Access to Archives

Part of the UK archives network

Additional Manuscripts, Catalogue DD

The entire contents of this catalogue are shown below. Browse the hierarchical structure instead

Reference AMSDD
Covering dates 1622-1999
Held by East Sussex Record Office
Extent 27 Accessions
Conditions of access Open to consultation, unless otherwise stated
Creators East Sussex Record Office, Lewes

Since it opened, East Sussex Record Office has maintained a collection of 'Additional Manuscripts' for accessions which are not assigned, or are not accrued to existing collections which have, a distinctive alphabetic reference based on the collection's title. The Additional Manuscripts collection is now known as AMS
Some of these accessions added to AMS have been returned to A2A as free-standing catalogues. The residue are being returned as a series of catalogues, each covering a range of AMS numbers. The summary list below covers all the accessions within that range, with notes against those which are the subject of separate catalogues or which have been transferred to other collections or other repositories. The main body of the catalogue notes only the reference and the fact of the separate catalogue or the transfer
Summary of contents
AMS6521 Lewes railway photographs, 1930s; papers concerning Dudeney's School, Lewes, 1837-1981
AMS6522 Order-book of an Eastbourne printer [?V T Sumfield], 1894-1898
AMS6523 Map of Sackville Pope's manor of Little Horsted and Horsted Pond Farm by John de Ward; shows a bowling green; 1622
AMS6524 Copy weekly letters of Robert Saunders, headmaster of Fletching School, to his son in Canada; Maresfield Camp, Zeppelin raids, women, propaganda; 1914-1918
AMS6525 Maps of Giles Watts's Witheris (modern Ponts Farm) in Burwash by John Stonestreet, 1726; Lord Abergavenny's Whalesbeech in East Grinstead (leased to Henry Compton) [by Edward Gier and Clement Stoakes], c1650; Thomas Crisford's Little Nortons and Neatenden in Westfield by Thomas Colbran, 1785; John Crisford's Late Friends in Westfield by William Catt, 1798
AMS6526 Beechings in Etchingham (Alchorne-Roberts, before 1669) and Beechings in Salehurst (Ockley-Greenstreet-Frencham-Roberts); both properties (Roberts-Constable); 1710
AMS6527 Map of John Luck's Tanyard and Theobalds Farm in Waldron and Heathfield by William Taylor, 1742
AMS6528 Thurston Brothers Ltd, butchers, 188 High Street, Uckfield, 1850-1999
Separately catalogued for A2A
AMS6529 Correspondence files of Bennett & Sayer of Derby, claywoking equipment manufacturers, with Hastings CB (Great Sanders Water Scheme, 1929), Deanland Wood estate Hellingly, 1931, Benjamin Ware & Sons of Uckfield (press for proof roof-tiles, 1934), Burtenshaw & Green, Hailsham (clay-crushing machine, 1936) and Sussex Tileries, Horam (pugmill, 1943-1944); brickmaking
AMS6530 Sharps Reed Farm Mayfield (Relfe-Peckham-Sands-Moon-Sprott-Smith; Hays), brickworks; [1648]-1884; property in Mayfield late Thomas Houghton (barn under the town and land), Brewer-Hooper, 1683
AMS6531 Appointment of William Dallet as surveyor of customs, Rye, 1647, with printed parliamentary papers (petition concerning the Five Members case 1642 and ordinance concerning a duty for redeeming captives, 1647)
AMS6532 Transcript of diaries of Thomas Turner of East Hoathly, 1754-1765
AMS6533 Apprenticeship, Paine of Hastings to Thunder and Wood of Brighton, carpenters; 1777
AMS6534 Petition of George Barnsley to Heneage Finch, lord keeper, for the rectory of Sedlescombe on the recommendation of John Sharpe, 1674
AMS6535 Deeds and documents of the Horsted Place estate, Little Horsted: 1 deeds, Horsted Place (Law-Barchard, 1849); Hunningtons Farm (Barry-Barchard, [1831]-1850); advowson of Little Horsted, Hensmans Croft and Worms Croft (Hubbard-Simpson-Barchard), [1829]-1851; Barretts Churchland marshland at Horsey in Pevensey (Hicks schoolmaster-Barchard), [1732]-1853; Framfield manor copyhold at Ridgewood in Uckfield (Barton-Kenward-Donovan, Relf-Donovan, Kenward-Barchard), [1834]-1859; manor of Worth, Home Place and land in Little Horsted (Smyth-Vincent-Lane-Barchard), [1737]-1866, with release of seignory by Sheffield manor, 1866; whole estate and schedule of deeds, 1895-1950; 2 tenancy agreements, wayleaves and insurance, 1935-1965; 3 abstracts of title and sales off, 1920-1975
AMS6536 Deeds of property in Ferry Road and Tillingham Avenue, Rye; 1756-1961
AMS6537 Counterpart lease of Knights Hall, Hartfield (Sackville-Pope), 1680
AMS6538 Sussex Daily News, 1907-1911, 1913-1956
Separately catalogued for A2A
AMS6539 Prospectus for Eastbourne College, c1937
AMS6540 The Regency Town House, Brunswick Square, Hove, reports and publications, 1997-1999
AMS6541 Copies of documents relating to Winchelsea and the manor of Iham in the Petworth House Archives, [1486]-1771
AMS6542 Documents relating to Robert George, White Eastbourne Poor Law Union relieving officer (1869/70-1939), Stephen Fergus Champ (1907-1984) and his wife Marion White (1908-1976); Eastbourne School of Art; New Zealand; Eric Ravilious; Camois Court Barcombe
AMS6543 Records of the Brighton and Sussex Mutual Provident Society, 1846-1924
AMS6544 The Downs Ladies School, Sutton Road, Seaford; nd, 1920s
Separately catalogued for A2A
AMS6545 Houses on the north side of Blucher Place, Brighton (Hunt-Still-Shrivell-Saunders), [1817]-1846
AMS6546 Copy (from XA 69) manor of Framfield court book, with modem index, 1665-1675
AMS6547 Copy documents relating to Bodiam Mill: will of Robert Cryer of Sandhurst, 1488; will of Vincent Finch of Sandhurst and Battle (manor of Whatlington, tenement of Wood Place and lands, tenements and mills in Battle, Sedlescombe, Mountfield and Whatlington; lands and tenements at Pluckley in Kent; manor of Lewens in Hailsham; field at Sandhurst bought of Patynden; lands and tenements in Ewhurst and in the borough of Battle, and in Wittersham, Stone and Lydd in Kent; profits of Cukkowfeld in Sandhurst), 1524; quitclaim of Hills and Pedills in Halden Park in Kent (Fowle-crown), 1546
AMS6548 Photocopies of documents relating to the Carr family of Pricketts Hatch Farm in Fletching and Maresfield; [1743]-1970
AMS6549 Garages (formerly a blacksmith's shop) at Westgate Street, Lewes (waste-Neal-Reeves-Belton-Geall-Philcox), 1818-1967
AMS6550 Letter from George Chisman, Iden, to his landlord Ralph Freake, esq, at Sir Thomas Culpepper's place at Hollingbourne in Kent; his tenancy of Barons Grange, Iden; mentions former tenant, the widow of [William] Borden, with extensive comment on the state of the building; 2 Oct 1649

Lewes railway photographs; papers concerning Dudeney's School, Lewes  AMS6521  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents donated 7 Apr 1999 (ACC 7869)

Lewes railway photographs  AMS6521/1  [n.d.]

The photographs belonged to the donor's father-in-law, W J Parsons, of 20 St John Street, Lewes, who was foreman at Lewes Station

Carrier van with passenger on Herstmonceux, Hailsham and Hellingly route parked outside Lewes railway station  AMS6521/1/1  n.d. c.1930

Shows man in foreground holding dead rabbits, and a railway employee, possibly loading up; nd, c1930
Directories list two carriers which ran similar services around the time of the photograph: H Isted ran daily services to Herstmonceux and Horsebridge from the Dorset Arms, Lewes, and to Hellingly and Hailsham from the station (1927); H Ellis ran daily services to Hellingly and Hailsam, and Horsebridge, daily from 23 Station Street, Lewes (1938)

Southern Railway steam train (1907)  AMS6521/1/2  nd, c1930

Outside Lewes with chalk pits in background, travelling in the direction of Beddingham (O J Morris, London SE19)

Lewes Station from the east  AMS6521/1/3  nd, 1930s

With railway tracks in foreground

Postcard  AMS6521/1/4  nd, c1935

Showing goods and passenger carriages leaving the east side of Lewes station, with chalk pits in the background; railway employees working on the platform

Mounted photograph of special electric train arriving at the platform of Lewes Station (east side)  AMS6521/1/5  4 Jul 1935

With railway employees (EJ Bedford, Lewes)

Mounted photograph of Southern Railway train (2232), Lewes  AMS6521/1/6  [n.d.]

With railway employee filling the water (E J Bedford, Lewes) nd, Jul 1935
This photograph, and AMS6521/7-8, were possibly taken to commemorate the last time that the trains ran on the line prior to electrification

Mounted photograph of 2.25pm Eastbourne to Victoria steam train (2331)  AMS6521/1/7  6 Jul 1935

Approaching Lewes Station (E J Bedford, Lewes)

Mounted photograph of 1.28pm Victoria to Eastbourne steam train (2332)  AMS6521/1/8  6 Jul 1935

Leaving Lewes Station (E J Bedford, Lewes)

Group of children at Cooksbridge School  AMS6521/1/9  nd, c1920

Papers concerning Dudeney's School, Lewes  AMS6521/2  [n.d.]

Related information: For other exercise books used at Dudeney's School see ACC 4230 (Henry Brassfield's exercise books, 1864-1865); see ACC 5767/3/3 (F Prodger's exercise book, 1859-1866); see ACC 5767/5/1 (Thomas William Pickard's exercise book, 1875). For material relating to John Dudeney, including his diary and manuscripts of articles written by him, see ACC 3785; for other exercise books and copy books, see ACC 3786 (George Edward Duffield) and ACC 3787 (George Carey)

Administrative history:
John Dudeney (1782-1852), was a self-taught former shepherd who worked for W E Baxter, the printer and publisher, before starting a school at Lewes in 1804. The school was probably based at Holly Cottage, St John Street, Lewes, at the time that the copybook listed in AMS6521/2/1 was produced, but later moved to Milton House, Abinger Place, Lewes
James Simmons, the owner of the copybook, was the great-grandfather of the donor

Copybook of J[ames] Simmons  AMS6521/2/1  1837

Aged 12 years; demonstrates copperplate and display hands

Birth certificate of Thomas  AMS6521/2/2  13 Aug 1856

Son of James Simmons, brewer's labourer, and Charlotte Simmons (née Anscombe), The Race, Southover

Three newscuttings  AMS6521/2/3  nd, [1981]

Of letters concerning other Dudeney's School copybooks which belonged to David Wood and George Carey, Turnpike Farm, Ringmer [Sussex Express]

Letter  AMS6521/2/4  Oct 1981

From Audrey M Coombes, Downham, Broyle Lane, Ringer, to Griffith Baldwin, Cosy-Dene, Cooksbridge, Lewes, concerning the correspondence listed in AMS6521/3

Printers' order book, Eastbourne  AMS6522  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Volume donated 28 Apr 1999 (ACC 7913)

Attempts to identify the firm which produced the order book have proved inconclusive. It was probably produced by V T Sumfield, Station Street, Eastbourne, who did work for the churches of St John's, Meads, and Holy Trinity, both of which appear in the order book. The Eastbourne Pier Company was a large customer of the printers, and the minute books include references to payments to V T Sumfield for advertising. The amounts paid do not correspond exactly, however. The Eastbourne Pier Company placed large orders of printing with J H Maggs & Co Ltd, 53e Terminus Road, Eastbourne, but the firm appears in the order book, and it is therefore unlikely to have belonged to them

Book  AMS6522/1  Oct 1894 - Mar 1898

Map of Sackville Pope's manor of Little Horsted by John de Ward  AMS6523  1622

Source of acquisition: Document presented 4 June 1999 (ACC 7914)

Related information: For John De Ward, buried at Eastbourne in 1625, and Thomas Clay of Reigate, see Sarah Bendall (ed), Dictionary of Land Surveyors and Local Map-Makers of Great Britain and Ireland, 1530-1850 (1997). For other maps by De Ward, see ACC 2187, SRA 6/13/1, 2 (1620), SAS/C34 (1622), ACC 363/13 and AMS4811 (1623)
For the deeds of the manor of Little Horsted, 1724-1849, and the deeds of Horsted Pond Farm, [1733]-1865, see ACC 7886/2/4/1-13, 2/12/1-27. It is clear from the deeds that Horsted Pond Farm was sold away from the demesne of the manor by Richard Hay in about 1700; they were no longer part of the estate when it was mapped in 1714 (AMS743)

'AN EXACT AND perfect Survey of the Mannor of Little Horsted in the Countye of Sussex being parcell of the possessions of Mr Sackvill Pope Esq'
Estate map showing a mansion and barn at the present Horsted Pond farm with a group of thatched barns on the site of the present Horsted Place. Shows buildings, woods, roads and footpaths with their directions, names of neighbouring owners; field names and acreages written on fields
Cartographer: John de Ward, Feb 1622
Shows Little Horsted church, parsonage and glebe-land, house with an inn-sign opposite the church, Horsted Bowling Green
Ink and colour on parchment, 35¼" x 26"; the whole map in a red and yellow border, extended to enclose the title; compass circle with radiating lines extending over the whole map; scale of 12 perches: one inch
Sum of acres at the foot of the map, annotated (with the monograph ER) to show the acquisition of Harris's Land and Pit Field (21a 3r 38p), which have been plotted onto the map retrospectively, the latter over the name of its former owner
The receiver-general of the estate of Richard Earl of Dorset reimbursed Robert Wood of Uckfield for sums paid for the keep of Thomas Clay, John de Ward and Walter Coniston, and for two men helping them in a survey of the manor of Uckfield; the warrants for payment were dated November 1619 (ADA 45 p132). The lands of the manor of Framfield march with the eastern boundary of this estate and it seems likely that the survey-work for this map was undertaken at the same time

Copies of weekly letters of Robert Saunders, headmaster of Fletching School, to his son in Canada  AMS6524  1914-1918

Source of acquisition: Copies purchased 10 October 1998 (ACC 7751)

Copies information: The originals of these documents are deposited at the Imperial War Museum, reference 79/15/1). They were written by Robert Saunders to his son William John Saunders (1880-1971), an accountant, who had emigrated to Winnipeg in 1914. The letters are typescript, and it is assumed that they were copied by William Saunders on receipt

Related information: For Robert Saunders' logbooks as headmaster of Fletching School, 1890-1919, see ESC 71/1-4
For a copy of the report of the retirement of Robert and Elsie Saunders from the Sussex Express, 4 April 1919, see AMS6524/6

Administrative history:
Robert Saunders was born on 19 December 1854, son of William Saunders of Croydon and Harriet Cornfield. He married Elsie Francis, daughter of John Francis of New Road, Chatteris in Cambridgeshire, on 6 August 1878. Both Saunders and his wife were teachers, and served as headmaster of Fletching School from 1890 to 1919; they lived at St Mary's House in Fletching village. They retired on 1 April 1919, moved to St Leonards and subsequently settled in Sutton, Surrey. He died on 14 January 1941 and is buried at Sutton
Apart from the recipient of the letters, most of Robert and Elsie Saunders' thirteen children were involved in different aspects of the Great War. His sons Walter Henry, Arthur Robert and Ronald Frank served respectively with the Middlesex Regiment in India and Mesopotamia, with the Royal Navy and with the East Surrey Regiment, subsequently flying airships with the Royal Flying Corps. Of the couple's daughters, two taught for the London County Council and experienced frequent Zeppelin raids, and a third, Louise, joined the Queen Mary's Auxiliary Army Corps and served in France
It is clear from the letters that most members of the Saunders family wrote to each other throughout the war, and their father's letters to Canada contain a distillation of all their news. In addition, Saunders' position as headmaster at Fletching brought him into constant touch with wounded men and bereaved families, the proximity of Maresfield Camp provided a window, if often an obscure one, on troop-movements, and as secretary of the Fletching Reading-Room and a voracious yet discrimating reader of newspapers Saunders was in close touch with local public opinion, familiar with events on all fronts and critical of propaganda and censorship
As a result, the letters reflect most aspects of the Great War - the Home Front, including Zeppelin raids on London and food shortages, is especially well represented, as is the reaction of women to the war and their participation in it

Bibliography: The letters were extensively used in Michael Moynihan (ed), Greater Love: Letters Home, 1914-1918 (W H Allen, 1980)

Typescript account of the children and descendants of Robert and Emily Saunders, 1854-1974  AMS6524/1  nd, c1980

Conditions of access: Items AMS6524/1-4 are not to be photocopied. For photocopies, please refer to the Imperial War Museum archives, quoting the reference 79/15/1

Copy photograph of Robert and Elsie Saunders  AMS6524/2  nd, c1914

Conditions of access: Items AMS6524/1-4 are not to be photocopied. For photocopies, please refer to the Imperial War Museum archives, quoting the reference 79/15/1

Including their children and grand-children

Typescript letters  AMS6524/3  Aug 1914 - Dec 1918

Conditions of access: Items AMS6524/1-4 are not to be photocopied. For photocopies, please refer to the Imperial War Museum archives, quoting the reference 79/15/1

Of Robert Saunders to his son William John Saunders

Three typescript letters  AMS6524/4  nd, c1916

Conditions of access: Items AMS6524/1-4 are not to be photocopied. For photocopies, please refer to the Imperial War Museum archives, quoting the reference 79/15/1

From [Annie] Win[ifred Freeman, née Saunders], Leyton, to her parents

Greater Love: Letters Home 1914-1918 (Michael Moynihan, 1980)  AMS6524/5  1980

Also a copy of the title-page and the recollections of Louise Downer, née Saunders (b1890) of her parents and Fletching School

Copy of the report of the ceremony marking the retirement of Robert and Elsie Saunders  AMS6524/6  4 April 1919

Sussex Express

Maps of Burwash, East Grinstead and Westfield from the collection of E E Wishart  AMS6525  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents purchased 5 July 1999 (ACC 7934)

Administrative history:
Ernest Edward Wishart of Marsh Farm in Binstead (1902-1987), Marxist publisher and landowner, was also an enthusiastic local historian
He collected documents and maps and purchased several from H R Moulton's catalogue Palaeograpahy, Genealogy and Topography (1930). Documents relating to East and West Sussex and to Hampshire were deposited with the Sussex Archaeological Society in 1934 and 1935 (SAS/L146-169) and maps of Burwash and Waldron at West Sussex Record Office in 1963 (Add MS 2963, 2964)
Between 1985 and 1987 the documents were placed in the appropriate county repositories; those relating to East Sussex are listed as AMS5985
Mr Wishart died on 16 September 1987 (Times obituary 23 September) and part of the contents of Marsh Farm were sold at Stride's of Chichester on 7 May 1999; four maps from Moulton's catalogue formed lots 476, 477, 480 and 481. Through the courtesy of Messrs Stride, all four maps were photographed before the sale, at which ESRO succeeded in purchasing only lots 476 and 477
For an illuminating description of the production of H R Moulton's catalogue, based on his daughter's recollections, see F Leeson in Sussex Family Historian 4 169-174

