchased for £1050 on 18 October 1855 from the devisees in trust of the late William Stanford, esq (Avery Roberts of Hurstpierpoint, MD, William Tanner of Patcham, esq and Edward Stanford of Slaugham, esq) by Ashurst Turner, bishop of Chichester (HOW 74/1). However, plans for the College had been completed in July 1853 by W C and E Habershorn of 38 Bloomsbury Square, London, architects (BGP 13/1)
The purpose of the institution was to train efficient schoolmistresses, more especially for the parochial schools within the diocese of Chichester. Students were admitted between the ages of 15 and 22, and the training took at least two years to complete. The subjects studied consisted of Holy Scripture, the history of the Church, English grammar and reading, history, drawing, geography, writing, arithmetic, natural philosophy, church music and singing, the theory and practice of teaching and domestic economy. A large Girls' Practising and Infants' School formed part of the institution (HOW 74/2)
Within 50 years the College had outgrown the site on Ditchling Road and had recourse to a variety of additional accommodation. Hill Lodge (formerly Rose Hill Villa), 48 (formerly 8) Ditchling Road was leased as a residence for students and teachers from 1903, 30-31 Park Crescent were leased as annexes from 1910 and Sylvan Hall, Upper Lewes Road was leased as additional teaching rooms and student accommodation from 1916
The College was incorporated on 13 January 1930 (HOW 74/3)
From c1907 the East Sussex County Council jointly ran a hostel in London Road for students who attended the College on a daily basis

Album of photographs  AMS6091/1  1917-1920

Taken by Miss N W Collins (the mother of the donor) while a pupil at the Chichester Diocesan Training College for Schoolmistresses
The album contains pictures of members of staff, pupils, their sporting and social activities, the front of 30-31 Park Crescent, the bridge at Bramber and the entrance to Hampton Court Palace; 1917-1920

Barcombe  AMS6092  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by Surrey Local Studies Library 18 September 1989 (A5335)

Copy of photograph of Barcombe Mills showing ? school visit  [no ref.]  nd ? 1930s

Related information: The mill was owned by the Rickman family from c 1784 until it was sold by Russell Gray in 1849. For the deeds of Mill Farm 1831-1951, including the oil and flour mill, see HIL/6/36/1-25. For a map of the estate in 1784 see SAS/Figg 276 and for a map showing the Mill in 1767 see GBN9/8. For trading accounts of the Rickman family see AMS6041 and A 5301

EAST HOATHLY  AMS6093  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Photocopies of documents given by Miss J M Biggs 18 September 1989 (A5337)

Papers of Thomas Turner of East Hoathly  [no ref. or date]

Copies information: The originals of the papers were acquired with Turner's diaries by Yale University
For a microfilm of the diaries, see XA41

Related information: For transcript of diaries see AMS6532

Form of answers by the Overseers &c in England  AMS6093/1  27 May 1811

... To the questions contained in the schedule to an Act 51 Geo 3rd entitled 'An Act for taking an Account of the Population of Great Britain', giving total number of houses, families and employment in East Hoathly

Draft census return for East Hoathly  AMS6093/2  28 May 1821

Supplementary information: See Transcripts for the 1811 + 1821 Census returns held in Searchroom

With total number of inhabitants for the parish in 1801, 1811 and 1821

Bills and vouchers of the churchwardens, overseers and headborough  AMS6093/3-4  1629-1693

Disbursements of the overseer  AMS6093/5  1710-1711

Account of Robert Burfield as churchwarden  AMS6093/6  1722

Transcript of AMS6092/4  AMS6093/7  [n.d.]


Source of acquisition: Document given by Gwynedd Record Office 22 Sep 1989 (A5343)

Illustrated guide and souvenir of Pevensey - The Mint House, Castle and Town written and published by A J Jinks

SUSSEX  AMS6095  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by N Housego, 16 Oct 1989 (A5351)

250 years of map making in the County of Sussex 1575-1825
Edited by Harry Margary with introductory notes by R A Shelton 1970
The publication consists of 28 loose sheets; sheets 1-2 which consist of the notes by Shelton are missing (as is sheet 3). Sheets 3-28 consist of reproductions of maps. For a complete copy see AMS6008/1/1/29

BRIGHTON  AMS6096  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Document given by Mrs M Jordan, 16 Oct 1989 (A5352)

Photograph showing the Brighton Tigers ice-hockey team, 1937-1938 re-printed from Ice Hockey World and Skating Review

BUXTED Tithe Map  AMS6097  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given by G A Osborn, 18 Oct 1989 (A5353)

'Plan of the Parish of Buxted... reduced from the survey of John Hawkhurst 1840'  AMS6097/1  nd, 1840

Reduced and drawn by James Wyld, 457 Strand, London
80 chains: 1 mile, 25" x 40
Annotated to show the boundaries of the parishes of Hadlow Down and High Hurstwood

'Plan of a freehold estate known as 'The Rocks' Farm... in... Buxted... for sale by Mr George Langridge, Auctioneer and Land Agent, Tunbridge Wells, Kent'  AMS6097/2  1877

31/8": 10 chains, 37½" x 27"
In 1878 The Rocks was farmed by Harry Hassell

BRIGHTON  AMS6098  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Photocopies purchased from Bow Windows Bookshop Oct 1989 (A5357)

Insurance Plan of Brighton by Charles E Goad, Civil Engineer, 53 New Broad Street, London, Toronto and Montreal Canada  [no ref.]  Jun 1898