Withers in Burwash  AMS6525/1  1726

Source of acquisition: Stride's of Chichester, 7 May 1999, lot 476

'A Mapp of a Farm called WITHERIS containing 117a 3r 37p lying in the parish of Burwash in the County of SUSSEX being part of the Estate of GILES WATTS Gent of Battel in the County aforesaid made Annoque Domini 1726 by John Stonestreet Surveyor'
Estate map of land north of the present Ponts Farm showing a house, barn and land. Ink and colour on parchment, 18¼" x 18¾", within a yellow and green border
Shows buildings, fields, woods, streams and roads with their directions. Field-names and acreages written in the fields; names of neighbouring owners; title, scale of 16 perches: one inch and explanation of boundary ownership contained in baroque cartouches; compass rose
Fields include Coal-pit Field and Coal-pit Wood
Annotated in ink with a correction of the acreage and an additional field-name, c1850; annotated in pencil with field-numbers, perhaps for the preparation of printed particulars, c1900
For Stonestreet see Sarah Bendall (ed), Dictionary of Land Surveyors (second edn, 1997), 2 200, 490
Endorsed: [H R Moulton] 890C

Whalesbeech in East Grinstead  AMS6525/2  c1650

Source of acquisition: Stride's of Chichester, 7 May 1999, lot 477

Related information: For an identically presented map of Compton's land at North Common in Chailey by Edward Gier and Clement Stoakes, see AMS6497/1. For Gier and Stoakes see Sarah Bendall (ed), Dictionary of Land Surveyors (second edn, 1997), 2 200, 490

Administrative history:
Henry Compton was a younger son of Henry Compton of Compton Wynyates in Warwickshire (created Lord Compton in 1572) and a brother of William Compton, created Earl of Northampton in 1618. He was born at Compton in about 1584, and was created a Knight of the Bath at the coronation of James 1 in 1603. He acquired the manor of Brambletye in East Grinstead on his marriage with Cicely, daughter of Robert Sackville, earl of Dorset, in 1619 (SRS 19 60). For a deposition by him in the court of the archdeacon of Lewes, aged 32 and already of Brambletye, on 30 May 1616, see WSRO EpII/5/10, f93-4. He died overseas and administration of his estate was granted by the court of probate 1651. His second son, Colonel Henry Compton, was killed in a duel on Putney Heath by George Brydges, Lord Chandos on 13 May 1652 (GEC 3 128). Neither Sir Henry Compton nor his son ever held the rank of baronet

'IN THIS PLOTT IS DESCRIBED certaine lands lying in the Parish of Eastgrinstead in the County of Sussex called Whales beick they being parte of the Pocessions of the right honorable the Lord Burgaveny being houlden by lease for lives by Mr Henry Compton Baronet.....'
Estate map showing Whalesbeech Farm, now covered by Weir Wood Reservoir, formerly on the road between Standen Farm and Charlwood Farm, c. NGR TQ 394 345; ink and colour on parchment, 19" x 11½"
Shows buildings, field-names and acreages, roads and their directions, names of neighbouring owners; only four of the eighteen fields numbered 17-20 in red letters
Scale of 11 perches: one inch surmounted by dividers; compass star; the whole map enclosed in a black and red border, the latter continued round the title

Little Nortons and Neatenden in Westfield  AMS6525/3  1785

Source of acquisition: Stride's of Chichester, 7 May 1999, lot 480

Related information: For deeds, see MIL/5/4

'A Map of two FARMS called Little Nortons and Neatenden lying in Westfield in the County of Sussex, belonging to Mr Thomas Crisford' by Thomas Colbran
Estate map showing two farms of 34a and 51a east of the Sedlescombe - Baldslow road in Westfield; the lands shown abut those shown by AMS6525/4, the house and barn of which are also depicted
Original ink and colour on parchment, the whole map within a border of yellow and blue lines; shows buildings, fields, water, roads and their directions, names of neighbouring owners; title in a quatrefoil cartouche; separate tables of acreage for each farm; scale of chains; compass rose

Bibliography: For Colbran (1737-1816), master of Sedlescombe charity school, see Sarah Bendall (ed), Dictionary of Land Surveyors (second edn, 1997), 2 105 and J Caffyn (ed), Sussex Schools in the 18th Century: SRS 81 (1998) 291

Late Friends in Westfield  AMS6525/4  1798

Source of acquisition: Stride's of Chichester, 7 May 1999, lot 481

Related information: For deeds, see MIL/5/4

'A MAP of a FARM called LATE FRIENDS lying in Westfield in the County of Sussex belonging to Mr John Crisford' by William Catt
Estate map showing a farm of 29½a east of the Sedlescombe - Baldslow road and north of the Kent Street - Westfield Down road in Westfield; the lands shown abut those shown by AMS6525/3, the house and barn of which are also depicted
Original ink and colour on parchment, the whole map within a border of yellow and blue lines; shows buildings, fields, water, roads and their directions, names of neighbouring owners; title in a quatrefoil cartouche; table of acreages; scale of chains; compass rose

Bibliography: For Catt see Sarah Bendall (ed), Dictionary of Land Surveyors (second edn, 1997), 2 89

Deeds of Beechings in Etchingham and Beechings in Salehurst  AMS6526  1710

Source of acquisition: Document given 15 July 1999 (Acc 7943)

Beechings in Etchingham formed a freehold tenement of the manor of Belhurst, held by a quitrent of 7½d (ROHAS Tenement Analysis P15/22)
Beechings in Salehurst formed a freehold tenement of the manor of Etchingham with Salehurst, of which it was held by a quitrent of 10s 9d. By about 1830, when the manorial tenements were mapped (SAS/HC 345), the manor claimed both holdings, which had however been in common ownership only since the end of the 17th century. For an analysis of the manorial descent, see S P Vivian (ed), 'The Manor of Etchingham cum Salehurst' SRS 53 (1953), tenement 173, which describes the property as 'commonly called Coggers or Sluts Hole'
Beechings in Etchingham had been sold to Walter Roberts of Boarzell by Richard Alchorne of Crowhurst by 1669 (P15/22); Beechings in Salehurst was owned by Thomas Frencham in 1663 (SRS 53). Both farms, separately tenanted, were settled as part of the Boarzell estate in 1683 and bequeathed by Walter Roberts to his younger son John Roberts by his will of 1685, perhaps with the intention of augmenting the settlement of the previous December on John's marriage with Bridget Boys of Hawkhurst (for which see DUN 2/71); they were omitted when the Boarzell estate was settled on the marriage of John's elder brother Walter Roberts in 1686 (AMS6454/47/6). The will was proved in PCC in 1690 and on the death of his elder brother in 1700 John inherited the whole estate (DUN 1/61, 49/39)
When the Boarzell estate was again settled on the marriage of John Roberts's own son John Roberts in 1709, these two farms were omitted (AMS6454/47/8), and it is tempting to see this lease for a year as part of a conveyance to John Constable; a William Constable owned the Salehurst Beechings in 1718 (AMS4808, neighbouring owner) and a Mr Constable the Etchingham holding by 1739 (P15/22). John Constable could, however, have been acting as a trustee for the Roberts family. His son William Constable of Shoyswell in Etchingham had married John Roberts's daughter Mary in April 1710, and he acted as trustee in a settlement of the Stonehouse estate on 1 October 1710 (DUN 48/15, 18/21). John Constable's will of 1719 was proved in PCC in the same year, but does not mention any real estate, which may explain his son's ownership of the property in the year before his father's death (AMS6326/81)
In about 1830, the holding consisted of a farm and buildings in Etchingham and two cottages and a nursery, occupied by Mr Nash, in Salehurst (SAS/HC 345). Both farms passed into William Beckwith's Seacox Heath estate shortly before 1865 (SRS 53)

Conveyance (lease [and release]  AMS6526/1  19 [and 20] Apr 1710

John Roberts the elder of Boarzell in Ticehurst, gent, to John Constable the elder of Etchingham, gent
1 messuage, barn, buildings and 24a called Beeching in Etchingham, occupied by Peter Merett, before John Goble (S: Stephen Pook, late Francis Norman; E: the Kent River; W: JR; N: George Damett), purchased by JR's father Walter Roberts of Boarzell, esq, deceased, from Richard Alchorne of Crowhurst, gent
2 messuage, barn, orchard and land in Salehurst occupied by Peter Merett, before Randall Greenfield, purchased by Walter Roberts from Thomas Frencham, gent, who bought from George Greenstreet, gent, before Robert Ockley
The reversion to be conveyed by a tripartite deed of 20 Apr 1710
W: Roger Callow [rector of Warbleton, 1699-1732], T[homas] Jenkin, Henry Gardner
Endorsed: Sussex

Photograph of a map of John Luck's Tanyard and Tibballs in Waldron and Heathfield by William Taylor  AMS6527  1742

Archival history:
This map was first brought to the attention of the County Library Service in the late 1940s (C/L1). It was offered to ESRO by a dealer in 1992 but the purchase was declined and the map was subsequently acquired by the British Library in March 1993. British Library, Add Ms 71154
The second edition of Dictionary of Land Surveyors (British Library, 1997) identifies a Sussex map at the British Library by William Taylor, dated 1748 (T073). That map, of Merydown Farm [?in Waldron], exists in the form of a photograph only. BL Maps 5405 (26); no other likely cartographer is listed in the work

Source of acquisition: Photograph purchased 19 July 1999 (ACC 7945)

Administrative history:
This farm was part of the estate settled on the marriage of John Wells Luck of Penshurst in Kent, gent, with Ann Allen of Tonbridge, spinster, on 15 November 1729. The settlement makes it clear that Luck had assembled the farm by purchase: Theobalds (32a, occupied by Edward Bradford and in hand) from John Lancaster of Herstmonceux, gent and Tanyard (28a, here called Moons and Trendle Grove, occupied by Amos Norden and in hand) from John Hayler of Hadlow in Kent, physician. The acreages given in the settlement appear to be those of the plainland, woodland excluded (SAS COA 1). The deletion in the title to this map, undoubtedly the name Wells, suggests that the property had passed to another member of the family by 1742. In 1842 the property was owned by John Gorringe and occupied by Richard Barrow (TD 16)

'A Survey and Map of Tanyard & Tibballs lying in the Parishes of Waldron and Heathfield in the County of Sussex belonging to Mr John [erasure] Luck'
Estate map showing the present Theobalds Farm at Sandy Cross, Heathfield. Shows 96½ acres, then partly on the western edge of Heathfield Down, on the corner of two now stopped-up roads
Original is ink and colour on parchment, 23" x 18"; shows buildings, woods, streams, roads and their directions; inbound and outbound acreages shown on the fields and totalled, distinguishing arable, pasture and meadow, plain, rough and woodland, within a table in the form of a doorway of the Doric order, surmounting a scale of approximately eleven perches to an inch
Title and surveyor's name in baroque cartouches, surmounted by faces; elaborate compass rose

Thurston Brothers Ltd  AMS6528  [n.d.]

Separated catalogued for A2A

Records of Messrs Bennett & Sayer of Nuns Street, Derby, clayworking equipment manufacturers  AMS6529  [n.d.]

Archival history:
The archive of this business was rescued by Derby Industrial Museum when the firm went into liquidation and the works was demolished in the 1980s. The material selected for permanent preservation is now at Derbyshire Record Office, D4855; the remainder, of which this file formed part, was distributed to local repositories by Derby Museum, exit number 1978

Source of acquisition: Documents given 16 August 1999 (ACC 7958)

Administrative history:
The firm was established in Nuns Street, Derby, early in the twentieth century, as manufacturers of specialist equipment for the brick and tile industry. The firm's clientele covered the whole country

Correspondence files  [no ref. or date]

Hastings CB Great Sanders Water Scheme  AMS6529/1  Nov 1929

Request for machine to pug clay to place in a reservoir trench

Deanland Works, Golden Cross, Hellingly  AMS6529/2  Apr - May 1931

Brick-making machine for development at Deanland Wood estate, with details of clay, location and budget

Benjamin Ware & Sons Ltd, Uckfield  AMS6529/3  Jul 1934

Request for a power press for roof tiles: 'at the moment we use the Titley type of hand press,.... Several accidents have occurred with our present method, finger and thumb tips off.'

Burtenshaw & Green Ltd, Hailsham  AMS6529/4  Nov - Dec 1936

Abortive request for a clay-crushing machine

Sussex Tileries and Brickworks, Horam  AMS6529/5  Jun 1942 - Aug 1944

Provision of machinery; includes sketches of pugmill mouthpiece, 19 Feb 1943, and die for producing continuous rib roofing tiles, 23 Feb 1943

Deeds of Spratts Reed Farm in Mayfield and property in Mayfield late Thomas Houghton  AMS6530  [1648]-1884

Source of acquisition: Documents purchased 16 June 1999 (ACC 7924)

Related information: For other elements of the archive, see AMS5442, 6002, 6031, 6438

This broken bundle and one stray deed was purchased by the vendor, a dealer, from a collector in Cranbrook, Kent. It is almost certainly derives from the offices of Messrs Sprott of Mayfield, solicitors, whose archive seems to have been distributed onto the antiquarian market
John Relfe of Mayfield, cooper, already owned Spratts Reed in 1648 when he and his brother William Relfe bought a neighbouring piece of waste from Thomas Aynescombe (DYK 706)
A lease of the property was granted by William Moon to Jeremiah Bennett, with detailed covenants concerning hop-growing, in 1736 (AMS6086/67)
Moon still owned the property in 1754, when he was shown as a neighbouring owner on a map of Lake Street Farm, the property of himself and Samson Moon; he was described as of Mayfield but the cartographer, William Clent, was of Lamberhurst (BMW C24B/1)
In 1798 or 1799, when a map was prepared showing those parts of Mayfield which paid tithe to Lord Carrington, Spratts Reed Farm appears to have been owned, or perhaps occupied, by Nicholas Chatfield (AMS6036)
In 1843 the farm was owned by Lord Carrington and occupied by Jesse Pratt (TD 133)
The conveyance of land along the road in 1884 (AMS6530/7) can probably be associated with the kiln and brickworks shown as occupying the northern part of the farm in 1898 but which had disappeared by 1910 (OS 18.13)

Deeds of Spratts Reed Farm in Mayfield  [no ref.]  [1648]-1884

Counterpart mortgage for £50 at 5%  AMS6530/1  4 Jun 1661

William Relfe of Mayfield, butcher, to William Stevens of Rotherfield, yeoman
[Reversion of] a messuage called Spratts Reed (Spattes Reede) in Mayfield with a barn, buildings, orchards and four pieces of land (12a), formerly the property of John Relfe of Mayfield, cooper
Recites: bequest by John Relfe of Mayfield, cooper, to his brother William Relfe and his wife Ann for life, with remainder to their daughters Ann and Bridget, 3 January 1648; death of John Relfe, William Relfe [recte Ann the wife: cf AMS6530/2] and their daughter Ann Relfe; marriage of Bridget Relfe to WR; settlement on WR and his heirs by fine (William Dawling trustee), Easter 1661
W: Thomas Weller, Elizabeth Weller

Conveyance of a reversion for £120 ([lease and] release)  AMS6530/2  [9 and] 11 Jan 1664

Robert Harris of Mayfield, miller, and William Relfe of Rotherfield, butcher, to [WR's brother] Robert Relfe of Mayfield, yeoman
Reversion, on the death of William Relfe the elder of Mayfield, yeoman, of a messuage called Spratts Reed in Mayfield, with barns and land as AMS6530/1
Recites: bequest by John Relfe of Mayfield, cooper, as AMS6530/1, that Ann Relfe has since died but that William Relfe the elder survives; that RR holds the reversion under WR's settlement of 1661 recited in AMS6530/1; of the consideration, £50 paid to RH, £70 to WR
W: John Houghton, William Stone

Conveyance for £70  AMS6530/3  8 Jun 1664

Robert Relfe of Mayfield, yeoman, to Joan Relfe of Mayfield, spinster, daughter of William Relfe the elder of Mayfield, yeoman
Reversion as AMS6530/2 of a messuage called Spratts Reed near Longham in Mayfield, with barns and land as AMS6530/1, occupied by WR
Covenants include RR's wife Ann
W: Thomas Houghton, John Houghton
Endorsed: memorandum of livery of seisin and WR's attornment to his daughter JR; W: William Gouldham, John Byn, John Peckham

Conveyance ([lease and] release) for £150  AMS6530/4  [24 and] 25 Sep 1702

William Peckham (signs Packham) of Wadhurst, husbandman, to Thomas Saunds of Mayfield, forgeman
Messuage, barn, garden, orchard and land (12a) called Spratts Reed near Longham in Mayfield, occupied by WP (S,W: Longham; N: road; E: now or late Joseph Moon)
W: Thomas Moore, T Shorte, Darell Shorte

Conveyance (lease [and release]  AMS6530/5  4 [and 5] May 1736

Related information: For a counterpart lease by Moon to Jeremiah Bennett, with detailed covenants concerning hop-growing, 11 Nov 1736, see AMS6086/67

Nicholas Sandes of Wadhurst, yeoman, to William Moon of Lamberhurst, yeoman
Spratts Reed as AMS6530/4, occupied by Jeremiah Bennett (E: Thomas Moon)
W: John Wells Luck, Thomas Baker

Conveyance ([lease and] release) for £400  AMS6530/6  [3 and] 4 Jul 1826

Walter Sprott of Tunbridge Wells, gent and his trustee Robert Foreman of Tunbridge Wells, gent to Robert [Smith], Lord Carrington of Upton, Nottinghamshire
Messuage, barn, oasthouse and land (10a 2r 17p by a survey of 1809) called Upper Shaw (2r 30p), Upper Field (2a 1r 12p), The Shaw (1r 6p), Middle Field (2a 0r 13p), house and garden (1r 8p), The Orchard (1r 5p), The Road Field (3r 22p), The Orchard (1r 35p), The Lower Field (3a 0r 8p) and The Lower Field Shaw (38p), occupied by George Wenham (before Edward Avery), called Spratts Reed, near Longham in Mayfield (S,W: Longham; N: road; E: land of [blank], before William Moon, before Thomas Moon)
Recites: conveyance, Philip Moon of Southborough in Tonbridge, gent, and his wife Elizabeth to WS, RF and John Nash of Tunbridge Wells, stationer, 19 and 20 Jan 1825
Quitrent of 1s 9½d to the manor of Mayfield excepted from warranty
W: Charles Neve (clerk to WS), Henry Chapman

Conveyance for £27  AMS6530/7  11 Jun 1884

George Brown of Mayfield, yeoman, with Thomas Marchant Rogers of Mousehall Farm, Tidebrook in Wadhurst, farmer, to William Henry Hays of Spratts Reed Farm in Mayfield, farmer
Piece of land (20p), part of Spratts Reed Farm in Mayfield, 66' deep with a frontage of 82' 6" onto the Mayfield - Mark Cross road
Recites: sale by WHH to GB and his trustee James Brown of Mayfield, yeoman, 9 May 1873; recent contract for sale by GB to TMR for £11 10s
W: W Everest, Withyham; Horace W Waller, clerk to Stone, Simpson & Son, solicitors, Tunbridge Wells

Deed of property in Mayfield late Thomas Houghton  [no ref.]  1683

This isolated deed is part of the title to a farm of 43 acres under the town of Mayfield, which by a release of the following day was sold to Thomas Hooper. It descended in the Hooper family until 1799, when it was sold in at least two lots. For abstracts of title to lots 1 and 2, see AMS6086/48-49 (which includes a map of part of the property) and KIR 23/60

Conveyance (lease [and release])  AMS6530/8  18 [and 19] Oct 1683

John Brewer of West Peckham in Kent, esq (eldest son of Thomas Brewer of West Farley in Kent, esq and his wife Jane, a daughter and coheiress of Thomas Houghton of Mayfield, esq, deceased), to Thomas Hooper of Mayfield, gent
1 barn under the town of Mayfield with a little piece of land adjoining its SE side called The Croft Under the Town (3r) with a wain-house recently built upon it
2 barn, stall [or lodge] to feed cattle in, two closes and two pieces (5a) called The Hilly Field and The Old Orchard otherwise The Pettfield (formerly called The Upper Meadow and The Orchard Meadow), with a lane leading out of the highway and waste near the barn to 7 below, and part of a lane leading out of that lane to the messuage and land of Stephen Parker, gent, and his wife (only daughter and heir of Hugh Luck), with part of the pit in the second lane as it is severed from the rest
3 The Cards Well Field and The Necker Mead (6½a), formerly called The Well Meadow (divided by fences and hedges)
4 The Mysse Field otherwise Cransden Field (6½a) adjoining 3 above
5 The East Field otherwise The Ten Acres (10½a), adjoining 3 and 4 above
6 The Stumblett (2a), formerly The Ridded Field (formerly wood), on the lower side of 5 above
7 The Less Long Field otherwise Long Field (8a), adjoining 5 and 6 above
8 The Galletts otherwise The Lower Field (3a) on the lower side of 7 above
All in Mayfield, occupied by Frances Saxpes, widow
W: Richard Godden, John Chauntler, Francis Taylor, William Allen the younger, John Allen

Appointment of William Dallet as surveyor, searcher and landwaiter of the port of Rye  AMS6531  1647

Source of acquisition: Documents given 6 September 1999 (ACC 7965)

Copies information: The originals of AMS6531/2 and AMS6531/3 have been retained by Portsmouth City Museum

Administrative history:
Although L A Vidler identified the Dallets as French immigrants (A New History of Rye, 83), there is ample evidence that the family was indigenous from at least the middle of the 15th century. For their ownership of Cobbs and Breaches in Iden and of Old Turks and Houghton House in Playden, see Tenement Analysis P27/17 and 41 and P37/5 and 44

These documents formed part of the binding of a printed military treatise of the late 17th century, which was found at HMS Excellent, Whale Island, Portsmouth

Appointment as customs officer  AMS6531/1  5 Mar 1647

Samuel Avery, alderman of London, Richard Bateman, Charles Lloyd, Christopher Packe and William Boothby, merchants, to William Dallet, gent
The office of surveyor, searcher and landwaiter of the port of Rye
Recites: appointment of SA, RB, CL, CP and WB as commissioners of customs by authority of parliament, with power to appoint deputies, 14 Apr 1645

Printed petition of the lords and commons to the crown  AMS6531/2  18 Feb 1642

That those who laid informations against [Edward Montagu] Lord Kimbolton and the five members ([Denzil] Hollis, Arthur Haslerigg, [John] Pym, [John] Hampden and [William] Strode) should answer before parliament in accordance with the statutes of treason of 37 and 38 E3 (1363 and 1364); printed for Joseph Hunscott, London

Printed ordinance of the House of Lords  AMS6531/3  1646-1647

Continuing a duty for the redemption of captives taken by Turkish and other pirates, imposed on 13 Nov 1646, for a year from 11 Dec 1647, and authorising the committee of navy and customs to take up to £10,000 on the strength of the duty; John Brown, clerk of the parliaments, 11 May 1647; printed for Edward Husband, printer to the House of Commons, London, 1647

Transcript of diaries of Thomas Turner of East Hoathly  AMS6532  1754-1765

Source of acquisition: Records deposited 16 June 1999 (ACC 7925)

Copies information: For a microfilm copy of the diaries, see XA 41. A further microfilm copy is held by the Bodleian Library, Oxford (Mss Film 1673-1676)

Related information: For photocopies of papers which were acquired with Turner's diaries by Yale University, see AMS6093. For personal name indexes to manorial court-books for central East Sussex, c1730 - c1790, which were compiled by Worcester in the course of his research, see AMS6478

Administrative history:
Thomas Turner was a shopkeeper, schoolmaster and churchwarden of East Hoathly. The original diaries are held by Yale University Library, Newhaven, Connecticut (Mss 509) These transcripts were made by Dean K Worcester Junior in the course of his research on Turner

Bibliography: Substantial extracts of the diaries have been edited and published in The Diary of Thomas Turner, 1754-1765, by David Vaisey, (OUP 1984), which contains a detailed introduction and biography of Thomas Turner

Diary transcript  AMS6532/1  Feb 1754 - Dec 1756

(pp 1-373)
Introduction includes information concerning other Worcester material compiled for the planned publication of the diaries in the 1940s; other papers acquired with the Turner diaries, of which photocopies of some are held in AMS6093

Diary transcript  AMS6532/2  1757

(pp 374-621)

Diary transcript  AMS6532/3  Jan 1758 - Dec 1759

(pp 622-765)

Diary transcript  AMS6532/4  Dec 1759 - Dec 1762

(pp 766-1129

Diary transcript  AMS6532/5  Dec 1762 - Jul 1765

(pp 1130-1522)
Includes foot-note concerning some of the people mentioned in the diary

Apprenticeship indenture of William Paine of Hastings  AMS6533  1777

Source of acquisition: Document given 1 October 1999 (ACC 7983)

Related information: William Attree was a solicitor in Brighton and town clerk. For the archive of his firm, see HOW; for bundles of similar indentures, 1781-1891, see HOW/17/7, 30/29; for a register of parish apprenticeships under the act of 1802, see HOW/34/1

Administrative history:
The apprentice was probably the William, son of William and Elizabeth Paine, who was baptised at Hastings All Saints on 23 December 1762 (PAR 361 1/1/4); it is quite probable that he was born on 7 December 1762 and that the apprenticeship began on his fourteenth birthday

This document was presented to the Exmouth Museum; there is no further provenance
Apprenticeship indenture, premium £21, 1 Dec 1777
William Paine of Hastings, son of William Paine the elder of Hastings, mariner, to Edward Thunder and Stephen Wood of Brighton, carpenters and co-partners
To serve for seven years from 7 Dec 1776
W: William Attree, George ...mor [?Fenmor]
Endorsed: receipt for duty by Thomas Gilbert; entered, HA

Petition of George Barnsley for the rectory of Sedlescombe  AMS6534  1674

Archival history:
The document was purchased from Stride & Son, Chichester, 7 May 1999 (lot 479)

Source of acquisition: Purchased 4 Aug 1999 (ACC 7957)

Related information: For correspondence from Barnsley, and mentioning him, 1677 - c1680, see DUN 51/78, 51/104; for notebooks of Barnsley's texts, c1680 - c1690, see DUN 52/9/10-13
For references to Heneage Finch (1621-1682) and John Sharpe (1645-1714), see Dictionary of National Biography

The petition was approved on the same day as the burial of Barnsley's predecessor at Sedlescombe, Edward Nathley, at Crowhurst. Barnsley was also rector of Northiam from 1677. Chichester Diocese Clergy Lists state that Barnsley was rector of Sedlescombe until 1706; Thomas Bowers was then rector 1706-1707. A George Barnsley is again listed as rector from 1707 to 1724, but may not have been the same person, perhaps his son

The petition of George Barnesly [Barnsley], clerk, M A  AMS6534/1  1674

For the rectory of Sedlescombe made vacant by the death of the last incumbent, addressed to Heneage Finch, Baron of Daventry and Lord Keeper of the Great Seal; subscribed with a note that it was accomplished, 28 May 1674
Endorsed: note that Barnsley was recommended to the Lord Keeper by his chaplain, [John] Sharpe


Archival history:
These documents were among a group of miscellaneous deeds given to Bromley Local Studies Department in about 1990 by a member of the North West Kent Family History Group, whose relative had acquired them by unknown means. They were transferred to ESRO in June 1999
They are clearly the documents which were retained when the Horsted Place estate was dispersed by sale by Mrs Maud Agnes Barchard in the 1950s and 1960s. Many of the documents consist of conveyances into the estate and were retained as roots of title; they are missing from the earlier deeds of the estate which had been returned to the Barchard family by their solicitors and were deposited at ESRO in April 1999 (ACC 7886). Many of the documents are endorsed M3800/20, which is also to be found on the deeds in that deposit and seems to have been used by Maples Teesdale & Co, the solicitors who acted for the estate until the middle of the 1950s when the business passed to Messrs Adams of Lewes
The immediate client in respect of whose title the deeds seem to have been retained was Mrs A M Royall, the widow of the Barchards' butler Leonard Royall. The couple had lived at Tile Barn Cottages since their marriage in 1923 and were granted the property in the will of Mrs M A Barchard, who died on 25 September 1964. It must be assumed that Tile Barn Cottages were the last element of the estate to pass out of the hands of the family, and that the retained deeds of the whole estate were handed over on their sale by Mrs Royall to Mr and Mrs J C Bush in 1975
At that point, the bundle included the conveyance of Horsted Place itself to Francis Barchard in 1849. That deed was not present when the documents reached Bromley

Source of acquisition: Documents given 16 June 1999 (Acc 7964)

Title deeds  AMS6535/1  1849-c1950

Horsted Place, purchased by Francis Barchard in 1849  [no ref. or date]

Deed  AMS6535/1/1  1849

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer The deed of purchase was present in the bundle in 1975 (see AMS6535/3/11) but was not among the documents deposited in 1999; for a detailed abstract and copy plan, see AMS6535/3/8

Related information: For earlier deeds of the component parts of the purchase of 1849, see ACC 7886/2/1-4

[Hunningtons Farm] in Little Horsted, purchased by Francis Barchard in 1850  [no ref. or date]

Covenant for the production of a deed  AMS6535/1/2  23 Oct 1850

Related information: For the earlier deeds of the estate, see ACC 7886/2/4

(Sheldon-Barry, 1 and 2 Dec 1831); trustees of Richard Barry, deceased, to Francis Barchard

Advowson of Little Horsted and 10a, purchased by Francis Barchard in 1851  [no ref. or date]

Conveyance  AMS6535/1/3  1851

Related information: For the earlier deeds of the estate, see ACC 7886/2/5

Of the advowson of Little Horsted and Stable Field, formerly Hensmans Croft and Worms Croft (10a, abuttals), purchased by Joseph Simpson, clerk from John Hubbard, clerk, 7 and 8 Aug 1829; Joseph Simpson, clerk to Francis Barchard, 30 Jan 1851

Marshland at Horsey in Pevensey, purchased by Francis Barchard in 1853  [no ref. or date]

Conveyance  AMS6535/1/4  22 Dec 1853

Of three pieces of marsh called Barretts Churchland (15a, abuttals) at Horsey in Pevensey; Richard Hicks of Herstmonceux, schoolmaster and his mortgagees to Francis Barchard

Covenant to produce deeds and certificates  AMS6535/1/5  22 Dec 1853

Related information: For an abstract of title, [1790]-1852, see ACC 7886/2/6

(Hicks family, 1732-1853); John Fell of Uxbridge (purchaser of the larger share of the estate) to Francis Barchard

The whole estate  [no ref. or date]

Copy PCC probate of the will (31 Mar 1853) of Francis Barchard of Horsted Place, esq  AMS6535/1/6  16 Apr 1856

Copyhold of the manor of Framfield, purchased by Francis Barchard in 1859  [no ref. or date]

Covenant  AMS6535/1/7  1834-1859

Related information: For the earlier deeds of the estate, see ACC 7886/2/8

By Nelson Kenward for the title of two messuages and land at Ridgewood in Framfield to which he was admitted on the surrender of Martha Barton, 5 Feb 1849, and by Alexander Donovan to produce copies of court roll (Kenward-Donovan, Relf-Donovan, 1834-1847) relating to a tenement and 3a at Ridgwood Common to which Harriet wife of Nelson Kenward was admitted on the surrender of Alexander Donovan, 30 Oct 1849; Nelson Kenward to Francis Barchard, 11 Jan 1859

Manor of Worth and land in Little Horsted, purchased by Francis Barchard in Mar 1866  [no ref. or date]

Conveyance  AMS6535/1/8  29 Mar 1866

Of the manor of Worth and Worth with Home Place, a messuage, cottage and part of a farm called Old Worth and wood called The Great Wood (277a 3r 33p, schedule and plan) with schedule of deeds (Smyth-Vincent-Lane, 1737-1864); trustees of the marriage settlement of John Henry Bagot Lane to Francis Barchard

Release of seignory  AMS6535/1/9  27 Apr 1866

Over the manor-house of Worth Place and 40a, Worth Mead (4a) and Westfield Park Fields and Rowlands (40a) in Little Horsted, held as three freehold tenements of the manor of Sheffield, quitrent 9s 8d; George [Baker-Holroyd] lord Sheffield to Francis Barchard

Covenant  AMS6535/1/10  16 Apr 1868

Related information: For an abstract of title, [1731]-1865, and a draft statutory declaration, see ACC 7886/2/11

To produce deeds (Smyth, 1804-1813) relating to the estate in AMS6535/1/6, the larger portion of which has been purchased by Richard James Streatfeild; R J Streatfeild to Francis Barchard

The whole estate  [no ref.]  1895-1960

Enfranchisement  AMS6535/1/11  2 Dec 1895

Of 16 copyhold tenements and release of seignory over two freehold tenements of the manor of Framfield; representatives of Reginald Windsor [Sackville-West] lord de la Warr to Francis Barchard

Copy probate of the will (24 Jun 1898) and codicil (11 Feb 1902) of Francis Barchard of Horsted Place  AMS6535/1/12  10 Jan 1905

Assent  AMS6535/1/13  1862-1960

By the personal representatives of Francis Barchard, esq (d 11 Nov 1932) to the vesting of the estate in his widow Maud Agnes Barchard; includes a schedule of the estate, a copy of part of the Framfield Inclosure Award and map of 1862, a map of the estate locating five freehold tenements of the manor of Sheffield; endorsed with memorandums of sales off, 1935-1960; 27 Dec 1934

Declaration  AMS6535/1/14  31 Mar 1949

By Maud Agnes Barchard of Horsted Place, widow, that she had made no assent or conveyance prior to that of 27 Dec 1934 (AMS6535/1/12)

Schedule of deeds  AMS6535/1/15  nd, c1950

Of the estate at the Old Bank, Lewes, 1849-1949

The management of the estate  AMS6535/2  1935-1965

Charge  AMS6535/2/1  1935-1953

By Maud Agnes Barchard for a loan of £759 for improvements to Worth and Lower Barn Farm; 9 Jan 1935, discharged 27 Jan 1953

Copy tenancy agreement  AMS6535/2/2  25 Aug 1951

For Wicklands Farm and two cottages in Little Horsted (plan and schedule); Maud Agnes Barchard to Keith M Campbell

Copy grant of right  AMS6535/2/3  1 Jul 1954

To lay a water-pipe across land in Uckfield to Shipreeds Farm in Framfield; Public Trustee to Maud Agnes Barchard

Schedule of existing tenancy agreements, 1917-1952  AMS6535/2/4  nd, c1955

Plan of the eastern portion of the estate  AMS6535/2/5  Jun 1956

Indicating the dates of acquisition of its component parts

Grants and copy grants  AMS6535/2/6  1933-1964

Of easements and wayleaves over the Horsted Place estate for the supply of electricity and gas and for telegraph poles, with a schedule of such agreements 1933-1952

Insurance policy  AMS6535/2/7  7 Apr 1965

On two cottages adjoining the back entrance to Horsted Place

Abstracts of title and sales off  AMS6535/3  1920-1975

Related information: For a note of a sale of marshland at Horsey in Pevensey in 1920, see AMS6535/1/13
For memorandums of sales of land in Framfield and Little Horsted to ESCC for road-widening, 14 Nov 1935 and 13 Jun 1936, see AMS6535/1/13

Copy covenants and plan  AMS6535/3/1  31 Dec 1937

Related information: For a memorandum of a sale of Bradford Farm in Little Horsted to Gerald Rank Askew, 4 Mar 1943, see AMS6535/1/13

From the sale of 22 acres in Uckfield and Framfield, part of Shipreed Farm, to Benjamin Ware & Sons Ltd

Abstracts of title to Hunnington Farm, [1817]-1934  AMS6535/3/2,3  27 Jan 1949

Related information: For a memorandum of a sale of Horsted Pond Farm in Little Horsted and Uckfield to Roger Tatham Eddison and Rosemary Christine Eddison, 1 Jul 1953, see AMS6535/1/13

Examined, possibly in connection with an otherwise unrecorded sale off

Contract  AMS6535/3/4  26 Mar 1957

Related information: Conveyed 29 Apr 1957; see AMS6535/1/13

For the sale of the eastern portion of the estate (Tile Barn Farm, Wicklands Farm, Old Farm, Hunningtons Farm, Iron Pear Tree Farm, part of Shipreed Farm and cottages, Totease Garden and cottages, plan) to Cecil Lyonel Newcomen Tollemache, bt

Contract  AMS6535/3/5  6 May 1957

Related information: Conveyed 28 Jun 1957; see AMS6535/1/13

For the sale of Shipreed Farm in Framfield to Robert Dunckley Fordham

Abstract of title  AMS6535/3/6  1958

To Blabers Cottages, Little Horsted, [1819]-1957

Local land-charge searches  AMS6535/3/7  1953, 1956

With details of the planning history of the estate
For a memorandum of a sale of Blabers Cottages in Little Horsted to Gerald Ernest ?Thulron, 27 Jun 1958, see AMS6535/1/13
For a memorandum of a sale of Whartons Wood in Little Horsted to the Minister of Agriculture, 31 Mar 1959, see AMS6535/1/13
For a memorandum of a sale of Worth and Lower Barn Farms and Laundry Cottages in Little Horsted to Albert Thomas Corner, Arnold Albert Corner and Kathleen Winifred Cornford, 1 Mar 1960, see AMS6535/1/13
For a memorandum of a sale of Wicklands in Little Horsted to Keith Mackay Campbell and Rosamund Catherine Campbell, 20 Apr 1960, see AMS6535/1/13

Abstract of title to the estate  AMS6535/3/8  1819-1964

Including copies of plans from the abstracted conveyances, [1819]-1906; 1952-1964

Abstract of title to the estate  AMS6535/3/9  1932-1964

Including a copy plan showing freehold tenements of the manor of Sheffield, 1932-1949; 1952-1964

Abstract of title to the estate  AMS6535/3/10  1934-1964

1934-1953; 1944-1964

Schedule of deeds of the estate  AMS6535/3/11  24 Sep 1975

1849-1970, held in respect of Tile Barn Cottages by Wynne, Baxter, Hillman and Carter, Lewes, on behalf of Mrs A M Royall, subsequently annotated with details of a conveyance to Mr and Mrs J C Bush

Label from deed-bundle  AMS6535/3/12  1970, 1975

Annotated as AMS6535/3/11

Deeds of property in Ferry Road and Tillingham Avenue, Rye  AMS6536  1756-1961

Source of acquisition: Documents purchased 18 March and 19 November 1999 (ACC 7861)
These two bundles of deeds were purchased on behalf of the Record Office from dealers in Rye. The latest in date (AMS6536/1/18) was drawn by Messrs William Dawes & Co of [...] Watchbea Chambers in 1925

8 Ferry Road (formerly 6 Albion Place), Rye, including deeds of the land on which Albion Place and other property was built  [no ref.]  1756-1961