The key plan gives details about the water supply, wells and headings, and the fire brigade. There are also indexes to streets special buildings (churches, schools etc.) and businesses
The plans give details about the function of the buildings, not just in general terms (shop or domestic) but also specialised functions such as draper and public house. In some cases the functions on each floor of a building are given
Plans AMS6098/2-10 are described by the streets bounding north - south, and east - west on the sheets
The key plan is at a scale of 1in: 400ft and sheets 2-10 at 1in:40ft. All the sheets measure 21" x 25"

Key plan  AMS6098/1  1898

Grenville Place - Kings Road  AMS6098/2  1898

West Street - Cannon Place

Duke Street - Kings Road  AMS6098/3  1898

Ship Street - West Street

North Street - Kings Road  AMS6098/4  1898

East Street - Ship Street

Pavilion Parade - Grand Junction Road  AMS6098/5  1898

Old Steine - East Street

Upper North Street - Western Road  AMS6098/6  1898

Upper Russell Street - Little Preston Street

Church Street - Duke Street  AMS6098/7  1898

King Street - Queens Road

Church Street - North Street  AMS6098/8  1898

New Road - King Street

Church Street - North Street  AMS6098/9  1898

Grand Parade - New Road

Gloucester Road - Church Street  AMS6098/10  1898

Broad Street - Queens Road and Inset Edward Street - Marine Parade; Madeira Place - Steine Street

SUSSEX  AMS6099  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Photocopy of a document purchased from D Calvert 30 Oct 1989 (A5361)

Photocopy of Ordnance Survey 1 inch sheet 134  [no ref. or date]

Overprinted with the Cassini grid for use by the Civil Defence authorities and police during WWII nd pre 1938
The sheet, which covers an area from Eastbourne to Portslade (E-W) and Uckfield to Beachy Head (N-S), is from the fifth edition of the 1 inch sheets which were published for Sussex from 1931 to 1938. War revisions were produced 1939-1945 along the same sheet lines and were derived from the fifth edition sheets
The National Grid was not fully introduced for Ordnance Survey maps until 1946 following the recommendations of the Davidson Committee

Deeds of a house, smith's shop and forge at Vinehall in Mountfield  AMS6100  1703-1730

Source of acquisition: Documents purchased from R Brewer, Norwich, 26 October 1989 (A5359)

Related information: For the court book of the manor of Ferne, 1610-1860, see SAS/AN 502

The property seems to have been a freehold tenement of the manor of Ferne called Holmanden, paying a quitrent of 4d. By 1843, when the manor was partitioned, the tenant was the married daughter of George Godden (ASH 298), whose ownership, according to the tithe apportionment of 1839 (TD47), extended to both sides of the road

Conveyance for £62 3s  AMS6100/1  12 Aug 1703

Matthew Howard of Bramley, Surrey, gent to Walter Selmes of Robertsbridge in Salehurst innholder
Messuage, kitchen, barn, garden and orchard occupied by John Turpin, at Vinehall; N: garden now or late Robert Whate, land called Buckettes now or late Robert Bennett; E,S: Vinehall - Cowland lane; S,W: Robertsbridge - Sedlescombe road
W: Thomas Benden, John Turpine, Samuel Durrant

Conveyance for £57 17s  AMS6100/2,3  16 and 17 Jan 1710

Walter Selmes of Salehurst innholder to Edward Smith of Mountfield blacksmith
Property as AMS6100/1, occupied by John Brightis
W: Thomas Smallfeild, David Foster, James Watson

Pre-nuptial settlement for £40  AMS6100/4  7 and 8 May 1710

Edward Smith of Vinehall in Mountfield yeoman to William Ashburnham of Guestling bt and Robert Bradshaw of Guestling clerk in trust
ES to marry Sarah Allen of Guestling spinster
Property as AMS6100/1 occupied by ES
W: Ann Ashburnham, Nicholas Pelham, Henry Carleton

Release for £10  AMS6100/5  30 Sep 1721

Edward Smith of Vinehall in Mountfield blacksmith to Francis Allen of Alrewas, Staffs, tailor, eldest surviving brother and heir of ES's wife Sarah Allen deceased
Property as AMS6100/1 with a smith's shop and forge, all occupied by ES
W: John Collier, Thomas Godley

Conveyance for £21  AMS6100/6,7  12 and 13 Oct 1721

Francis Allen as AMS6100/5 to Edward Smith as AMS6100/5
Property as AMS6100/5
W: John Collier, Thomas Godley

Conveyance  AMS6100/8  9 and 10 Jan 1723

Edward Smith of Vinehall in Mountfield blacksmith to George Worge of Vinehall in Mountfield innholder and wife Dorothy
Property as AMS6100/5 occupied by ES
W: John Godwin, William Brewer, Samuel Brewer

Probate (Lewes) of the will (28 July 1728) of George Worge of Mountfield innholder  AMS6100/9  5 Jan 1730

Pecuniary and chattel bequests to brother Thomas Worge of Battle innholder and sister Hannah wife of Thomas Lynn of Battle gent
Wife Dorothy executrix and residuary legatee
W: Denney Dunk, Edward Longford, William What

The contents of this catalogue are the copyright of East Sussex Record Office
Rights in the Access to Archives database are the property of the Crown, © 2001-2014

The records described on this page are held by East Sussex Record Office