On 29 and 30 April 1756 Thomas Masters of Rye, bricklayer, sold part of his land in The Wish adjoining his lime-kiln to Needler Chamberlain Watson of Rye, surgeon, for £23. The land was described as
Piece of land in The Wish, Rye, occupied by Charles Frewen (S (68½'), W, E (201'): road, corporation waste; N (76½'): TM's limekiln, land and premises from which the plot is taken)
The maintenance of the new fence and sewer were to be a joint charge to the parties and their successors (1/1, 2)
In his will [of 1777], Watson bequeathed all his property in trust for sale to his wife Elizabeth Watson of Rye, John Chamberlain of East Greenwich, pawnbroker, Needler Chamberlain of Rye, surgeon and Samuel Chamberlain of Fleet Street, druggist, who sold the land, used as a garden, for £50 to James Lamb of Rye, esq, on 24 and 25 March 1779; the land from which it had been divided in 1756 then belonged to John Stapley (1/3)
On 23 and 24 April 1779 James Lamb settled the property on the marriage of his daughter Martha Lamb with Needler Chamberlain of Rye, surgeon, who was to advance £700 for the purchase of property; the settlement consisted of
1 The Queens Head with a barn, stables, buildings and ½ 0a called the Hardle Plot and 6 pieces (15a), all on the den of Baseden in Hawkhurst, Kent, occupied by Thomas Brown, before Edward Bateman, before Jasper Crothall
2 Butcher's shop and chamber over it in the street from the Middle Street to the churchyard, Rye, occupied by Thomas Thomson and [blank], late John Robinson
3 Garden in The Wish, Rye
4 Newly-built leasehold cottage in two dwellings, with buildings and orchard, occupied by John Foster and John Crouch, in Peasmarsh
5 Newly-built leasehold cottage, buildings and 1 acre, occupied by [blank] Relfe, in Peasmarsh
6 The timber and underwood (when of 14 years' growth) in Newsome Wood (20a) in Rye
Needler Chamberlain was dead by 1782; on 13 and 14 February his widow Martha her trustees (Edward Wilson the younger of Ashurst, clerk and Samuel Chamberlain of Fleet Street, druggist) sold the garden for £52 10s to William Brazier of Rye, carpenter; an annotation on the copy settlement refers to the purchaser as James Brazier, carpenter (1/4-6)
William Brazier was dead by 1810 when his widow Catherine Brazier executed a deed concerning the property to [?her son] William Brazier. He and his wife Mary Woodhams mortgaged the garden and other property for £4715 15s to Ralph Blegborough of Bridge Street, Blackfriars, doctor of medicine on 29 and 30 May 1821. On 14 and 15 February 1826 Brazier conveyed his property to William Frampton, merchant and Thomas Arnott of Brixton Rise and Christchurch in Surrey, merchant, in trust for sale, partly to discharge a legacy of £2000 in the will of [?his father] William Brazier to [?his brother] Henry Brazier of Rye, woolstapler, of which £1000 had been paid. Frampton was buried at St Andrew Undershaft, London, in January 1828
Henry Brazier took the largest part of the estate and the trustee Arnott sold Brazier's stable and yard to Thomas Colbran but part of the garden was sold for £140 to William Aylward of Rye, brewer, to whom it was conveyed by Blegborough's widow (Harriet wife of John Aspinall of Standen in Lancashire, esq), heir (Ralph Blegborough of Standen, an infant) and executors (Henry Blegborough of St Trinnions, York, doctor of medicine and Robert Masters Kerrison of New Burlington Street, Mx, doctor of medicine) and William and Henry Brazier on 5 and 6 April 1831. The plot was described as
1 Piece of land used as a garden at The Wish in Rye, occupied by WA (before WB, before Martha Chamberlain, before Needler Chamberlain, before James Lamb, before Needler Chamberlain Watson), with the stable, yards and wagon-lodge built on it (NE: Rye - Udimore road; NW: messuage of Richard Heath; W,SW: stable and yard late WB, sold by TA to Thomas Colbran, and to several messuages belonging to Thomas Godfrey; S,SE: several messuages belonging to John Lightfoot, building as 2 below
2 Building formerly used as a slaughterhouse, adjoining the stable and lodge in 1 above, and between the stable and the Rye - Winchelsea road
Henry Brazier covenanted to produce the earlier deeds to Aylward (1/7, 8)
By 1854 the property had descended to Thomas John Aylward of Rye, brewer, who had built houses on the land. On 26 June 1854 he mortgaged the seven houses, known as Albion Place, for £1195 to John Hogben of Arpinge in Newington, Kent, farmer, with a power of sale; they were occupied by James Cooombe, [blank] Wright, Edward Swadling, John Steward, Robert Nash, James Smith and William Fuggle (1/9)
In exercise of the power, Hogben sold Albion Place for £1000 (of which £700 was borrowed from the vendor) to Jeremiah Greenland of Rye, cordwainer, on 29 August 1855; the houses were occupied by James Coombe, Matthew Reynolds, John Marshall, Stephen Merricks, William Tyrrell, [blank] Roberts and Jeremiah Greenland (1/10, 11)
On 20 September 1855 Greenland raised a further £230 on the security of Albion Place. Hogben died on 2 March 1862 and on 17 January 1870 his widow and administratrix Elizabeth Hogben joined her sons William Henry Hogben of Arpinge, yeoman and Thomas Hogben of Arpinge, farmer, to sell the houses for £940 to George Boon of Appledore, gent; they were occupied by Henry Daniels, Richard Honeysett, Widow Stuart, William Amon, Widow Hinds, William Tyrrell and Henry Milton (1/12-13)
Boon died on 13 October 1875 and his freehold and copyhold estate was partitioned between the benficiaries of his will, William Boon of Rye, gent and Thomas Boon of Appledore, gent on 25 February 1881; Albion Place passed to William Boon, who died on 28 May 1894. His estate was sold in at least two lots in 1895; his executors (Henry Boon of Rye, carpenter and William Neeves of Rye, butcher) conveyed numbers 1-3 Albion Place to Richard Henry Hunnisett and numbers 4-7 (occupied by Albert Batcheler, Widow Stewart, Henry Huggett and Samuel Sivyer) to William Peacock of Rye, merchant, for £510 on 23 February 1895 (1/14-17)
William Peacock died at Rye on 26 December 1924 and bequeathed his estate for the benefit of the children of his sister Mary Jane Hunnisett. On 24 December 1925 her three children (Ernest Hunnisett of 8 Clyde Road, Brighton, company secretary, Alice Hunnisett of 4 Sloane Terrace, Rye, spinster and Hubert Hunnisett of Abbotsmead, Margate Road, Ramsgate, architect) conveyed numbers 4-7 Albion Place (occupied by Albert Batcheler, William Henry Hicks, Henry Huggett and Charles Pulford) to Richard Henry Hunnisett of 4 Sloane Terrace, Rye, gent in trust for [?his daughter] Alice Hunnisett (1/18)
By 1960 Albion Place had been renumbered as 18-30 Ferry Road. Number 30 Ferry Road (formerly 7 Albion Place) was sold off to Louise Grace Greenslade on 28 April 1960, 24 Ferry Road (formerly 4 Albion Place) to Daisy Honor Fowle on 31 October 1960 and 26 Ferry Road (formerly 5 Albion Place) to Alfred Edward Bolt Horner on 14 February 1961 (1/18)

7 Tillingham Cottages, Tillingham Avenue  [no ref.]  1904-1927

On 12 October 1904 Rye Corporation granted a lease of the newly-built cottage, in Mill Salts North, Rye, for 75 years from 29 September 1902 at 14 shillings a year to Robert Sims of 4 West Street, Rye, boot-salesman, who mortgaged the house for £200 to the Rye Building Society on 1 November 1904 (2/1)
On 28 May 1910 Sims assigned the lease to George Herbert Salts of 17 Gordon Villas, Rye, postman who two days later mortgaged the house to the Rye Buildings Society for £150 (2/2, 3)
On 31 December 1927 Rye Corporation leased an additional piece of land at the rear of the cottage to the occupier Mr Salts to expire at the same time as the lease of his house; a plan on the deed shows that similar plots were leased to his neighbours Miss Wood, Mrs Gower and Mr Burnham. The counterpart of the lease is endorsed Garden, 32 Tillingham Avenue (2/4, 5)

Counterpart lease of Knights Hall, Hartfield  AMS6537  1680

Source of acquisition: Document given 30 November 1999 (ACC 8023)

Administrative history:
The location of Knights Hall can be established from the Buckhurst Terrier of 1598 (SRS 39 20). That survey described it as Knighton Hall, 'now meant to be converted to a stable for horses'; it was held, with two adjoining houses and 22 acres, by Thomas Bowyer, yeoman, for 40 years or his life under a lease of 19 April 1582
In 1713 Knights Hall, Pound Cottage at Hartfield Green and 11 acres of land were let for 21 years to Nicholas Pope of Hartfield, cordwainer, and in 1725 the same estate, formerly occupied by Robert Swaysland, was let for 21 years to William Farmer of Hartfield, yeoman (AMS5729/11, 12)
This document was found among the residue of the papers of a Chesterfield solicitor, but is almost certainly the result of an antiquarian purchase, as the second endorsement suggests. Many counterpart leases and other documents relating to the estates of the Sackville dukes of Dorset are to be found in antiquarian collections, the chief being that formed by Stephen Millett of New York (AMS5729), which contains 30 counterpart leases of the estate

[Counterpart] reversionary lease for 15 years at £2 10s and two capons  AMS6537/1  20 Jan 1680

Charles [Sackville], earl of Dorset and Middlesex, to Robert Poape of Hartfield, shoemaker
Messuage or cottage called Knights Hall and an adjoining piece of land (2r), occupied by RP, part of the manor of Broome, in Hartfield and said to be in lease to John Tye for life
Term to begin from the death of John Tye; rent and capons payable at CS's manor house of Buckhurst [in Withyham]; CS and his agents may enter to inspect for necessary repairs
W: David Denham, Bartholomew Pidgeon, Robert Domcock
Endorsed: 36 [c1700], Sussex [c1900]

Sussex Daily News  AMS6538  [n.d.]

Separately catalogued for A2A

Prospectus for Eastbourne College  AMS6539  nd (c1937)

Source of acquisition: Document given 2 Dec 1999 (ACC 8025)

Related information: For a newspaper cutting of a cricket match between the College and Lewes Old Grammar School, 1871 see AMS6005/46; for sale particular of the Chyngton estate, Seaford, which includes the boat house at Exceat leased by Eastbourne College Boat Club, 1932 see AMS6292/4; for letters from East Sussex County Council to the Burser of the College concerning proposed building lines and improvement lines on the Eastbourne Road, Seaford (A259) as affecting the boat house, 1932 see AMS6292/7; for appointment of H R Thompson as headmaster of the college, 1900 see ACC 6011/20

Administrative history:
The College was founded in 1867 by the 7th Duke of Devonshire and others, to give a first-grade public school education at a moderate cost

The Regency Town House, Brunswick Square, Hove, reports and publications  AMS6540  1997-2003

Administrative history:
The Regency Town House, 13 Brunswick Square, Hove is a Grade 1 listed building. It was set up as a heritage centre following the purchase of the basement flat in 1984, the subsequent acquisition of the remaining flats in the house and the ongoing restoration of the property. The basement flat of 10 Brunswick Square was discovered untouched with many of its original features intact in the late 1980s and was purchased in 1995 with the aid of a Heritage Lottery Fund grant. The work of the Regency Town House is supported by the Brunswick Town Charitable Trust, a registered charity which aims to encourage 'the better preservation and conservation of the late 18th century and early 19th century buildings in Brighton and Hove'. The Town House Times was first published in May 1998 as a magazine for the friends and supporters of The Regency Town House with approximately three editions a year thereafter. In September 1995 the first annual Heritage Open Weekend was held in Brunswick Square, attracting over 8000 visitors. By 1997 the visitors numbered 15000 and an annual report was published to record the event

The Town House Times  AMS6540/1  [n.d.]

Edition No 1  AMS6540/1/1  May 1998

Edition No 2  AMS6540/1/2  Oct 1998

Edition No 3  AMS6540/1/3  Jan 1999

Edition No 4  AMS6540/1/4  May 1999

Edition No 5  AMS6540/1/5  Sep 1999

Edition No 6  AMS6540/1/6  Jan 2000

Edition No 7  AMS6540/1/7  May 2000

Edition No 8  AMS6540/1/8  Sep 2000

Edition No 9  AMS6540/1/9  Jan 2001

Edition No 10  AMS6540/1/10  May 2001

Edition No 11  AMS6540/1/11  Sep 2001

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Edition No 12  AMS6540/1/12  Jan 2002

Edition No 13  AMS6540/1/13  May 2002

Edition No 14  AMS6540/1/14  Sep 2002

Edition No 15  AMS6540/1/15  Jan 2003

The Regency Town House Heritage Open Weekend Event Guide  AMS6540/2  [n.d.]

Guide  AMS6540/2/1  Sep 1995

Guide  AMS6540/2/2  Sep 1996

Guide  AMS6540/2/3  Sep 1997

Conditions of access: Missing on transfer

Guide  AMS6540/2/4  Sep 1998

Guide  AMS6540/2/5  Sep 1999

The Regency Town House Heritage Open Weekend Report  AMS6540/3  [n.d.]

Report  AMS6540/3/1  Sep 1997

Guide books  AMS6540/4  [n.d.]

Book  AMS6540/4/1  Sep 2000

The Regency Town House: an illustrated guide and history to 13 Brunswick Square, Hove


Source of acquisition: Copies purchased 25 February 1999 (ACC 7842)

Administrative history:
These documents relate to the management of the Wyndham interest in the borough of Winchelsea between 1762 and 1771. A list of the documents at Petworth relating to Winchelsea, indicating which have been copied for inclusion in AMS6541, appears on the last page of this introduction
Charles Wyndham, Earl of Egremont, purchased the borough of Winchelsea and manor of Iham in 1762. After Egremont's death in August 1763 the family's interest there was managed by his brother Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Earl of Thomond. The borough and manor belonged to the recusant Caryll family of Ladyholt in Harting between 1661 and 1752, when John Caryll sold to the London banker William Belchier, who hoped to establish a political interest. In the previous year, the Anglo-Irish merchant Albert Nesbitt had purchased other property in Winchelsea, evicted opponents from their houses and unfriendly customs-officers from their posts
Belchier bought more property in the town, built four new houses to accommodate his displaced supporters, established the former customs officers in farms on his estate and advanced money to them for stock. The scene was set for a classic eighteenth-century political conflict, known to contemporaries as the Winchelsea Causes
The pivotal individual in Winchelsea was the lawyer Edwin Wardroper of Rye, who had become a freeman of Winchelsea in the 1730s and town clerk in 1747. He also held offices in the customs as deputy to his fellow attorney John Collier of Hastings, the chief treasury agent for the eastern part of Sussex, for whom he acted as sub-agent. Wardroper had managed the borough for Belchier and continued to act for the Wyndham interest
Wardroper managed the interest successfully until August 1768, when Nesbitt achieved a procedural victory at the assizes. Wardroper blamed inept counsel, but Lord Thomond and his advisers became increasingly convinced of his duplicity. Wardroper's personal affairs were certainly inextricably involved with those of the patrons of the borough, and in September 1768 he revealed his desperate financial position and impending bankruptcy. A series of meetings, demands, offers and counter-offers followed, in the course of which Wardroper hinted that, if bankruptcy proceedings were to begin, his evidence to the commissioners would be highly embarrassing to the Wyndham interest as it would reveal the sums he had received and the uses to which they had been applied. Thomond to George Grenville, 1 Oct 1768; The Grenville Manuscripts (John Murray), 222
Thomond was highly suspicious that the Wardropers had gone over to Nesbitt's party, and successfully resisted their attempts to extract financial support. Edwin Wardroper resolved to leave Winchelsea for France and his son Richard to settle in Jamaica; Thomond determined to recover the court-books and documents which Wardroper held and to prevent the tenants from paying their rent to him
In his negotiations with Thomond, Wardroper had attempted to make a settlement on behalf of Nathaniel Dawes who, as well as being town clerk and having served as mayor in 1766-1767, was tenant of Wardroper's house and tanyard in Winchelsea
That attempt failed, and as a result of the collapse of the Wardropers, in November 1768 Nesbitt recruited Nathaniel Dawes and brought actions against the eight freemen who had been elected with him and against Richard Wardroper as a former mayor (see SAS/WH 383-462, 475). No doubt as part of their strategy, Dawes was made bankrupt and his goods assigned to Arnold Nesbitt and William Marten. On 15 June 1769, acting through the Battle solicitor John Tilden, Edwin Wardroper distrained on the stock of the tanyard for five years' arrears of rent, provoking an action of replevin in the Winchelsea court of record. Tilden nevertheless made a second distraint on 1 July (WIN 356-8, 387,). The action, against Tilden rather than Wardroper, was enrolled on 11 July (WIN 61A) and it is clear from John Tilden's bill-book (in which 'Mr Wardroper' is decribed as of Eltham in Kent) that it was removed out of the Winchelsea court by certiorari (RAF 1/3/1, p26)
The father and son succeeded in holding Thomond to ransom, handing over the documents in November 1769 only when their bonds were returned. At that point Edwin Wardroper was 'in France, never to return' and Richard said to be about to leave for Jamaica (AMS6541/1/63). Once the transaction had been completed, Thomond wrote to his sister-in-law that 'all transactions with those scoundrels will be finished' (AMS6541/1/64)
The defeat of the Wardropers was the end of the Egremont interest at Winchelsea; Edwin Wardroper's son-in-law Walter Gybbon seems to have acted as agent for the estate only (AMS6541/1/56-65). Thomas Orby Hunter, MP since 1754, died in November 1769 and Arnold Nesbitt was returned, without opposition, in January 1770
Edwin Wardroper died at Boulogne on 7 June 1771. Information from a descendent of Edwin Wardroper's daughter Katherine, 1993
Whether Richard Wardroper fulfilled his intention of leaving for Jamaica is unknown. He came to Midhurst in 1772 and on 18 August 1773, a widower aged 37, he obtained a licence to marry Mary Geering aged 17, the daughter of a Midhurst mercer (SRS 32 263); they were married the following day and their sons Richard, Charles and Edward were born in 1775, 1778 and 1782 (microfilm index to the Midhurst PR, ESRO XA 14/9). In 1792 and almost certainly from his arrival he was in practice in the town as a solicitor. Universal British Directory, 1792. His will of 1791 was proved in 1796 (PRO PROB 11/1274 (copy ESRO AMS6326/99))
Richard's eldest son Richard Wardroper remained at Midhurst. In 1797 he married Frances Cutfield of Aldingbourne (SRS 35 442) and their children were baptised between 1798 and 1815. In 1808 he stood unsuccessfully for the coronership of the western division (SAC 71 51). Richard Wardroper the younger, presumably his son, was of Great James Street, Bedford Row, gent, in 1820 (GIL 1/78/101)
Charles Wardroper was established at Hawkhurst as a solicitor by 1818, in partnership with William Pain Beecham, but had retired by 1834; he resided at Seacox Heath in Etchingham. He was one of the trustees of the estate of the Eversfield family of Denne Park in Horsham, whose land at St Leonards was developed in the 1820s and 1830s (AMS6454, introduction; GIL 1/78)
For contemporary copies of a map of the borough produced for Edwin Wardroper by Charles Stevens in 1763, reproduced in William Durrant Cooper's History of Winchelsea (1850), see AMS5806/3 and WIN 2315
For letters written to John Collier by Edwin Wardroper, William Belchier, Albert, Arnold and Edward Nesbit and others concerning Winchelsea politics, 1747-1758, see SAY 141-153, 430-432, 450-579; for letters of Richard Wardroper concerning Collier's holdings of the manor of Iham, 1765-1770, see SAY 2729-2731
For the papers of Nesbitt's attorney Christopher Hull the younger of Hare Court, Inner Temple, 1766-1769, see SAS/WH 383-462, 475
For a brief history of the constituency in this period, see Namier and Brooke, The House of Commons, 1754-1790 (HMSO, 1964) 457-8. For a fuller narrative of the events covered by these documents, including a photograph of a portrait of Arnold Nesbitt, see Janet H Stevenson, 'Arnold Nesbitt and the Borough of Winchelsea' in Sussex Archaeological Collections 129 (1991), 183-94
Schedule of Documents at Petworth relating to Winchelsea
PHA1455 Thomas Browne's survey, 1759
PHA3373 map of Winchelsea by Charles Stephens, 1762 not copied
PHA6370 case-papers in Egremont v Belchier, 1761-62
PHA6632 vouchers, Sheephouse Farm, 1762-67 selective copies
PHA6633 vouchers, Winchelsea houses and marshland, 1762-65 selective copies
PHA6634 vouchers, Castle Farm, 1761-66 selective copies
PHA7593 tenants' agreement and bond to William Belchier, 1752
PHA8443 correspondence with and concerning Edwin Wardroper, 1761-1771
10H/C12 abstracts of title and conveyancing documents, [1486]-1762
Manor of Iham, purchased by Charles [Wyndham], earl of Egremont, in June 1762
On 6 October 1486 and 17 January 1506 the crown granted the manor of Iham to Richard Guldeford, kt, and to his heirs in tail male. By patent of 10 April 1610 the crown granted the estate to Henry Guldeford, kt, and to his heirs in tail male. On 8 January 1661 the crown granted the estate, described as the manor of Iham, the office of bailiff of Winchelsea, the creeks called the Camber otherwise Wainway and the Puddle, marshes called Camber Marsh and Salts and the advowsons of St Thomas and St Giles to Edward Guldeford, esq, to be held by a fee-farm rent of £20. On 14 December 1661 Guldeford and his trustees (Augustine Belson, esq and George Gery, gent) conveyed the manor to John Caryll the elder of Harting, esq and his trustees (Mervyn Touchet, esq and Francis Carrington, esq) with the exception of Camber Farm, occupied by William Dunke, which was let to Walter Everenden, esq and his trustee John Woolfe, gent for the lives of John and Thomas Guldeford at £51
On 12 and 13 May 1663 the estate was regranted to John Caryll and John Weston of London, esq, and the manor freed from the fee-farm rent of £20 to the crown, the payment of which by Guldeford being secured by a conditional conveyance of Camber Farm
On 4 July 1667 the findings of a commission dated 30 June 1596, which had resulted in the survey of salt marsh called The Camber at 1368a and produced a map, was confirmed by a jury
On 20 October 1674 John Weston of Sutton in Surrey and his wife Mary sold their moiety of the manor for £2580 to John Peacock of Heath House in Hampshire, esq, and to [trustees for Charles Bruning, gent] (Robert Oxenbridge, esq, John Dean, esq, William Carr, gent and Francis Bruning, gent)
On 28 and 29 April 1675 John Caryll the elder settled his moiety on himself for life, with successive remainders to his sons Richard and Philip Caryll in tail male. On 13 and 14 October 1697 Richard Caryll, his son John and their trustees (named) settled their moiety by recovery. On 26 March 1707 John Caryll purchased a quarter-share of the estate from the heirs of Charles Bruning (named)
On 12 July 1712 three-quarters of the manor was settled on the marriage of John, son of John Caryll, with Mary Mackenzie, only sister of William [Mackenzie], earl of Seaforth. On 25 and 26 December 1715 John Caryll the elder and his trustees mortgaged a quarter of the manor for £1050 to James Tooker, who assigned to Francis Sone on 20 and 21 April 1731. In January 1738 John Caryll of Ladyholt, his mother and grandmother settled the estate by recovery, and in the following June it was settled on Caryll's marriage with Dorothy, daughter of Richard [Molyneux], lord Molyneux
John Peacock, by his will of 1695, left his quarter-share of the estate to his nephew Andrew Matthew; it descended to his son Henry Matthew, who in 1725 joined John Caryll to convey part of Castle farm (34a 3r 2p, bounds), occupied by Thomas Cruttenden, to the Rye Harbour Commissioners. In 1749 administration of the goods of Henry Matthew was granted to his son Andrew Matthew
On 25 and 26 May 1748 John Caryll of Ladyholt mortgaged three-quarters of the estate to William Hamilton, esq (who had been a trustee of the settlement of 1738) for £1400, of which Caryll owed Hamilton £1150; further charges of 1749 and 1751 increased the mortgage debt
On 25 July 1752 William Belchier of Lombard Street, esq, bought the advowson of Winchelsea from George Woodward Grove and Thomas Peace, to whom it had been sold in June 1751 by John Caryll and Andrew Matthew. Matthew sold Belchier his quarter-share in the manor for £4300 on 3 and 4 August 1752, and the deed was enrolled in chancery (Matthew being a Roman Catholic) in 1755. In August 1753 John Caryll and his wife Dorothy agreed to sell their three-quarters share to Belchier for £12,350, part of which remained on mortgage to William Hamilton; the conveyance was executed in May 1755 and enrolled in September 1760
In December 1760 Belchier, who had borrowed £20,000 from the partnership funds of his bank, granted the manor to trustees for the benefit of himself and his partners (Ann widow of Edward Ironside and Philip How)
On 2 and 3 June 1762 the estate was bought for £20,000 by Charles [Wyndham], earl of Egremont. Part of the purchase-money was paid to the trustees of Belchier's bank and part to the executors of William Hamilton's will of 1753 (his brother Alexander Hamilton of Lincoln's Inn, his son William Gerard Hamilton and his nephew William Pitcairn of London, doctor of physic)
In 1754 an agreement had been reached concerning the portions charged on the estate in favour of John Caryll's sisters, Elizabeth Caryll, spinster and Catherine Frances Baptista (then deceased), formerly wife of Joseph Edward Gage. In 1761 Elizabeth Caryll of Ladyholt and in 1762 Gage, of Paris, released the estate from their claims on payments by Belchier of £500 and £1481 respectively
Two houses in Winchelsea and Castle Field in the liberty of Hastings, Winchelsea St Giles, purchased by Charles [Wyndham], earl of Egremont, in June 1762
Castle Field, purchased by Edward Odiarne in 1743
On 1 April 1651 John Bankes, yeoman and George Cheesman, yeoman, sold a piece of land of 1½a in Winchelsea St Leonard and a part of the Castle Field (7a) in St Leonard and St Thomas to Simon Mois of Winchelsea, jurat. By his will of 1 Feb 1660, Mois left the Castle Field to John and Thomas Benden, sons of Richard Benden, deceased
On 23 and 24 April 1705 Thomas Benden, butcher, and his wife Mary sold his moiety to his brother John Benden, butcher, who sold to Richard Weller, yeoman, on 2 and 3 February 1719. By his will of 28 June 1738, Weller left his two fields back to his kinsman John Benden, who mortgaged them for £100 to George Worge in the course of 1740, and in 1741 included them in the mortgage to Worge of a larger estate for £1050. In July 1741 the property was sold to John Benden the elder, butcher, and discharged from the mortgage, the term created by which was assigned to James Philcox, leather-cutter; in August Benden mortgaged Castle Field for £150 to Thomas Freebody, gent, who assigned to Thomas Sharpe, gent, in April 1742
On 19 and 20 October 1743 the field was sold by John Benden the elder, butcher and his wife Judith to Edward Odiarne of Winchelsea, gent and the mortgage-term assigned to William Marten, gent, in trust for him. It formed part of a final concord by which included property owned by Francis Tress, gent and his wife Elizabeth and Edward Gybbons, yeoman and his wife Mary
The Horsehead House and ¼a in the 9th quarter and the Paradise Orchard, purchased by Edward Odiarne in 1744
The Horsehead House, purchased by William Willes in 1727
On 24 November 1685 John Rippingale, cordwainer, mortgaged the property for £21 to John Hyland, distiller; it was described as
A messuage called The Horsehead House, an orchard and a little piece of ground (¼a) in the ninth quarter, occupied by James Austin
On 12 January 1688 the mortgage was assigned to Thomas Markwick. The freehold of the property passed to Francis Jenkins, cordwainer, and on 14 and 15 February 1696 his executors (Edward Marten and Moses Wilmshurst) sold it, subject to the mortgage, to Thomas Soane, carpenter. On 18 February 1696 Markwick's executor Samuel Jeake [of Rye] assigned the mortgage to Thomas Paine the younger, yeoman
On 20 March 1701 Thomas Soane and his wife Ann settled the property on the marriage of Thomas Cooper, carpenter and Ann Hicks, spinster, and the mortgage-term was assigned to Richard Seers, carpenter, for their benefit on 22 March
On 25 June 1706 Cooper mortgaged the property for £30 to John Hawkins
On 6 and 7 March 1721 Cooper's only daughter Mary Cooper of Battle sold the property, occupied by Ann Cooper, widow, to Thomas Martin of Crowhurst, gent for £63. It was described as
Messuage called The Horsehead House, and orchard [and a little piece of ground of ¾a deleted in some versions] (W,S,N: street; E: garden and ground called Paradise)
Martin, as Thomas Martin the elder, mortgaged this and other property for £100 to John Collier [of Hastings], gent, on 13 and 14 November 1722
On 24 and 25 July 1727 Martin sold the property to William Willes, clerk, to whose trustee Thomas Fuller, gent, the property was reconveyed by the mortgagee on 27 and 28 July 1727
The Paradise Orchard, purchased by William Willes in 1732
By his will of 23 December 1712, Samuel Newman of Winchelsea, jurat, left all his lands in Winchelsea to his youngest son Robert Newman at 21. On 20 and 21 October 1730 Robert Newman, gent, sold the property to William Willes, clerk. It was described as
A piece of land called Paradise Orchard and a stable or building and two little garden spots adjoining (1½a), occupied by William Willes and George Hood
On 10 June 1732 Henry Smith, salter, assigned several mortgages made by Robert Newman to Thomas Hussey, gent, in trust for the purchasers of Newman's estate: Maximilian Gott, esq, William Willes, clerk, Thomas Cruttenden, gent and Thomas Fuller, gent
The whole estate
On 22 and 23 May 1744 William Willes, clerk, sold the Horsehead House with its summer-house, buildings and gardens and the adjoining Paradise Orchard, stable and land, two acres in all, to Edward Odiarne, gent
By his will of 16 February 1753, Edward Odiarne bequeathed his two messuages, stable, malthouse, buildings and land in Winchelsea, occupied by himself and John Cogger, and his piece of land called Castle Field, to his niece Ann Odiarne. On 24 September 1757 she and her husband John Edward Wilson, clerk, granted a seven-year lease of the two houses, occupied by Wilson and John Cogger, to Thomas Martin of Winchelsea, yeoman, at £20
On 15 November 1757 Mr and Mrs Wilson settled the property, then described a messuage with malthouse, stables, gardens and a piece of land called Paradise (2½a), and a small messuage with the stables and the Castle Field (7a)
An opinion on the title was given by William Rivet on 5 July and on 28 and 29 November 1759 John Edward Wilson and his wife Ann were joined by the representatives of the trustees in whom mortgage-terms were vested (Thomas Fuller, farmer, son of Thomas Fuller and John Philcox, leather-cutter, son of James Philcox) and by Ann Wightwick, widow and Ann Coates, widow, to settle the property. An abstract of title was drawn by [Hugh] Hammerlsey and an opinion given by Beversham Filmer on 5 February 1760
John Edward Wilson agreed to sell the property to William Belchier of Lombard Street, esq, for £840 but no conveyance was executed although £600 was paid
On 7 May 1761 Wilson settled the remainder after his death on his wife Ann who, as Ann Wilson of New Romney, widow, was joined by her cousin Edward Odiarne, late of Rye, gent, purser of HM sloop Spye and her father's heir at law, to convey the property to Edwin Wardroper, gent, for the outstanding sum of £240 on 21 and 22 August 1761. The messuage, malthouse, stables and land called Paradise were occupied by Thomas Marten and Robert Lake, the small messuage and stable by Thomas Marten and John Cogger and the Castle Field by Joash Adcroft
On 1 May 1762 John Clarke, Thomas Ward and Abraham Ward, the three sons and executors of Martha, widow of John Hawkins (who had been granted a mortgage of the Horsehead House in 1706) assigned the term to Richard Wardroper in trust for his father Edwin Wardroper
On 2 and 3 June 1762 Edwin Wardroper of Rye, gent, William Belchier of Lombard Street, esq and Richard Wardroper of Rye, gent conveyed the property for £840 to Charles [Wyndham], earl of Egremont
Six houses in the 14th quarter of Winchelsea, purchased by Charles [Wyndham], earl of Egremont, in July 1762
In 1752 William Belchier bought two houses and land in the 14th quarter and built four more houses on the land. They were conveyed to Lord Egremont on 27 and 28 July 1762 for the consideration which had already passed on the sale of the manor of Iham at the beginning of June
On 25 November 1689 Daniel Clarke, carpenter, mortgaged a garden and orchard in the 14th quarter, on which a house had stood and been burnt down and on which another had been built (N: road; S: land formerly Richard Chesson, sometime Daniel White, esq; W: land of John Sennock, late Thomas Farnham), to George Head, gent, for £13
On 13 and 14 February 1712 Clarke's grand-daughter Ann, wife of William French, husbandman, sold the property to James Briggs, yeoman and the mortgage-term was assigned to Ralph Norton, gent, in trust for Briggs
On 19 and 20 January 1713 Briggs sold the property to William Tidgewell, fisherman, who mortgaged it for £10 to Alice Stretton, spinster, on 26 January 1713. Tidgewell's will, proved on 21 February 1720, left the house in which he lived (bought from James Briggs), a spot of land (bought from Thomas Cooper), deceased, and the cliff or pendents of the hill (bought from John Sampson, Ann Cooper and her son William Reeves) to his friend William Garland of Winchelsea, weaver, who settled the estate by fine in 1721
By his will of 5 May 1746, Garland left the property to his wife Mary Garland for life with remainder to his four daughters: Elizabeth wife of Edward Catt, farmer, Sarah wife of Thomas Alce, carpenter, Mary Garland and Lucy Garland
On 29 and 30 November 1752 these beneficiaries sold the property to Wiliam Belchier; Mary was then the wife of John Calloway, carpenter and Lucy the wife of Robert George Jenkins, tanner. The following day it was agreed to levy a fine, to which Joseph Rimington, shopkeeper and his wife Mary were to be parties. The property was described as
Two messuages, a stable and land in the 14th quarter, occupied by Mary Garland, widow and Samuel Honeysett, before William Garland and John Pavis (N,E: road; S: house and garden of Ann Eyles, widow, before Daniel White, esq, before Richard Chesson; W: house and garden of Edward Rubie, before John Sennock, before Thomas Farnham)
A 99-year lease of part of the ground from Belchier to Nathaniel Pigrim, to run from 25 December 1752, was prepared but not executed
On 27 and 28 July 1762 William Belchier sold the property to Charles [Wyndham], lord Egremont. The original two houses were occupied by John Knight the elder and [blank] Peadle and three of the four new houses by Mary Garland, Joash Adcroft and William Norton; the fourth was empty

Table of contents
Schedule of documents at Petworth relating to Winchelsea
Narrative of the titles of the manor of Iham and of properties in Winchelsea purchased by Lord Egremont, [1486]-1762
AMS6541/1 Correspondence 1761-1771
AMS6541/2 Documents [1486]-1768

Correspondence  AMS6541/1  1761-1771

J Laverick, Harcourts Buildings, Inner Temple, for William Belchier, to [Hugh H]ammersley  AMS6541/1/1  20 Nov 1761

Arrangements for the payment of the rent from the estate and the tenants' bonds; needs an answer concerning letting the houses and the sale of the estate late [John Edward] Wilson, for which Mr Norton is ready to pay

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye [to Hugh Hammersley]  AMS6541/1/2  23 Nov 1761

The tenants will be late with their rent and are unable to pay the bond; [William] Belchier accepted £2300 as a composition from the seven on whom he had distrained; encloses a copy of their agreement [AMS6541/2/7], still unexecuted; Belchier's refusal to complete purchase from [John Edward] Wilson, who has died; expects the writ for the Winchelsea election any day; will use his endeavors to compel Mr Belchier to do the tenants justice in regard to the bond

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Hugh] Hammerlsey, Serjeants Inn, Fleet Street  AMS6541/1/3  1 Feb 1762

Has ignored the report that Lord Egremont has declined the purchase from [William] Belchier, but as [Arnold] Nesbitt has begun to repair the houses, pretends he has bought the estate and threatens to turn out the tenants, he would welcome a letter to assure them that Egremont intends to buy, 'the tenants being very uneasy as they expect every thing bad from Nesbitt's resentment'

William Belchier, Lombard Street to Hugh Hammersley  AMS6541/1/4  1 Jul 1762

Has sent the papers concerning his purchase of Mr [John Edward] Wilson's estate, which Lord Egremont has agreed to buy; 4 Mar 1762, with receipt for legal charges

Thomas Frewen to Mr [Edwin] Wardroper, Rye  AMS6541/1/5  nd, [Apr 1762]

The whereabouts of the conveyance of a house and spot of ground in Winchelsea from Widow [Mary] Gayland [recte Garland] and others to [William] Belchier, which TF drew ten years before; the old deeds handed over with the court-books of the manor of Iham; 'I am really inclined to believe that Mr Belchier has them himself if he would give himself the trouble to search for them'

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Hugh] Hammerlsey, Serjeants Inn, Fleet Street  AMS6541/1/6  14 Apr 1762

The whereabouts of [John] Hawkins' mortgage [of 1706]: his 'representatives live near me but as they are seamen cannot be certain when to meet with them'; could get a conveyance from [William] Garland's heirs 'which I would readily do to oblige my Lord but not upon Belchier's account'; the Rye Harbour bill has passed without new commissioners for want of Lord Egremont's being well enough to look after it

William Belchier, Lombard Street to Hugh Hammersley  AMS6541/1/7  17 Apr 1762

Has heard from Mr [Thomas] Frewen about the writings; has he mentioned to Lord Egremont the interest on the bond, and the power of attorney to [his trustee] George Thomson of Greenfield in Shropshire, esq?

E[dwin] Wardroper Rye, to [Hugh] Hammersley  AMS6541/1/8  18 May 1762

Has received the drafts of [William] Garland's conveyance from [Thomas] Frewen, though Belchier should be pressed to pay the demands of [Thomas] Alce and others on the estate 'otherwise such kind of people are apt to cast reflections which tho' his lordship may never hear are best avoided and no handle left for them'; 'the other executor of [the mortgagee John] Hawkins is not yet come home, though expected every tide'; encloses AMS6541/1/9

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [William Belchier]  AMS6541/1/9  18 May 1762

Enclosed in AMS6541/1/8 has received the drafts from [Thomas] Frewen; the demands of [Thomas] Alce and Mrs [Mary] Garland before they will sign

Note of E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye  AMS6541/1/10  9 Jun 1762

To [Hugh] Hammersley to pay £26 5s to Thomas Dodson

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/11  7 Sep 1762

His tenant Edward Catt has hired a little house with a farm and wishes to quit his holding of 30 acres; has heard nothing of Mr Butler's deputation

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Hugh Hammersley]  AMS6541/1/12  25 Sep 1762

John Hasle, a copyholder of Iham, has requested a court; would HH bring down the manor book if he comes to survey Lady [Frances] Powell's estate; the manor is small and in danger of being lost, and two or three tenants dead and their heirs unadmitted

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/13  4 Nov 1762

Has attended the Rye Harbour commissioners, who have referred the repairs to any surveyor he appoints; recommends [William] Green of the Office of Ordnance, employed some years in surveys and works upon this coast and now at Brighton, 'much the best qualified of anybody hereabouts'

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/14  14 Jul 1763

Joash Adcoft's wool is now sold and his rent will be paid; [John] Parnell is in possession of the place of supervisor and [his son-in-law Walter] Gybbon has entered upon the farm

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/15  21 Jan 1764

Rents; has not received Mr [William] Norton's, who is in London; the land has suffered for want of repairs; the sheep-pound quite down; Mr Norton to quit the houses at Lady Day; has written to Mr Brown with proposed clauses for the Rye Harbour bill for the preservation of the estate against the sea; requests the return of a mislaid bond, which has been paid

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/16  21 Feb 1764

Needs instructions for letting the houses built by [William] Belchier and let to Mr [William] Norton, who quits at Lady Day; 'the people will be entirely destitute of houses if your lordship should suffer Mr Norton to continue them, besides the new houses are got ready for the Frenchmen who now dwell there'

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/17  1764

List of four houses to be let to John Johnson, Richard Tireman, John Peters and Richard Stileman; a court should be held for the manor of Iham; 3 Mar 1764
Answered 13 Mar 1764

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/18  15 Mar 1764

EW's son will bring the leases to be signed and collect the court rolls and EW's bond; requests a lease to [his son-in-law Walter] Gybbon which the late Lord Egremont promised when he provided the late tenant [John] Parnell a place in the customs

E[dwin] Wardroper, Rye to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/19  14 Apr 1764

Has received the [manor of Iham] court-books and sends a rental [AMS6541/2/22]; his proposed visit with Lord Egremont would be a good time to hold a court; the state of the pounds has been a hindrance to the tenant, who has been obliged to set up wattles during the lambing season; encloses an account of the cost of building one pound and repairing another [AMS6541/2/23]

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/20  1 Dec 1764

Will obey his commands concerning Mr [Thomas] Sewell [MP for Winchelsea]; could prevail on two or three of the Iham manor tenants to travel to London in order to hold a court

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/21  1765

Solicits a lease of two acres to a person who wishes to make a kiln and burn bricks for the navigable sluice proposed by the Rye Harbour Trustees, which adjoins Lord Egremont's land; the carriage of bricks from the nearest kilns being 4 or 5 shillings a thousand; 19 Feb 1765
Answered 23 Feb 1765

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/22  26 Feb 1765

Details of James Jeakin of Rye, carpenter and brickmaker; who has a kiln seven miles away; requests a 21-year lease of five acres of [his son-in-law Walter] Gybbon's farm; Mr [Thomas] Baldwin has seen the land and heard Jeakin's proposal; once the harbour work is over 'I apprehend it will for the future be a very great convenience to this town and neighbourhood, where bricks for building are extremely dear'; shall send two of the [Iham] copyholders to Petworth

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/23  14 May 1765

Has held a court for [Iham] manor, but the heirs of [John] Collier and [Joseph] Offley still not admitted; proposes to mark the boundaries, 'known to a very few persons and those pretty ancient', with stones or posts, since derelict land may in future be inclosed; method of ditching and fencing; a good estate of about £200 a year, with little or no building and half a mile away, to be sold

Thomas Baldwin, Petworth to [Edwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea  AMS6541/1/24  6 Aug 1765

Captain [Thomas] Isemonger will set out with the posts and rails in a few days and deliver them to the new harbour; TB will follow in about three weeks; 28 Jul 1765, with receipt by TI to EW for £31 10s for freight

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond, Dover Street  AMS6541/1/25  6 Aug 1765

[Arnold] Nesbitt's visit, threatening to displace those with customs places; [John] Parnell the supervisor actually displaced; the fencing just arrived; Thomond's tenant [Joash] Adcroft has become Nesbitt's chief agent

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond, Dover Street  AMS6541/1/26  5 Oct 1765

[Arnold] Nesbitt's visit with Mr Macguire to canvass the borough; encloses a list of freemen [AMS6541/?2/28]; the officers would rather quit their employment than join him; requires advice of Thomond and [Thomas Orby] Hunter on his future conduct

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond  AMS6541/1/27  1766

Recovered from his disorder and intends to come up to take measures for the mayoralty election at Easter; has been removed from the patent place; 25 Jan 1766
Endorsed: answered 28 Jan and desired him to come 11 or 12 February

E[dwin] Wardroper to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond, Dover Street  AMS6541/1/28  1761-1766

Has sent as much of the account to 24 March 1766 as has been received; will bring a sketch of disbursements since 1761, which amounts to over £3000; Monday evening [?3 Feb 1766]

[Edwin] Wardroper, Fleece Inn, Tothill Street, Westminster, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond, Dover Street  AMS6541/1/29  10 May 1766

Came to town to defend the attack made by [Albert] Nesbitt; should he succeed in putting out their outdwelling freemen he must lose his own and preserve their majority; has a tenant to propose for [Joash] Adcroft's land

[Edwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea to [Alicia Maria Wyndham], countess of Egremont, London  AMS6541/1/30  30 Jul 1766

His return from the assizes, his daughter's illness and death; has defeated [Albert] Nesbitt

[Edwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/31  23 Aug 1766

[Richard] Stileman a very substantial farmer for the land of [Joash] Adcroft, who has hired more land of [Arnold] Nesbitt and intends to drive his stock off at Michaelmas; 'Mr Nesbitt having failed in his scheme I hope will give us no further trouble'

[Edwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/32  11 Oct 1766

Has employed labourers to cut the thistles on [Joash] Adcroft's land, a tenant for which ([John] Knight having refused it) must be decided; again proposes [Richard] Stileman; 2 Oct 1766
Endorsed: answered from Shortgrove [in Essex]

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/33  21 Oct 1766

Rumoured departure of Sir Thomas Sewell, [MP], to Ireland; [Thomas Orby] Hunter's help in defending lawsuits; [James] Murray 'said he was a great enemy to Mr Nesbitt and wished for nothing so much as an opportunity to oppose him at Winchelsea in which he did not care what expence he might be at'; [Arnold] Nesbitt here and intends to propose his brother [Albert or Alexander]; 'PS my hand was so weak I could not write the letter myself

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/34  30 Oct 1766

[Richard] Tireman to vacate the living, which is small and requires constant attendance; mentions Mr Goodwin, a very worthy clergyman in this neighbourhood who has a family is forty years of age and no preferment, he would be very agreeable to the inhabitants, would reside here and might serve your family in regard to the borough interest as Mr Tireman has always done' [?recte R Gibson, curate of Pett]

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/35  11 Nov 1766

Rumours concerning Sir Thomas Sewell; [Arnold] Nesbitt's failure to control the election for mayor despite the intervention of the ministry, 'most of those he did get might have been prevented if you could have been prevailed on to use the means I proposed'; his losses through Thomond's indifference; 'the power I have acquired here is of long standing and of such a nature as can't easily be taken from me'; Mr [Richard] Stileman has entered on [Joash] Adcoft's farm

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/36  1766-1767

Despite [Arnold] Nesbitt's defeat, has heard from [Gibbs] Crawford that he expects the affair of [John] Johnson and [John] Easton to be tried at the next assizes; the advantages of a trial at which they must succeed; he will communicate with [Thomas Orby] Hunter; 22 Jun 1766
For Thomond's report of a conversation with Edwin Wardroper concerning his ability to stand by the Egremont interest, 13 Nov 1767, see The House of Commons, 1750-1790

Thomas Orby Hunter, Southampton, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/37  1768

Although Wardroper's interest is affected by the forthcoming case, he is unwilling to pay for the defence; Wardroper must undertake it, as [Gibbs] Crawfurd is gone into the north to Sir Laurence Dundas, and will probably use [the attorney Isaac] Bargrave, whom he has always consulted in his Winchelsea suits; at Southampton for the benefit of sea bathing for his wife's health; 29 Jun 1768
Endorsed: write to Wardroper in consequence of this, 3 Jul 1768

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/38  6 Jul 1768

Has been to London to investigate the tactics of [Arnold] Nesbitt, who has engaged three of the most able counsel; after Sir Fletcher Norton, who cannot be afforded again, Mr [?John] Morton might be had for 50 or 60 guineas; needs funds as he is £300 or £400 out of pocket

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/39  9 Jul 1768

Mr [?John] Moreton sets out for Chester before the assizes, so some other person must be found 'if you should not choose to trust the conduct of these causes to Mr Burrell'

E[dwin] Wardroper, London to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/40  20 Jul 1768

In London to settle the special jury; Sir Fletcher Norton sees no need to attend the trial but [?Peter] Burrell 'is of a different opinion or rather doubtful of his own abilities'; Norton had heard of their enquiries after Mr [?John] Moreton, 'and seemed not pleased about it'

E[dwin] Wardroper, Boreham Street [in Wartling], to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/41  3 Aug 1768

Verdicts against [John] Johnson and [John] Easton through the misconduct of [counsel, the case failing on the pleadings; this will encourage them to proceed against [Nathaniel] Dawes the mayor; encloses reports of the case from two [London] newspapers

Thomas Orby Hunter, Southampton to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/42  9 Aug 1768

Encloses AMS6541/1/43; the loss of the case may provoke an [election] petition; whether to apply for a new [trial depends on Sir Fletcher [Norton]'s opinion

E[dwin] Wardroper, Boreham Street [in Wartling], to [Thomas Orby Hunter]  AMS6541/1/43  3 Aug 1768

Enclosed in AMS6541/1/42; fuller version AMS6541/1/42; is mortified with the affair but blames poor counsel

Thomas Orby Hunter, Southampton, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/44  10 Aug 1768

Does not suspect collusion by Wardroper, as 'it was more his own cause than ours', but his show of indifference made to induce them to pay for the case; an agent to assist [Gibbs] Crawfurd, whose return to London near; 'I never was more strongly in opinion with your lordship, than in the point of not leaving any thing entirely to the conduct of Wardroper'

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to Thomas Orby Hunter, esq, Southampton  AMS6541/1/45  16 Aug 1768

Enclosing AMS6541/1/46 and enclosed in AMS6541/1/47; new trials should be obtained or a move made against Tom Marten and [John] Peters, to preserve their majority for [Nathaniel] Dawes [as mayor]; is convinced that residence is not necessary, and that they are rid of [Arnold] Nesbitt, his brothers and friends

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Gibbs] Crawfurd  AMS6541/1/46  [4 or 5 Aug 1768]

Enclosed in AMS6541/1/45; full account of the trial at assizes before Baron [Sidney Stafford] Smyth and Serjeant [Richard] Leigh, and the conduct of [?Peter] Burrell ('sensible of his lack of weight'), [James] Wallace, Mr Bishop and [?William] Baker of counsel, who 'quarreled among themselves for the diversion of the audience'; the political situation in Winchelsea and the consequences of loss; '[John] Parnell is growing worse; his death and some favourable alterations elsewhere may turn things more in our favour'

Thomas Orby Hunter, Southampton, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/47  1768

Enclosing AMS6541/1/45 and 46; [Gibbs] Crawfurd advises that the verdict strengthens the position of the old freemen; will return to Waverley [in Surrey] on 14 September to meet his daughter and Mr Fortescue before their return to Ireland; proposes a meeting in London; 3 Sep 1768
Answered 20 Sep

Thomas Orby Hunter, Waverley near Farnham, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/48  21 Sep 1768

Enclosing AMS6541/1/49, brought by young [Richard] Wardroper; arrangements for a meeting in London with [Edwin] Wardroper, whose plight 'a storm which has been long gathering

Copy, E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, to [Thomas Orby] Hunter  AMS6541/1/49  17 Sep 1768

Enclosed in AMS6541/1/48; must leave Winchelsea on account of the daily trouble and expense caused by N[esbi]t and his agents; [EW's son-in-law] 'Mr [Walter] Gibbon alone is easy in circumstances but can't of himself keep up much interest' and Wardroper's son [Richard] would be advised to 'try his fortune some where else than to stay here and starve'; 'three years ago I was happy, now how miserable'; will send the corporation books and papers to [Gibbs] Crawford

Notes  AMS6541/1/50  1768

[Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond's] notes of negotiations with [Edwin and Richard] Wardroper; 30 Sep 1768: EW's determination to stay, RW's to leave the country; their request for £5000 refused; promise to assist petition and deliver documents; [Gibbs] Crawfurd to inspect chancery bill against EW; 1 Oct 1768: EW afraid of imprisonment for fraud and prefers to fly to France; scheme to settle EW's debts upon which 'he now promises everything for our service'; 7 Oct 1768: EW will not have a commission [of bankruptcy] taken out against him; R W will not remain at Winchelsea; Nathaniel Dawes should be paid

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond  AMS6541/1/51  1768

Requests an appointment to communicate the counsel's opinion; has had an interview with the gentlemen [Edwin and Richard Wardroper], 'of whom he begins to have a much more unfavourable opinion than... during the whole negotiation'; Thursday noon [?6 Oct 1768]

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/52  1768

Encounter with 'the two gentlemen' [Edwin and Richard Wardroper] and communication to them of Thomond's offer of the salary to [Edwin] 'even if he should be obliged to go abroad', and that he should maintain only sufficient residence to retain his title if not; but that nothing further could be offered to D[awe]s; they are likely to comply; Saturday Night [?8 Oct 1768]

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond  AMS6541/1/53  1768

Encloses AMS6541/1/54 if his proposal is not accepted, Wardroper intends 'to save from the wreck as much as he can, and retreat to France for the remainder of his life'; has sent the letters to Lord Egremont's tenants [warning them not to pay their rents to Wardroper]; 11 Oct 1768
Answered 12 Oct

'Copy, E[dwin] W[ardroper] to [Gibbs] Crawfurd  AMS6541/1/54  10 Oct 1768

Has no objection to going to France, 'but how then are the people at W[inchelsea] to be kept together', necessary so long as [Arnold] Nesbitt's views remain; 'my personal interest has hitherto with difficulty prevailed, but with absence and known poverty it will soon cease'; the scheme would not preserve his dignity, but if set free of his difficulties he would remain their debtor and slave forever

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond  AMS6541/1/55  15 Oct 1768

Has written to [Edwin] Wardroper for the court rolls and books; his servant met [Edwin and Richard] Wardroper near Rye, 'and I fancy the next news will be that of the old one's being in France, probably never to return'; will consult Sir Fletcher Norton on his return concerning [Nathaniel] Dawes's defence; flattering expression of his willingness to undertake the Winchelsea legal work

Walter Gybbon to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/56  16 Oct 1768

Has paid the Michaelmas rent to [Edwin] Wardroper who has not called for the Lady-day rent, which is due; he and Mr [Richard] Stileman shall wait on his further orders

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond  AMS6541/1/57  18 Oct 1768

Encloses AMS6541/1/58; the whole Chatham party intending to resign and [William Pitt] has done so; 'I hope this will prevent a petition'

E[dwin] Wardroper, Winchelsea, [to Gibbs Crawfurd]  AMS6541/1/58  15 Oct 1768

Will send two court-books of the manor of Iham; requests the return of his bonds; has received the rents to 29 September 1767 but no more; the [town] books and records shall be lodged with the mayor; encloses paper regarding freemen's sons [not present]; 'I purpose to set out in a fortnight'

Walter Gybbon to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/59  23, 24 Apr 1769

Negotiation with the foreman of Rye Harbour concerning land needed to lay earth dug from the new channel; will consult Mr Thomas Lamb tomorrow but suspects they have no intention of taking more than half an acre; postscript that Mr Lamb, 'who seems to have the whole direction of it' says Mr [William] Green the engineer will set out the land required; likely benefit to the estate but immediate loss of the salts to WG; advises an amicable settlement 'for if the harbour goes on it will benefit the estate that way, and if it is dropped (as I confess I think more probable) the land reverts of course to the estate as derelict land contiguous, so that in all probability you will be paid for the land and in a few years it will fall to you again'

Walter Gybbon, Rye, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond, Dover Street  AMS6541/1/60  1769

Has agreed for the purchase by the commissioners at £33 an acre for 1a 0r 20p fresh land and at £15 for 16a 2r 4p salts, the same terms as the rest of the owners; will attend the next meeting and have the land measured; has provided for the securing of the sewer; 2 May 1769
Endorsed: answered May 10th and gave notice that I should send a person to receive and settle rents for Lord Egremont

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/61  20 Jul 1769

Encloses an account of the rents [not present]; John Knight's farm occupied by [Walter] Gybbon; arrears on houses due to [John] Johnson being in France; the houses of [Richard] Stileman and [Richard] Tireman 'were kept as residences for their votes and never intended to be paid for by them'; details of tenants; [Joash] Adcroft's application to hire [Richard] Stileman's land, whose manner of occupying 'no temptation to a landlord to allow him to keep it', being mostly let to undertenants; [Edwin] Wardroper unlikely ever to return; his financial dealings; no new freemen made except [Arnold] Nesbitt himself

Walter Gybbon, Winchelsea, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien], Lord Thomond, Dover Street  AMS6541/1/62  28 Aug 1769

Regrets Thomond's displeasure, probably brought about by his enemies, and withdraws his claim to compensation from the [Rye Harbour Commissioners]; the repairs were for two years; history of the tenure of land, discussed with Thomond 'when you was down at the election'; cannot be blamed for [Edwin] Wardroper's conduct

G[ibbs] Crawfurd, Essex Street, to [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond]  AMS6541/1/63  20 Nov 1769

Sends an account of the rents to 25 March 1769 [not present]; has seen Young [Richard] Wardroper, who has been instructed by his father not to deliver the court-books until the notes are given up; as the father is in France, never to return, and the son going very soon to Jamaica, recommends their delivery or else the books 'may very probably be lost'

Drafts [Percy Wyndham O'Brien, Lord Thomond] to his sister [-in-law Alicia Maria Wyndham], lady Egremont  AMS6541/1/64  23 Nov 1769

Instructions, if she approves, for finding [Edwin] Wardroper's bonds and notes and delivering them to [Gibbs] Crawfurd, 'then I think all transactions with those scoundrels will be finished'; draft to Gibbs Crawfurd, esq, to receive the papers; has taken no steps to fill the vacancy caused by the loss of 'our most valuable friend' [Thomas Orby Hunter, MP on 20 Oct 1769]; condoles with GC on the loss of 'so sincere a friend'

Walter Gybbon, Winchelsea, to Gibbs Crawfurd, Stamp Office, Lincoln's Inn  AMS6541/1/65  5 Mar 1771

Not surprised that the report of his failure to measure the salts came from Mr T[homas] L[amb], who claims the wall for the harbour; history of the rights to the road along the wall, originally allowed by Mr [John] Caryll; will have the canal measured as soon as it is finished; describes the process, and explains the meaning of the words colt and foreland; has sent a hare but very few killed, 'as I cannot keep the poachers off and you forgot to procure me the [gamekeeper's] deputation I desired'; requests instructions for the houses of [Thomas Orby] Hunter, [John] Johnson and Old [John] Knight; 'Mrs G was brought to bed last Friday, has another boy'

Documents  AMS6541/2  [1486]-1768

Fragment (folio 4)  AMS6541/2/1  nd, [?1752]

Of an examined abstract of title to the manor of Iham, 1663-1674, annotated by the inclusion of additional deeds; annotated this sheet with the additions now makes folios 4 and 5 of the new draft

Fragment (folio 6)  AMS6541/2/2  nd, [?1752]

As AMS6541/2/1, 1697-1707, endorsed with a draft 'pedigree by conjecture' of four generations of the Caryll family

Fragment (folio 8)  AMS6541/2/3  1715-1731; nd, [?1752]

As AMS6541/2/1

Undertaking  AMS6541/2/4  3 Jun 1752

By John Parnell, Joash Adcroft, John Knight, Edward Catt, John Brown, Thomas Knight and Charles Stephens to vote for William Belchier or his nominees in return for specified payments, and for payments to JA, JB and TK, riding officers for the customs 'who may in all probability lose their respective livelihoods'; W: John Butler, J Robinson

Bond in £5000  AMS6541/2/5  3 Jun 1752

John Parnell, grazier, Joash Adcroft, maltman, John Knight the elder, grazier, Edward Catt, farmer, John Brown, farmer, Thomas Knight, peruke-maker, Charles Stephens, innholder and [blank], all of Winchelsea, to William Belchier of Lombard Street, London, banker, to perform the covenants in AMS6541/2/4; W: John Butler, J Robinson

Particular and valuation of the manor of Winchelsea [recte Iham]  AMS6541/2/6  1759

Related information: For a description of Browne as 'a person conversant in the buying and selling of estates', see AMS6541/2/10

By Thomas Browne, 1759
Names the two chief tenants with details of underletting, fields and their acreages; narrative description of the houses, buildings and farms; lists the fee-farm rent (witheld because of a disputed right of way through the marsh), two old and four newly-built houses 'to put in his voters that were turned out of other houses'; outgoings, the manor of Iham; observations on and valuation of the whole estate, not 'in any way useful as to bringing in a single member'

Copy  AMS6541/2/7  6 Jul 1761

Enclosed with AMS6541/1/2, of an agreement between William Belchier of London, esq and Edwin Wardroper of Winchelsea, gent; EW agrees to pay £2100 on behalf of WB's tenants John Parnell, John Knight, Charles Stevens, Joash Adcroft, Edward Catt and Thomas Knight, upon whom WB has distrained for rent, in full satisfaction of WB's claims

Note of a fine  AMS6541/2/8  1703, 1761

Michaelmas 1703; 1761
William Vaux, gent, John Marsh, gent and Samuel Evans v Robert Guldeford, bt and his wife Clare, John Carryll, esq and Edward Symes, esq
4 messuages, 420a land, 520a pasture, 200a furze and common of pasture in East Guldeford and Winchelsea
Examined by John Treweeke, king's silver office, 27 Nov 1761

Note of a recovery  AMS6541/2/9  1738, 1761

Hilary 1738; nd, [1761]
William Hamilton, esq v Joseph Ashton, gent
Manors of West Harting, West Grinstead, Washington and Knepp, 100 messuages, 20 tofts, 3 watermills, 2 windmills, 4 dovehouses, 100 gardens, 3500a land, 500a meadow, 5000a pasture, 100a wood, 3000a furze, 200a land covered with water, 100s rent, common of pasture, free fishery, free warren and other rights (specified) in Harting, Rogate, Trotton, Terwick, Treyford, Oving, West Grinstead, Washington, Knepp, Shipley, Horsham, Ifield and Ashington and three-quarters of the manor of Higham otherwise Igham, 6 messuages, 6 gardens, 100a land, 100a pasture, 600a fresh marsh and 800a salt marsh in Winchelsea, St Thomas, St Giles, Icklesham, Broomhill and Rye, the office of the bailiff of Winchelsea and the advowson of Winchelsea
Vouchee: John Caryll, esq

Draft chancery bill  AMS6541/2/10  1761

In Egremont v Belchier and others drawn by [Hugh] Hammerslsey, Serjeants Inn, to be settled by R[ichard] Wilbraham of counsel; Dec 1761
The purpose of the action was to compel Belchier to convey the Winchelsea estate to Egremont according to his agreement which had not, however, been made in writing. It gives a narrative of the negotiations, from the first approach on Belchier's behalf by Thomas Browne, 'a person conversant in the buying and selling of estates', in 1759. Egremont employed Browne to make a survey of the estate (AMS6541/2/6) and to negotiate, and a sum of £20,000 for the estate and the tenants' two bonds (AMS6541/2/5 and 7) was settled at a meeting at Egremont's house in Piccadilly in July 1759. Belchier delivered abstracts to Egremont's counsel James Booth, esq, who after many delays signed his final opinion on 3 December 1761. Description of Belchier's debts to his partners and his efforts in locating deeds, followed by his refusal to convey
Opinion of R[ichard] Wilbraham, Lincoln's Inn, that the defendants will plead the Statute of Frauds as the agreement was not in writing; 21 Dec 1761

Affidavit  AMS6541/2/11  21 Dec 1761

Of James West of Serjeants Inn, gent, that the defendants in Egremont v Belchier and others all live in London except Alexander Hamilton, who lives in Lincolns Inn Fields

Chancery order  AMS6541/2/12  22 Dec 1761

In Egremont v Belchier and others awarding sub poenas against the defendants

Note of payments  AMS6541/2/13  nd, [Jun 1762]

For [Lord Egremont's purchase from William Belchier]

Rough draft abstract  AMS6541/2/14  [n.d.]

Of the manor of Iham and other property in Winchelsea purchased from William Belchier esq by Lord Egremont, 1762
1-8 purchase-deeds of the manor of Iham (Belchier and mortgagees to Wyndham), Jun 1762
9 releases of claims by Caryll daughters and their representatives to Belchier (1761) and Wyndham (1762)
11-12 purchase-deeds of six (formerly four) houses in Quarter 14 of Winchelsea (Belchier-Wyndham), 1762
13-16 purchase-deeds of The Horsehead House, another house and Paradise Field in Quarter 9 of Winchelsea and Castle Field (7a) in St Leonard (Wardroper and Belchier - Wyndham), 1762
17-28 deeds of the manor of Iham, [1486]-1761
28 list of the manorial records of the manor of Iham, including AMS6541/2/4, 1630-1761
29-30 deeds of six (formerly four) houses as AMS6541/11-12, 1689-1752
31-37 deeds of The Horsehead House, another house, Paradise Field and Castle Field as 13-16 above, 1651-1762

Descriptions of the two houses late Garland  AMS6541/2/15  nd, [1762]

Annotated with recital of sale to Egremont

Description  AMS6541/2/16  nd, [1762]

As AMS6541/2/15 of houses late Wilson

Particular and rental  AMS6541/2/17  nd, [Sep 1762]

Of the estate of Frances Powell, deceased: the manor of Mote, farms in the hands of Jeremiah Smith, James Burwash and William Blackman (with acreage and rents) in Iden, Peasmarsh and in Wittersham, Kent; note of outgoings

Notes on AMS6541/2/6  AMS6541/2/18  nd, [1763]

The circumstances of the eviction of [William] Belchier's tenants, the fines on copyholds of the manor [of Iham], the value of the advowson of Winchelsea and the value and acreage of [Edward] Catt's Farm; the rent of £13 10s 8½d would be paid if a way were allowed through the marshes; [Edwin] Wardroper to transmit the money and the rentroll to Lady Day 1763

Summary  AMS6541/2/19  nd, [1763]

Of the rents and outgoings of Winchelsea, of the tenants of two old and two new houses and that two new houses are empty; endorsed with notes as AMS6541/2/18

Observations  AMS6541/2/20  nd, [?Mar 1763]

On the rents received from the estate

Account  AMS6541/2/21  nd [Oct 1763]

Of bills for taxes, scots and repairs allowed to the tenants against rent due on 25 Mar 1763

Rental  AMS6541/2/22  13 Apr 1764

Of the manor of Iham, extracted from the court-books, with the dates of admission and deaths of the tenants; enclosed with AMS6541/1/19

Estimate  AMS6541/2/23  nd, [Apr 1764]

For rebuilding the sheep and bullock pounds next the house on the Sheephouse Farm; enclosed with AMS6541/1/19

Account  AMS6541/2/24  nd [May 1764]

Of bills for taxes, scots and repairs allowed to the tenants against rent due on 29 Sep 1763, with a note of a payment for the new pound, 17 Apr 1764

Estimate  AMS6541/2/25  1 Mar 1765

By Thomas Baldwin of the cost of repairs to the farms rented by [Walter] Gybbon, [Joash] Adcroft and William Bragg and to houses rented by John Knight, John Hill ('if made into a stable the landlord at the alehouse will raise his rent in proportion') and Thomas Marten

Account  AMS6541/2/26  nd, [cApr 1765]

Of bills for taxes, scots and repairs allowed to the tenants against rent due on 29 Sep 1764

Account  AMS6541/2/27  nd, [cOct 1765]

Of bills for taxes, scots and repairs allowed to the tenants by E[dwin] Wardroper against rent due on 25 Mar 1765 and for repairs paid by order of [Thomas] Baldwin

Fair copy list of burgesses for (23) and against (12)  AMS6541/2/28  1765

With comments on the influences on the antis; Edwin Wardroper, mayor [?enclosed in AMS6541/1/26; Oct 1765]

List of burgesses of Winchelsea, for (21) and against (14)  AMS6541/2/29  [?Nov 1765]

Edwin Wardroper, mayor; Johnson, Seaton and Baldwin new chose

List as AMS6541/2/29  AMS6541/2/30  nd, [1766]

Nathaniel Dawes, mayor; annotated [by Edwin Wardroper] with those indebted to Lord Egremont's executors

List of people  AMS6541/2/31  nd, [1766]

'To be pressed on their bond... with Mr [William] Belchier 14 years ago'

Notes of Lord Thomond  AMS6541/2/32  [Aug 1768]

On the consequences of the defeat at the assizes; names counsel

Documents relating to Robert George White (1869/70-1939), Stephen Fergus Champ (1907-1984) and his wife Marion White (1908-1976)  AMS6542  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Documents given 1 November 1999 (ACC 7999)

Related information: For the archive of the Eastbourne School of Art, see ESC 200 and EMA 59

Administrative history:
Robert George White was the maternal grandfather of the donor and Stephen Fergus Champ her father; Champ married White's daughter Marion White (1908-1976), formerly his fellow student at Eastbourne Art College, in 1932
Robert George White was born on the Windsor Great Park estate where his father served as a policeman. White followed his father into the force, and moved to Eastbourne on his second marriage to Emily Louise Worall (1873-1965), who was working there as a dressmaker; the family lived at 48 Whitley Road. Marion White was born in Eastbourne in 1908. White, described as of Chesham, was appointed Relieving Officer of Number 2 District of the Eastbourne Poor Law Union on 28 September 1903 (G13/1a/26 p437) and was appointed Superintendent Relieving Officer in September 1911 (G13/1a/35 p182). He died in 1939. For a memoir of him by his grand-daughter, see AMS6542/1/3
Stephen Fergus Champ was born in Peterborough in 1907. He was a day-boy at Oundle, where his father was music master, but his time at the school was an unhappy one. He attended Eastboune Art College for two years and the Royal College of Art in South Kensington for a further two years. He married Marion White in 1932 and accepted a post at the College of Art at Auckland, New Zealand. They returned to England in 1936 or 1937 to become head of the Chichester School of Art. During the war Champ was involved in camouflage work at RAF Tangmere. After the war Champ became head of art at Cranbrook School in Kent and in 1950 moved to Devon as principal of Paignton School of Art; he became principal of Torbay School of Art in 1954. A Communist in his student days, in retirement Champ served as a Devon county councillor in the Labour interest. He died in 1984. For a memoir of him by his daughter, see AMS6542/1/15
While at Eastbourne College of Art both Stephen Champ and Marion White were taught by Eric Ravilious (1903-1942). Marion was friends with Tirzah Garwood (1908-1952), whom Ravilious was to marry in 1930. Tirzah's father Colonel John Garwood was chairman of the Board of Guardians and the employer of Marion's father Robert White, the union's Relieving Officer. For Stephen Champ's candid view of Colonel Garwood, see AMS6542/3/3. Some of the most interesting elements of this group of documents are memoirs, photographs and copy work of Eric Ravilious

Robert George White  AMS6542/1  [n.d.]

Copy photograph  AMS6542/1/1  nd, c1910

Of Robert George White and his wife Emily Louise, née Worall, [?at 49 Whitley Road, Eastbourne]

Copy studio portrait  AMS6542/1/2  c1930

Of Robert George White in raincoat, c1900; photograph of Robert George White with prize onions and cabbage

Memoir  AMS6542/1/3  1999

Of Robert George White and his daughter Marion White by the donor

Stephen Fergus Champ and his wife Marion, née White  AMS6542/2  [n.d.]

Copy studio portrait  AMS6542/2/1  c.1926-1929

Of Marion White, c1926; copy photograph of Marion White as teacher at a boys' school in Seaford, c1929

Copy photograph  AMS6542/2/2  1927

Of five students at the Eastbourne College of Art, 1927; Marion White and her car with her cousin Katherine, c1927; SFC (Stephen Fergus Champ), Marion White and a friend on the Downs

Copy photograph  AMS6542/2/3  c1927

Of SFC, Marion White and fellow students with Eric Ravilious at Barcombe

Copy photographs  AMS6542/2/4  c1927

Related information: For Stephen Champ's recollections of the painting-holiday at Barcombe, see AMS6542/3/3. Photographs of the same scenes from what must be the same roll of film are in an album in the possession of the Ravilious family, in which the students are identified as Mrs Heap, Joan Lumley, Valetta Hargonan-Joyce, Peggy Lumley and Elphie Parvey. On 14 August 1927 Ravilious wrote to the publisher Robert Gibbings from Camois Court, Barcombe, which seems the likely setting of these photographs (Joanna Selborne, 'Eric Ravilious and The Golden Cockerel Press'; Matrix 14, 1994)

Of SFC, Marion White and fellow students boating and swimming at Barcombe Mills

Photograph  AMS6542/2/5  nd, c1927

Of a rug depicting the Long Man of Wilmington, Martello Towers and other scenes of the Eastbourne area, designed and woven by SFC

Copy letter from SFC, 3 Brooklyn Flats, Auckland, to his parents  AMS6542/2/6  27 Jun 1932

His artistic work; discussion of the religious views of [H G] Wells, [George Bernard] Shaw and Bertram Russell, 'far more truly religious than most of the short-sighted respectable old humbugs of parsons in the church of England even though none of them are Christians'

Copy letter from SFC, 43 Portland Road, Auckland, to his parents  AMS6542/2/7  10 Feb 1933

The move to their own house (plan); his purchase of a motor-cycle and adventurous trip to Waiwera and to Mahurangi by the cream-launch to visit a student's family; businesses closing down all over Auckland; Sam was fired and hopes to start prospecting for gold in Otago

Copy letter from SFC, 43 Portland Road, to his parents  AMS6542/2/8  19 Feb 1933

Levelling the garden; attempts to thwart the neighbour's cat; interesting boats in the harbour

Letter from SFC, 43 Portland Road, to his parents  AMS6542/2/9  2 Apr 1933

A record number at the school despite the slump; a railway excursion to a Maori regatta at Ngaruawahia; [Walter] Hammond's triple century at Eden Park

Photograph  AMS6542/2/10  nd, [1934]

Of wood-engraved design by SFC for a book-plate for Jane Mander

Copy letter P Neville Parnell [?], Sydney, NSW, to SFC, Elam School of Art, Auckland  AMS6542/2/11  7 Sep 1934

Related information: Jane Mander was a new Zealand novelist, whose work was published between 1921 and 1938; for titles, see

Has received AMS6542/2/10 and has included two of SFC's wood-engravings in his book, which is soon to be published; commends him on his work; has sent four boxwood blocks for sale

Press-cutting  AMS6542/2/12  nd, c1943

Of a report of the Chichester Art Society's exhibition at the Chichester School of Art, organised and contributed to by SFC

Leaflet of SFC  AMS6542/2/13  4 May 1972

As Labour candidate for the Torbay Borough Council

Obituary of SFC  AMS6542/2/14  9 Oct 1984

From a Devon newspaper

Memoir of SFC  AMS6542/2/15  1999

By his daughter

Documents relating to Eric Ravilious  AMS6542/3  [n.d.]

Copy wood-engraving San Gimignano by Eric Ravilious  AMS6542/3/1  nd, [?1924]

This engraving is not included in J M Richards, The Wood Engraving of Eric Ravilious (Lion and Unicorn Press, 1972). Ravilious won a Royal College of Art travelling scholarship to Italy in 1924, and visited San Gimignano (Helen Binyon, Eric Ravilious, Cambridge, 1983). His only known wood-engraving from the scholarship journey, of the Ponte Vecchio in Florence, is included in Richards, page 13 (lower), but attributed to 1926

Copy wood-engraving Decoration to 'Five Eyes' by Eric Ravilious  AMS6542/3/2  nd, [1926]

Bibliography: This was an illustration for a pianola music roll from Five Eyes by Walter de la Mare, published by the Aeolian Music Company in 1926 - J M Richards, The Wood Engravings of Eric Ravilious (Lion and Unicorn Press, 1972), 9 (lower)

Letter from SFC to his daughter Molly Bond, Stonesfield, Oxfordshire  AMS6542/3/3  15-26 Apr 1984

Having read Eric Ravilious - Memoir of an Artist by Helen Binyon (Cambridge, 1983); memoir of a painting holiday at Barcombe Mills (for photographs, see AMS6542/2/3, 4); Ravilious's engraving technique; the characters of Col [John] Garwood and of [SFC's father-in-law] Robert George White; reminiscence of E M O'R Dickey, formerly an art-master at Oundle, of the Royal College of Art; 'sketching-days' from Eastbourne College, Tirzah [Garwood]'s motor-car; Faversham

Summary  AMS6542/3/4  [1999]

Of AMS6542/3/3 by the donor

Records of Brighton and Sussex Mutual Provident Society  AMS6543  [n.d.]

Source of acquisition: Donated 13 Oct 1999 (ACC 7991)

Related information: For bond of Robert Winter the younger, Brighton, secretary of the society, and others, to the Clerk of the Peace, Dec 1849, see QDS/3/E1

Administrative history:
The Brighton and Sussex Mutual Provident Society was a Friendly Society established in 1846 or 1847; the first members were admitted in 1846, although the letter heading of AMS6543/2/1 gives the date of the society's establishment as 1847. A list of Sussex Friendly Societies gives the dates that rules of the Brighton and Sussex Mutual Provident Society were enrolled at Quarter Sessions as 5 Sep 1848, 30 Mar 1849, 8 Mar 1850, and 1 Apr 1856 (QDS/3/EW3)
Robert Winter the younger, of Brighton, was the first secretary and founder member. AMS6543/1/1 gives his occupation as minister. He was probably the Robert Winter listed as running a school at 44-47 Grand Parade with his brother Henry in the 1851 census
The society was listed in the 1855 Post Office Directory as the Brighton and Sussex Mutual Provident Society for Life Insurance, Endowments, Annuities, Sickness and Medical Aid, and based at 11 Prince Albert Street, Brighton. The society moved to 111 Queen's Road, Brighton between 1895 and 1899, and remained there until it was wound up, probably in 1978. Reg Yarrow was the closing chairman

Registers of members and assurance  AMS6543/1  [n.d.]

The register listed in AMS6543/1/1 was the first in a series; the remainder are thought to have been destroyed

Register  AMS6543/1/1  Dec 1846 - Feb 1875

Lists, in chronological order of membership, member's name; address; occupation; details of the person on whose life the insurance was taken out; date of admission; date of birth; details of benefit. Includes addenda to Jun 1934

Other records  AMS6543/2  [n.d.]

List of arbitrators of the society  AMS6543/2/1  [1861]- Jan 1924

Six coloured photographs of a display board  AMS6543/2/2  1963-1979

Listing the chairmen of the society from its foundation to 1963/64; notes that the society's engagements were transferred to the National Deposit Friendly Society, 125 Queens Road, Brighton on 1 Jan 1979
The display board is housed at Fitzroy House, 10 High Street, Lewes

The Downs Ladies School  AMS6544  [n.d.]

Separately Catalogued for A2A

Deed of the site of houses on the north side of Blucher Place, Brighton  AMS6545  [1817]-1846

Source of acquisition: Document given 5 January 2000 (ACC 8032)

Conveyance for £375 ([lease] and release)  AMS6545/1  [10 and] 11 May 1819

Related information: Parts of Blucher Place were the subject of Compulsory Purchase Orders in 1938 (ACC 7600/383) and 1955 (DB/A1/160); for a file on the purchase of 21 Blucher Place, 1938-1961, see DB/A1/160. The north side of the street was already cleared and in use as a carpark in 1959: see ACC 7941/14

Francis Still of Brighton, builder, to Cornelius Shrivell of Brighton, builder and his trustee Phineas Jupp of Brighton, victualler
Land on the N side of Blucher Place, Brighton (plan) with the houses and buildings erected by CS (E: land sold by FS to PJ; W: land leased by FS to Joseph Bowell and others; N: land of CS, part of a two-paul piece of land, late Scutt and Whichelo; S: Blucher Place, formerly 15 but now 20 feet wide)
Covenants concerning the making up and maintenance of Blucher Place, the measurement of areas and the height of railings
Recites: lease of this and other property by John Hunt of Brighton, esq to FS and his trustee John Harper, gent, 31 May 1817; release of reversion, 1 May 1819
W: Thomas Attree, J Blunden his clerk; William Paul, J Pain Standen
Endorsed: memorandum of covenant by William Shrivell of Brighton, watchmaker (purchaser of 14-17 Blucher Place from the trustees of the will of CS) to produce this and other deeds to Hugh Saunders the younger of Brighton, innkeeper, the purchaser of 20 Blucher Place; 8 Jan 1846

Copy manor of Framfield court-book  AMS6546  1665-1675

Archival history:
This volume is Latin MS 382 at the John Rylands University Library, Manchester, which purchased it in 1926; its earlier provenance is unknown
Apart from two early rentals, the records of the manor of Framfield begin in 1675 with a court book marked 1, and extend in an unbroken run to 1935; they are held on deposit from the former stewards of the manor, reference ADA 114-142

Source of acquisition: Copies made from XA 69 (ACC 7685)

Copies information: For a microfilm of the volume, see XA 69

Court-book, Sep 1665 - Mar 1675
The last few folios of the volume have been cut out with the loss of some entries
At end: modern index of tenants' names

Copies of documents relating to Bodiam Mill  AMS6547  1487-1567

Source of acquisition: Copies purchased 17 January 2000 (ACC 8037)

These copies of documents have been acquired by the owner of Bodiam Mill in the course of research into its history. They relate to owners and possible owners of the mill. The documents are listed in the order of their acquisition

Will of Robert Cryer of Sandhurst  [no ref.]  1488

Copy registered will of Robert Kryar of Sandhurst  AMS6547/1  20 Apr 1487

Archival history:
CKS PRC 32/3, f144v-5

Proved in the diocese of Canterbury, 30 Oct 1488
Wife Margery and son Nicholas residuary legatees; lands places, tenements and mills in Kent to son Nicholas, with provision for wife Margery to occupy two chambers behind the high dais and easements of the hall and kitchen in his dwelling-place at Sandhurst for life

Will of Vincent Finch of Sandhurst and Battle  [no ref.]  1524

Copy registered will of Vincent Fynche of Sandhurst, gent  AMS6547/2  1524

Archival history:
CKS PRC 32/14, f17-20

26 Jan and 10 Mar 1524, proved in the diocese of Canterbury, 1 Jun 1524
Feoffees to enfeoff Henry Fynche and Agnes 'late his wife', daughter of Thomas Bettenham, in the manor of Whatlington, the tenement of Wood Place and lands, tenements and mills in Battle, Sedlescombe, Mountfield and Whatlington (except the lands and tenements in the borough of Battle to the annual value of £10) in tail male, with successive remainders to VF's son Edward Fynche, to Herbert Fynche, and to VF's son Nicholas Fynche
Lands and tenements at Pluckley in Kent to son Nicholas Fynche
Manor of Lewens in Hailsham to remain in feoffees' hands for three years and then to be granted to Herbert Fynche or his heir male, remainder to Walter Fynche, provided that he does not interrupt the performance of the will; any dispute to be ordered by Lawrence [Champion] abbot of Battle
Field at Sandhurst bought of Patynden to daughter Margaret
Lands and tenements in Ewhurst and in the borough of Battle, and in Wittersham, Stone and Lydd in Kent, to son Edward Fynche
Profits of land called Cukkowfeld (8a) in Sandhurst to be taken by William Bate and his son Nicholas Bate, owners of a piece of land to the W, on condition that they maintain a lamp in Sandhurst church

Quitclaim of parts of Halden Park  [no ref.]  1546

Quitclaim  AMS6547/3  11 Nov 1546

Archival history:
PRO E305/10/E78

John Fowle, son and heir of Bartholomew Fowle of Tenterden in Kent, deceased, to the crown his right in lands and tenements called Hyllys and Pedyllys (12a), now emparked in the king's park called Halden Parke in Kent
Acknowledged before Walter Hendle, attorney-general of the court of augmentations

Escheator's inquest on the death of Nicholas Pelham of Laughton, kt  [no ref.]  1561

Inquest  AMS6547/4  1560-1561

Archival history:
PRO E150/1103/1

Before Richard Elyott, esq, escheator, and a jury at Horsham; NP died seised of the manors of Laughton, Burwash, Bivelham, Crowhurst and Colbrans, the hundreds of Shiplake and Hawksborough, 200a called West Lulham in Laughton and Ripe, a messuage and 80a in Hartfield and the rectory of Laughton, the reversion of the manor of Cowden [in Wartling] on the death of Blanche Forman, widow, by the grant of Thomas Palmer; by will [for details of which see AMS6326/90] to his wife Ann for life, remainder to his son Thomas Pelham; Ann Pelham is alive at Laughton; West Lulham is held in chief by suit of the court of Ripe, part of the Duchy of Lancaster; the manors of Burwash, Bivelham and Crowhurst and the hundred of Hawksborough are held in chief by the fourth part of a knight's fee; the manor of Colbrans is held of Thomas [Howard] duke of Norfolk's manor of Sheffield; the messuage and land in Hartfield is held in chief by knight service; Laughton rectory is held in chief by the fortieth part of a knight's fee; the manor of Cowden is held of James Gage esq's manor of Wartling; NP died 15 Sep 1560; his heir John Pelham is aged 23; 10 Feb 1561

Escheator's inquest on the death of Anthony Pelham of Buxsteep in Warbleton, esq  [no ref.]  1567

Writ of diem clausit extremum to the escheator of Surrey  AMS6547/5  30 Jan 1567

Inquest  AMS6547/6  1567

Archival history:
PRO C142/145/12

Before Richard Bostocke, esq, escheator, and a jury (named) at Southwark; AP died seised af the moiety of Iwood Park and the iron-mills on the premises in Newdigate, Surrey, held in chief by the fortieth part of a knight's fee; of an acre in Leigh and of view of frankpledge of the premises, held by unknown tenure; by will [for which see AMS6326/91] to his son Herbert Pelham at 21; AP died 22 Nov 1566, his son Herbert Pelham then aged 20 years, 47 months and one day; 22 Feb 1567
Superscribed: delivered in court 22 Feb 1567

Will of Thomas Kechennor of Sandhurst  [no ref.]  1494

Copy registered will of Thomas Kechennor of Sandhurst  AMS6547/7  18 Jul 1493

Archival history:
CKS PRC 32/4, f24

Proved in the diocese of Canterbury, 7 Oct 1494
Wife Joan to have all lands and tenements in Sandhurst and Bodiam for life, remainder to his children; if they die before her then the land to be sold and the money applied to priests' singing, repairs of the church and other alms

Photocopies of documents relating to the Carr family of Pricketts Hatch Farm in Fletching and Maresfield  AMS6548  [1743]-1970

Source of acquisition: Copies made 3 February 2000 (ACC 8048)

Copies information: Introduction
These copies were made from originals in the hands of a member of the family. The original of the abstract of title, AMS6548/1 remains in the hands of the owners of Pricketts Hatch

Abstract of title  AMS6548/1  1764-1835

To a messuage, barn and 15a at Pricketts Hatch in Fletching and Maresfield, [1764]-1835
Abstract of title to Pricketts Hatch Farm in Fletching and Maresfield, [1764]-1835
Messuage, barn, orchard, two gardens, yards and land called Barnfield, Westcroft and Gibsales (15a) in Fletching and Maresfield
On 14 December 1764 John Cole and his wife Sarah mortgaged the above and other property for £250 to John Turner. In the following year Cole sold part of the property to John Marchant, and the mortgage was discharged from the purchase-money; the mortgagee's estate was assigned to Thomas Wood in trust for Cole on 16 October 1765
On 31 January 1766 Cole mortgaged the property to John Marchant for £200, with a further charge of £70 on 14 May 1768. On 22 and 23 August 1768 Cole mortgaged a farm of 20 acres called Pricketts Hatch, occupied by Vincent Carr, to John Sicklemore for £40. John and Edward Blaker of Lewes, drawing the abstract in 1835, noted that this deed had been included as Sicklemore was a party to the next, but the anonymous purchaser's solicitor observed that the difference in acreage was probably accounted for by copyhold
On 10 and 11 November 1768 Cole sold this and other property to the occupier Vince Carr of Fletching, yeoman, for £390, from which the mortgages were discharged, and of which £300 was borrowed from Ann Burgess of Glynde, spinster, to whom the mortgage-term was assigned on 12 November 1768
Vince Carr's will of 7 June 1797, leaving the property to his wife Mary Carr for life with remainder to their son Vince Carr, charged with a legacy of £90 to their son Harry Carr, was proved at Lewes by Mary Carr and John Humphrey of Fletching, farmer, on 9 December 1797
Ann Burgess the mortgagee died in 1812 and her niece Ann Thomas of Lewes, widow, obtained letters of administration on 10 September 1812. On 3 November 1824 she joined Mary, Vince and Harry Carr to assign the mortgage, with a further charge of £150, to Francis Harding Gell of Lewes, gent. On 8 and 9 April 1831 Mary and Vince Carr sold the property to Harry Carr and his trustee William Fuller for £300, of which £210 remained on mortgage to Gell
In 1835 John and Edward Blaker of Lewes prepared the abstract of title
According to the court books of the manor of Maresfield, of which a portion of this property was held as three copyhold tenements, in 1831 the Carrs exchanged the property with William Winn for £240, raised by mortgage to Francis Harding Gell. Winn died in 1835 and his executor sold the tenements to Harry Carr, who enfranchised them in 1836 (SAS/GACC 902-903). It seems likely that the copyhold descent was either a fiction designed to save fees or a way of securing a mortgage on the property

Rough abstract of land-tax returns  AMS6548/2  1780-1832

Showing the owners of Pricketts Hatch Farm at Nutley [in Fletching and Maresfield]

Note of hand for £25 at 5%  AMS6548/3  16 Oct 1911

William Carr to Albert Turner & Son; Nutley [in Maresfield]

Account of repayment  AMS6548/4  21 May 1915

Of the note in AMS6548/3, 1912-1915; agreement by William Carr to pay 5% interest on his mortgage of £800 to Albert Turner from 16 Apr 1915

Cutting  AMS6548/5  3 Oct 1941

From the Sussex Express and County Herald of a Carr family re-union at Copthall Cottage, Fairwarp [in Maresfield], with photograph

Cutting  AMS6548/6  Spring 1946

From the Sussex Express and County Herald of a Carr family post-war re-union at Woods Cottage, Cross-in-Hand [in Waldron], with photograph

Draft pedigree of the Carr family  AMS6548/7  1743-1970

Drawing descent from the marriage of Thomas Carr and Mary Catt at Maresfield in 1743 to the birth of Derek Roger Carr in 1970

Copies of deeds of garages at Westgate Street, Lewes  AMS6549  1818-1967

Source of acquisition: These documents were deposited temporarily and the opportunity taken to produce a narrative of the title, which is prescribed below

Administrative history:
Narrative of title
When granted from the waste in 1818 as a copyhold of the manor of Lewis Borough, the property was described as
Piece of land (9 perches) in Lewes St Michael (NW: road from White Lion Lane to the new road; E: other parts of the waste granted in 1818 to William Davey; SE: a stable of Robert Neal and a garden wall of William Smart; W: a stable occupied by [blank] Ticehurst), subject to a right of way; copyhold of the manor of Lewes Borough, quitrent 2s 0d, fine and heriot 3s 0d certain
On 23 November 1818 the land was granted out of the waste to Robert Neal of Lewes, cordwainer, the owner of a stable to the south (1)
A plan of the land was drawn up at the same time; it also shows a stable occupied by J Pannett, a road leading from the Town Mill across the land towards New Road and the garden of William Balcombe Langridge, esq. The site of a blacksmith's shop has been added to the plan in pencil (2)
Robert Neal died on 18 February 1855 and his will of 29 July 1854 was proved at Lewes by George Molineux the younger of Lewes, banker, in 1855; of the other executors, George Molineux the elder, banker, had died in the testator's lifetime and Edward Grantham of Lewes, ironmonger, disclaimed executorship on 9 March 1855 (3)
Edwin Neal of Lewes, shoemaker, was admitted to the property on the surrender of George Molineux on the payment of £40 on 10 July 1855 (4)
Edwin Neal's will of 1 September 1842 was proved at Lewes on 17 February 1858 and his widow Susannah Rhoda Neal was admitted on the third proclamation of his death on 28 November 1860 (5)
Mrs Neal's will of 4 May 1874 was proved at Lewes on 22 September 1874 and her niece Kate, wife of Harry Reeves of Beckley, chemist, was admitted (by her attorney Henry Jones, gent) on 31 March 1875; the will described the property as a blacksmith's shop and piece of land occupied by J[ames] Belton (6)
On 31 May 1876 Mr and Mrs Reeves sold the property for £84 to the occupier James Belton of Lewes, blacksmith, who was admitted on 1 February 1877 (7)
On 30 May 1888 James Belton sold the property for £150 to Charles Geall of Lewes, blacksmith, who was admitted on the same day (8)
Geall's will of 22 August 1891 was proved at Lewes on 14 October 1891 and his widow Annie Geall of New Road was admitted on 12 April 1893, and invited to enfranchise the tenement (9, 10)
The title of Mrs Geall of 4 Castle Terrace, New Road, was drawn by Isaac Vinall & Sons and the property sold for £100 to Alfred Edgar Philcox of 7 Albion Street, Lewes, builder and contractor on 26 November 1921 (11-13)
Philcox let the property, described as an old blacksmith's shop, to Frederick Duplock of 4 Bull Lane, Lewes, coalmerchant for three years at 6s 0d a week on 24 March 1922; payment of rent was to begin only when the landlord had carried out certain specified repairs (14, 15)
Philcox, of High Street, Lewes, was owner when a compensation agreement was executed in respect of the former copyhold tenure on 10 September 1935. It also applied to a counting-house and stable (formerly a barn) and a small piece of waste on its south, 18 feet by 6 feet, lately occupied by Henry Cruse (16)
On 30 March 1967 the owner of the property was notified of a proposed conversion of a coach-house in the grounds of 159 High Street by Edward Reeves (17)
It is not clear when the garages were built

This class consists of photocopies of two of the documents, a plan and lease with detailed covenants, the contents of which could not be conveyed adequately in narrative form

Copy of a sketch-plan of the land granted from the waste  AMS6549/1  nd, [1818]

Original ink on paper mounted on cloth; shows property of neighbouring owners (J Pannett, J Ticehurst, Mr [William] Smart, R[obert] Neal, E Davey and W[illiam] B[alcombe] Langridge; annotated in pencil to show site of blacksmith's shop

Copy contract for a lease of the old blacksmith's shop, Alfred Edgar Philcox of 7 Albion Street, Lewes, builder to Frederick Duplock of 4 Bull Lane, Lewes, coal-merchant  AMS6549/2  24 Mar 1922

Contains detailed covenants for alterations

Letters concerning [Barons Grange], Iden, 1649 and [Watlands Farm, Udimore]  AMS6550  1738

Source of acquisition: Documents purchased 27 April 2000 (ACC 8122), The dealer from whom these two documents were purchased identified them as probably part of the collection of R M Wilcox, an authority on English provincial posts, who died in 1999

Barons Grange, Iden  [no ref.]  1649

Letter from George Chisman, Iden, to his landlord Ralph Freake, esq, at Sir Thomas Culpepper's place at Hollingbourne in Kent  AMS6550/1  2 Oct 1649

Related information: The children of William and Elizabeth Borden were baptised at Iden between 1629 and 1644, and he was buried there on 1 September 1649: PAR 402 1/1/1
In 1642 Borden had been Iden's highest contributor to the collection for the relief of protestants in Ireland: Sussex Genealogical Centre Occasional Paper 10 (1984)
Mary, wife of George Hammon, was buried at Iden on 6 June 1649, and George Cheeseman on 10 March 1659: PAR 402 1/1/1
Ralph Freke (1596-1684) was the son of Thomas Freke of Iwerne Courtney in Dorset, kt. He entered Hart Hall, Oxford in 1612 and the Middle Temple on 9 September 1620; he was called to the bar on 27 June 1628 (Foster, Alumni Oxonienses). The family was granted a baronetcy in 1713 which became extinct in 1764; for a pedigree, see J and J B Burke, Extinct Baronetcies (1838) 210
For other documents relating to Barons Grange, c1617 and 1638, see AMS6506/1, 2; for the descent of the property, see Iden Tenement Analysis P27/7

Dilapidations left by the Widow [Elizabeth] Borden at RF's farm [Barons Grange in Iden], of which GC became tenant on 29 Sep 1649: 'she will not repair the house in the least measure, but hath impaired it at her pleasure, for she hath pulled down all the shelves about the house, taken away the furnace (notwithstanding your proffer), the plates in the kitchen chimney, one which the fire was made upon and the other against the stock she hath pulled up, and made such a breach that a dog-kennel may be made thereof; one door, two locks, and a gate to the hog-pound, four ox-cribs and pigeon-combs and the ancient bee-shelves or standings joined to the house are by her carried away. For the round chamber, she would have pulled down and carried away, but that I gave her for it 20 shillings, she peremptorily demanding it for her own'
Requests that the repairs be surveyed or that he be given authority to undertake them and to restore all that has been taken away, which is to remain at the property at the end of his term
Has delivered RF's letter to Goodman [George] Hammon, who refused to take the two clover fields which GC has entered as RF's tenant; 'his wife being dead, he hath more land than he desireth to use'
Endorsed: notes [?by RF] of dates of payment of sums of £5 1s 8d for rents and debts [?owed by Elizabeth Borden]; nd, [1649]

Watlands Farm, Udimore  [no ref.]  1738

Letter from Edwin Wardroper, [Rye] to Robert Bristow, esq, at his house in New Burlington Street, St James, Westminster  AMS6550/2  7 Jul 1738

Related information: For Edwin Wardroper, see the introduction to AMS6541
Robert Bristow of Micheldever in Hampshire (1712-1776) and George Bubb Doddington of Eastbury in Dorset (1691-1762) were the patrons of the Winchelsea parliamentary seats, one of which Bristow himself held between 1738 and 1741. Bristow's father Robert Bristow (1688-1737), who sat for Winchelsea from 1708, had died on 3 November 1737. For biographies of the three men and a history of the constituency, see Romney Sedgwick (ed), The House of Commons 1715-1754 (HMSO, 1970)
For a map of Robert Bristow's Watlands Farm by John Martin, 1684, see AMS5571. For the elder Bristow's land in Winchelsea, 1716, see WIN 622
John Parnell had been tenant of Watlands from before 1714 (ELT) and was buried at Winchelsea, as John Parnell, jurat, on 5 May 1738 (PAR 511 1/1/2); no probate act can be traced either in the court of Lewes Archdeaconry or PCC

Has recovered from small-pox. has visited RB's farm [Watlands in Udimore] with Cloake the carpenter and encloses a detailed schedule of the timber and workmanship needed for building a new lodge and close and for repairs to the barn, sheep-wash and fences
Cloake's character and terms. The cost of repairs high, but 'no tenant who designs to pay rent can use it'. The opinion of Mr Gatehouse and the wishes of Mr [John] Sharpe [the incoming tenant], who requests an allowance for his appraiser's mistake in over-valuing the sheep
Will speak to Mrs Parnell, who should renounce the administration to RB. 'I could wish that you and Mr [George Bubb] Doddington would consider Mrs Parnell and the family in some shape or other they are really objects of compassion'. Will pay Mrs Marten the £4
Advises care of RB's house at Winchelsea, 'as it is pretty much out of repair, the windows and fence have suffered already'
The letter shows signs of having been roasted as a precaution against infection

The contents of this catalogue are the copyright of East Sussex Record Office
Rights in the Access to Archives database are the property of the Crown, © 2001-2014

The records described on this page are held by East Sussex Record Office